Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

This topic contains 77 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  Woelf 2 weeks, 4 days ago.

Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 78 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #2059

    Woelf
    Participant

    Here’s the thread to use for any and all questions about the rules, keywords, abilities, or anything else involving with playing the game.   Please post here instead of creating individual threads for each question.

    A link to the December 2016 edition of the Pirate Code and two other useful files can be found at BoardGameGeek (you may need a BGG account to download, but you should have one of those anyways):

    The Pirate Code (FAQ/Errata):  https://www.boardgamegeek.com/filepage/48062

    Master Keyword List:  http://www.boardgamegeek.com/filepage/71812

    Reference Diagrams:  http://www.boardgamegeek.com/filepage/60486

     

     

    NOTE:  If you want prompt answers, please use the similar thread at Miniature Trading while that forum is still functional, as I’m not able to check this forum as frequently.  Link here: http://www.miniaturetrading.com/im/forum/viewtopic/t=8967/ 

    #2060

    Woelf
    Participant

    NO DUPLICATES LIST
    (Rough copy for posterity. Usability formatting to be added later)

    CREW:
    (Exact) Same Name, Same Spelling, Same Person
    -Calico Cat (SM) = Calico Cat (SCS) = Calico Cat (OE) = Calico Cat (RotF)
    -Master Bianco (SM) = Master Bianco (SS)
    -Bianco’s Haulers (SM) = Bianco’s Haulers (SS)
    -Luis Zuan (MI) = Luis Zuan (RotF) = Luis Zuan (F&S)
    -Victor de Alva (OE) = Victor de Alva (F&S)
    -Various others that need to be listed – no known exceptions(?)

    Different Name, Title, or Spelling, Same Person
    -Capitan Alarico Castro (SM) = Admiral Alarico Castro (BC)
    -Captain Blackheart (SM) = Captain Blackheart (BC) = Blackheart (DJC) = Emperor Blackheart (OE) = Blackheart (RotF)
    -Captain Mission (MI) = Captain Mysion (RotF) = Captain Mysion (F&S)
    -Jack Sparrow (DPotC) = Captain Jack Sparrow (DPotC) = Cursed Captain Jack (DPotC)
    -Chief PO Charles Richard (DJC) = Master CPO Charles Richard (OE) = Captain Charles Richard (SS)
    -Commodore Rhys Gryffin Owen (CC) = Commodore Rhys Gryffyn Owen (BC)
    -Davy Jones (DJC) = Davy Jones (OE) = Captain Davy Jones (DPotC)
    -Dominick Freda (BC) = Dominic Freda (RotF) = Dominic Freda (RotF)
    -El Fantasma (SM) = El Fantasma (SM) = El Phantasma (CC) = El Fantasma (SCS) = El Fantasma (DJC) = El Fantasma (OE) = El Fantasma (RotF)
    -Elizabeth Swann (DPotC) = Captain Elizabeth Swann (DPotC)
    -Hermione Gold (MI) = Hermione Gold (RotF) = Hermionie Gold (F&S)
    -The Inquisitor (DJC) = Inquisitor (RotF) — NOT Inquisitor Sebastian Blanco (CC)
    -Captain Jack Hawkins (SM) = Jack Hawkins (CC) = Jack Hawkins (BC) = Jack Hawkins (DJC) = Jack Hawkins (OE)
    -Monsieur LeNoir (CC) = Lenoir (RotF) = Lenoir (F&S)
    -Admiral James Norrington (DPotC) = Norrington (DPotC)
    -Ragetti = Damsel In Distress
    -Sir Edmund Atkinson (DJC) = Sir Edmund (F&S)
    -Thomas Gunn the Younger (SM) = Lord Thomas Gunn (OE) = Thomas Gunn (RotF) = Thomas Gunn (F&S) — NOT Thomas Gunn the Elder (SM)
    -Tia Dalma = Calypso

