Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

This topic contains 101 replies, has 13 voices, and was last updated by  Kai 22 hours, 15 minutes ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 91 through 102 (of 102 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #9057

    Woelf
    Moderator

    I think I can make a case that Delusion = Zeus, but I need to do a bit of research into first.

    There is a lot of overlap with the 10-masters, so if you can find something in the flavor text that supports it, I can add it (or at least a note about it) to the duplicates list.

    #9061

    Captain Vendari
    Participant

    Delusion Flavor Text:
    “Captained by Fitzgerald, who was stabbed in the back by Blackheart for a gold medallion and left to die, and crewed by pirates killed for their treasure by their own former crewmen, the Delusion haunts the seas searching for the gold that was stolen from her in life. A glowing mirage on even the most moonless waves, the Delusion tricks greedy sailors into believing that piles of “glowing gold” await just over the horizon. But this “delusion” only means that their lives and treasure become the eternal property of the damned.”

    We know that Blackheart took command of the Zeus from the Jade Rebellion (the flavor text specifically states that it was originally Baochuan). However, in Rise of the Fiends, where Delusion is featured, Blackheart captains a new ship: Fool’s Hope. So what happened to the Zeus?  Why is Blackheart on a new ship? According to the Delusion‘s flavor text above, we see Blackheart mentioned leaving Fitzgerald to die. It’s a loose tie, but Blackheart is already associated with another 10-master, so it shouldn’t be too much of a stretch to believe that it’s not necessarily a different ship.

    I do have more, but I don’t have time to type it up right now.

    #9171

    Woelf
    Moderator

    Delusion Flavor Text:
    “Captained by Fitzgerald, who was stabbed in the back by Blackheart for a gold medallion and left to die, and crewed by pirates killed for their treasure by their own former crewmen, the Delusion haunts the seas searching for the gold that was stolen from her in life. A glowing mirage on even the most moonless waves, the Delusion tricks greedy sailors into believing that piles of “glowing gold” await just over the horizon. But this “delusion” only means that their lives and treasure become the eternal property of the damned.”

    We know that Blackheart took command of the Zeus from the Jade Rebellion (the flavor text specifically states that it was originally Baochuan). However, in Rise of the Fiends, where Delusion is featured, Blackheart captains a new ship: Fool’s Hope. So what happened to the Zeus? Why is Blackheart on a new ship? According to the Delusion‘s flavor text above, we see Blackheart mentioned leaving Fitzgerald to die. It’s a loose tie, but Blackheart is already associated with another 10-master, so it shouldn’t be too much of a stretch to believe that it’s not necessarily a different ship.

    I do have more, but I don’t have time to type it up right now.

    It’s a stretch, at best. The flavor text doesn’t rule out the possibility, but doesn’t do anything at all to suggest it either. Blackheart has been through numerous ships over the various sets, so being associated with a different one after Zeus doesn’t say anything about the fate of Zeus.

    The other thing to keep in mind is that RotF, and Cursed Seas in general, was set up as sort of a “reboot” for the whole series. The flavor text for Fool’s Hope sounds much more like something that happened early in Blackheart’s career, long before declaring himself “Emperor”, and arguably even before he had Harbinger.

    #9197

    Karningul
    Participant

    Do the Jade Rebellion versions of the Clear Wind and the Divine Wind have the same ability? I noticed that the master spreadsheet gives them the same ability, but the actual text on their cards is different.

    The Divine Wind has the standard wording for her ability: “If this ship shoots at a ship that was previously shot at by another ship this turn, she gets +1 to her cannon rolls against that ship this turn.”

    The Clear Wind has: “If this ship shoots at a ship that was previously shot at this turn, she gets +1 to her cannon rolls against that ship this turn.” Nothing in there about requiring it to be a different ship. Read literally, would shooting one of this ship’s cannons at a ship give the following shots within the same shoot action the bonus, or does “previously shot at” refer specifically to a shoot action and not an individual cannon shot? If it does refer to an entire shoot action, would she grant herself the bonus if she got an extra action and used it to shoot again at the same ship she had already shot at with her original action?

    It might be worth noting that the Cursed version of the Clear Wind from Ocean’s Edge changed the wording to the usual version, where it requires a different ship.

     

    #9226

    Woelf
    Moderator

    Do the Jade Rebellion versions of the Clear Wind and the Divine Wind have the same ability? I noticed that the master spreadsheet gives them the same ability, but the actual text on their cards is different.

    The Divine Wind has the standard wording for her ability: “If this ship shoots at a ship that was previously shot at by another ship this turn, she gets +1 to her cannon rolls against that ship this turn.”

    The Clear Wind has: “If this ship shoots at a ship that was previously shot at this turn, she gets +1 to her cannon rolls against that ship this turn.” Nothing in there about requiring it to be a different ship. Read literally, would shooting one of this ship’s cannons at a ship give the following shots within the same shoot action the bonus, or does “previously shot at” refer specifically to a shoot action and not an individual cannon shot? If it does refer to an entire shoot action, would she grant herself the bonus if she got an extra action and used it to shoot again at the same ship she had already shot at with her original action?

    It might be worth noting that the Cursed version of the Clear Wind from Ocean’s Edge changed the wording to the usual version, where it requires a different ship.