    Similar Names, Different People
    -Angria — Kanhoji Angria and Yeshaji Angria are members of the same family but their exact relation is unknown.
    -de Alva — Comandante Luys de Alva is the father of Victor de Alva.
    -Gunn — Thomas Gunn the Elder is the father of Thomas Gunn the Younger (see above).
    -Laffite — Jean Laffite and Phillipe Laffite are brothers.
    -The Spanish Inquisition — Inquisitor Sebastian Blanco is an Inquisitor, not The Inquisitor (see above).
    -Swann — Governor Weatherby Swann is the father of Elizabeth Swann.
    -Turner — “Bootstrap Bill” Turner is the father of Will Turner.
    -Zuan — Fidel Zuan and Gaspar Zuan are brothers; Luis Zuan is their nephew.

    ——————————

    UNIQUE TREASURES:

    -Rum (SM) = Rum (PotC)
    -Abandoned Crew (CC) / Abandoned Crew (MI) — Duplication of Abandoned Crew is allowed on a “per card” basis, so if a crew appears twice on one card you may use both at once. You may also mix & match freely between the two different versions of this card, as long as the total number of any given crew token does not exceed the number found on a single card.

    ——————————

    SHIPS:

    Same/Similar Name, Same Ship
    -Black Pearl (DPotC) = Black Pearl (damaged) (DPotC) = Black Pearl (DPotC)
    -Deliverance (CC) = Deliverance (CC) = Deliverance (OE)
    -El Acorazado (SM) = El Acorazado (OE)
    -Empress (undamaged) (DPotC) = Empress (DPotC)
    -Flying Dutchman (DJC) = Flying Dutchman (DPotC) = Flying Dutchman (DPotC)
    -Harbinger (SM) = Harbinger (DJC)
    -HMS Apollo (RotF) = HMS Apollo (RotF) = HMS Apollo (F&S) — NOT HMS Apollo (REV)
    -La Resolucion (SM) = La Resolucion (SM) = La Resolucion (OE)
    -Le Bonaparte (DJC) = Le Bonaparte (OE)
    -Le Coeur de Lion (SCS) = Le Coeur du Lion (OE) — Note the change in ship type.
    -Neptune’s Hoard (REV) = Neptune’s Hoard (OE)
    -Santa Lucia (SCS) = Santa Lucia (OE)

    Assumed for now, but unconfirmed (Use your best discretion until noted otherwise)
    Amity (CC-009, F&S-404)
    Clear Wind (SCS-011, OE-159)
    Cutlass (RU-010, OE-212)
    Divine Wind (SCS-006, OE-167)
    East Wind (SCS-007, OE-155)
    Floating Stone (SCS-081, OE-212)
    Fool’s Hope (RotF-001, -200)
    HMS Stingray (RotF-006, -204)
    La Ebro (MI-068, FN-053)
    L’Afrique (BC-077, OE-078)
    L’Auguste (CC-073, OE-075) – Possible Non-Match
    Proud Tortoise (SCS-022, OE-36)
    Royal Louis (RotF-029, F&S-044)
    San Cristobal (RotF-006, -202)
    Sea Crane (SCS-015 , OE-164)
    Sea Duck (SCS-017, OE-160)
    Sea Lion (SCS-013, OE-152)
    Sea Phoenix (SCS-016, OE-156) – See also “Same Name/Different Ship” Below
    Sea Serpent (SCS-012, OE-148)
    Sea Tiger (SCS-014, OE-168) – See “Unknown/Unconfirmed” Below
    Sea Wind (SCS-008, OE-147)
    Tiger (RU-009, OE-211)
    Typhoon (SCS-009, OE-163)
    USS Atlanta (FN-076, OE-090)
    Virtuous Wind (SCS-010, OE-151)
    Weasel (RotF-005, -203)