    I don’t know why the text is slightly different, but I think they were meant to be the same ability.

    In any case, the bonus is based on shoot actions, not individual cannons being shot. Clear Wind would only get the bonus from itself if it used an additional action to make a second shoot action. The bonus doesn’t kick in immediately after firing the first cannon in the first shoot action.

    #9555

    Ben
    Keymaster

    Unsurprisingly ran into some Rules questions in my 6×150 game that concluded today:

    If a native canoe finds the Marines UT, does it leave the game or stay on the island?

    Neptune’s Trident – does it affect ships docked at HI’s?  Can you measure the S width S away from the ship and protruding at a perpendicular angle? (I may need to show diagram/picture)

    Can you activate Ghost Ship while in a fog bank to choose your exit location or simply start moving the ship from its heading within the fog bank as if the fog bank wasn’t there?

    Silly: Can you ignore a ship’s stern flag for moving purposes since it’s not a solid object?  (or must ram)

    If a Black Mark crew is captured by Dragon Eyes, can the Cursed crew on the now-Spanish ship not use their abilities? (or does Black Mark turn the ship Cursed for the whole game)

    #9567

    Woelf
    Moderator

    If a native canoe finds the Marines UT, does it leave the game or stay on the island?

    It just removes itself without doing anything to the canoe.

    Neptune’s Trident – does it affect ships docked at HI’s? Can you measure the S width S away from the ship and protruding at a perpendicular angle? (I may need to show diagram/picture)

    Yes. It is a shoot action, but the HI isn’t the target so the shooting restriction doesn’t protect it.

    Some part of the S edge has to touch your ship, but beyond that, the angle is pretty flexible.

    Can you activate Ghost Ship while in a fog bank to choose your exit location or simply start moving the ship from its heading within the fog bank as if the fog bank wasn’t there?

    You can activate GS, but you still have to roll normally for the exit to establish your location.

    Silly: Can you ignore a ship’s stern flag for moving purposes since it’s not a solid object? (or must ram)

    It’s part of the ship, so you can’t ignore it.

    If a Black Mark crew is captured by Dragon Eyes, can the Cursed crew on the now-Spanish ship not use their abilities? (or does Black Mark turn the ship Cursed for the whole game)

    The ship reverts back if the BM crew leaves, so Cursed crew would stop working unless you had something else to allow them.

    #9668

    Ben
    Keymaster

    My question concerns using the unreleased Fort St. Phillip (in a draft of Revolution) in conjunction with native canoes.  (now that I think about it, El Puerto Blanco has the same ability)

    Fort St. Phillip
    4 gold
    3S-3S-3S-3L-3L-3L
    A ship docked here may use its action to look at one face-down cargo on each island.

    Do all of the canoes sacrifice their action at once in order to use the ability regardless of how many are docked there?  Or does it only require one canoe?  Do they all have to be docked there at once?  If it only requires one, can the other canoes be given their (same) actions normally?  If 5 canoes are docked at the fort, can you use the ability 5 times?

    (sorry if these questions are all basically the same idea)

    #9687

    Woelf
    Moderator

    My question concerns using the unreleased Fort St. Phillip (in a draft of Revolution) in conjunction with native canoes. (now that I think about it, El Puerto Blanco has the same ability)

    Fort St. Phillip
    4 gold
    3S-3S-3S-3L-3L-3L
    A ship docked here may use its action to look at one face-down cargo on each island.

    Do all of the canoes sacrifice their action at once in order to use the ability regardless of how many are docked there? Or does it only require one canoe? Do they all have to be docked there at once? If it only requires one, can the other canoes be given their (same) actions normally? If 5 canoes are docked at the fort, can you use the ability 5 times?

    Each canoe counts as an individual ship so if all five were docked you could use it five times.

    The “same action” requirement applies, so if one does it, then that’s the only action available to the others. Any that weren’t docked there would have to sit doing nothing.

    #9702

    Kai
    Participant

    Question about Broadsides Attack:

     

    <span class=”fontstyle0″>-</span><span class=”fontstyle1″>Broadsides Attack </span><span class=”fontstyle0″>ignores all defensive abilities of the target ship, except those that make it an invalid target for a
    shoot action. </span>

    What exactly counts as a defensive ability here? Specifically, ships that need to be hit twice in the same shoot action to lose a mast, would those be “immune” to Broadsides Attack or would the keyword cancel that ability?

    #9703

    Ben
    Keymaster

    What exactly counts as a defensive ability here? Specifically, ships that need to be hit twice in the same shoot action to lose a mast, would those be “immune” to Broadsides Attack or would the keyword cancel that ability?

    BA ignores that ability, but doesn’t cancel it. (since it would still work against other ships not using BA on that same turn)

    In the Pirate Code entry, I think the defensive abilities listed are all of the things that prevent BA from working.  Anything else gets ignored. (AFAIK)

    As a dramatic example, (spoiler alert) HMS Bretwalda hit on a Broadsides Attack against El Acorazado at the end of my giant Defence of St. Helens game to effectively clinch the game for the attackers.

    #9705

    Kai
    Participant

    Cheers for the answer, much appreciated. We’ve had a pretty long break from playing Pirates and are starting to appreciate some lesser used pieces now.

Viewing 12 posts - 91 through 102 (of 102 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.