    Different Name, Same Ship
    -Asesino de la Nave (SM)(GS-004) = Santiago (CC)
    -Baochuan (SCS) = Zeus (OE) – See Note 1 below.
    -Black Pearl (PotC-025)/(-026)/(-087) = Wicked Wench
    -Constitution (Rev) = USS Constitution (OE)
    -Grand Temple (SCS) = HMS Grand Temple (OE)
    -HMS Bolingbroke (SM) = Bloody Throne (PP)
    -L’Aguila (SM) = Eagle (CC)
    -Lezard (-208) = HMS Lizard (-209) = Lizard (-210) = Lagarto (-211) = Sea Lizard (-212) = Lizard’s Sting (-213) (F&S)
    -HMS Morning Star (-202) = Morning Star (-203)/(-204)/(-205) = USS Morning Star (-206) = Mourning Star (-207) (F&S)
    -Sea Phoenix (SCS)/(OE) = HMS Sea Phoenix (OE)

    German Ships
    These four ships appear only in the German-language version of the Spanish Main set.
    Despite the alternate names and flavor texts, for gameplay purposes they are considered the same ships as their English-language counterparts.
    -Bunte Kuh = El Ladron
    -Roter Teufel = Raven’s Neck
    -Klabautermann = Treachery
    -Sturmvogel = Batavian Bat

    Same or Similar Name, Different Ship:
    -Concord (Rev) ≠ Concord (BC) ≠ HMS Concorde (OE)
    -Divine Dragon (MI) ≠ Divine Dragon (OE)
    -El Algeciras (SCS) ≠ El Algeciras (OE)
    -El Toro (BC) ≠ El Toro (OE)
    -Executioner (Rev) ≠ Executioner (DJC)
    -Fancy (CC) ≠ Fancy (PotC)
    -Freedom (SM) ≠ Freedom (Rev)
    -HMS Apollo (Rev) ≠ HMS Apollo (RotF-002)/(-201)/(F&S)
    -HMS Diamond (PotC) ≠HMS Diamond (F&S)
    -HMS Durham (BC) ≠ HMS Durham (FN)
    -HMS Gibraltar (CC) ≠ Gibraltar (RotF)
    -HMS Nautilus (Rev) ≠ Nautilus (MI)
    -La Corse (SCS) ≠ La Corse (DJC)
    -Lady’s Scorn (SCS) ≠ Lady’s Scorn (RotF) ≠ Lady’s Scorn (F&S) – See Note 2 below.
    -La Santa Ana (CC) ≠ Santa Ana (SCS) – See Note 3 below.
    -Minuteman (BC) ≠ Minuteman (RotF)
    -Needle (OE) ≠ Needle (RotF)
    -Neptune (PotC) ≠ Neptune (F&S)
    -Nightmare (DJC-021) ≠ Nightmare (DJC-145) ≠ Nightmare (OE)
    -Pestilence (RotF) ≠ Pestilence (F&S)
    -Ranger (CC) ≠ Ranger (PotC)
    -Revenge (SM)/(PP) ≠ Revenge (PotC)
    -Saratoga (Rev) ≠ Saratoga (DJC) ≠ Saratoga (RotF)
    -Scepter (CC) ≠ Scepter (F&S)
    -Scorpion (BC) ≠ Scorpion (RotF)
    -Tiger (Rev) ≠ Tiger (OE)
    -USS Mercury (MI) ≠ USS Mercury (RotF)

    Notes:
    All “Unlimited” items are considered the same as their non-Unlimited counterparts from the same set, despite having different collector numbers, unless specifically noted otherwise.

    1) Baochuan (SCS) vs. Guichuan (DJC) vs. Zeus (OE)
    Historically, “baochuan” was a generic name for a treasure ship, not necessarily a specific ship. Guichuan’s flavor text does not refer to Baochuan by name, so the sunken ship that was raised to become the Guichuan could have been any ship of the same class or configuration. The flavor text for Zeus does refer to Baochuan by name, implying it to be the namesake ship of its class, and provides a definitive link between them, so it’s safe to assume that Baochuan and Zeus are the same ship, while Guichuan is a different ship of the same class.

    2) Lady’s Scorn (SCS) vs. Lady’s Scorn (RotF) vs. Lady’s Scorn (F&S)
    All three of these ships have connections to Calico Cat and share some similarities in stats and artwork, but the flavor text strongly suggests that they are all different ships that were controlled by Calico Cat at different points in her timeline. The similarities are assumed to be intentional, with each new ship being named after the previous one it replaced. As far as the rules are concerned, this means they are considered different ships that may be used together, even though it is unlikely that more than one was ever in use at the same time under the “Lady’s Scorn” name.

    3) La Santa Ana (CC) vs. Santa Ana (SCS)
    These two ships share the same type (4-mast), but their stats are completely different and the flavor text in SCS makes no references whatsoever to the previous version. They’re most likely different ships, and with no definitive evidence to tie them together, they can be treated as such.

    Unknown/Unconfirmed:
    1) HMS Granville (BC) vs. HMS Granville (FN)
    The flavor text in Frozen North suggests the ship was refit to become an icebreaker, but changing from a 3-mast schooner to an icebreaker is a rather extensive change. Most likely there was a different (unseen) ship with the same name in between that received the refit.

    2) Sea Tiger (SCS) vs. Sea Tiger (OE-168) vs. USS Sea Tiger (OE-094)
    Aside from the nationality change, the two Sea Tigers are an exact match in stats and are undoubtedly the same ship. The flavor text for USS Sea Tiger implies a connection, but its stats (and artwork) are quite a bit different from either Sea Tiger which suggest a different ship with a similar name. If USS Sea Tiger is the same ship, how does it fit in relation to the OE Sea Tiger?

    #2062

    Ben
    Keymaster

    Awesome Woelf, thanks for making this!

    The Master Spreadsheet contains all of the game pieces released, in addition to RtSS and Unreleased stuff – a good reference for anyone wondering what is being discussed.

    I’ll start things off!  Xerecs and I had some questions during the SS 10th anniversary game, and another random question came up during the Podcast last night.

    Great Turtles say “This island can’t be moved within 2 S of any ships or other islands.”  Does this apply when moving the turtle multiple times in the same turn?  If I move it within 2S of something but then move it back away during my turn, is that illegal?  Basically, does each S movement need to adhere to the 2S limitation, or does it only apply at the end of your turn when you stop moving it?

    If a game piece has a +1 boarding bonus along with a +2 that applies under certain circumstances, can you stack the conditional +2 with a different +1?  For example, Captain Charles Richard from OE: “This ship gets +1 to her boarding rolls. She gets +2 instead if her opponent is a sea monster.”  If you had a different crew that got +1 to boarding rolls on the ship, it wouldn’t stack right?  (same thing applied to a custom ship during the podcast)

    #2162

    Ben
    Keymaster

    Got another one.  Fruit says “Fruit takes up 2 cargo spaces and cannot be unloaded.”

    The Pirate Code says:

    -UTs may be transferred between ships like standard treasure (via an explore action), and may be transferred by abilities and effects that steal, take, or trade treasure, unless an ability specifically prevents them from being unloaded or removed from a ship.

     

    -A “transfer” occurs any time cargo is moved from one location to another, whether it is through the use of an explore action, a boarding action, an ability, or any other means.

    –“Load” and “unload” refer to transfers in a specific direction, either on or off a ship, respectively.

    To me it seems slightly contradictory, or at least confusing.  Can Fruit be transferred between ships, or is that still considered “unloading”?

    When using the Pandora’s Box UT, couldn’t players use that opportunity to place more boxes on the same ship, essentially creating an “infinite loop” of boxes and endless “free” UT’s until a player voluntarily stopped the loop?  O_O   XD

    #2170

    Woelf
    Participant

    How do you quote text from a reply without manually copying and pasting?

    A “preview” option would be nice to have too.

    ————————————————-

    Great Turtles say “This island can’t be moved within 2 S of any ships or other islands.”  Does this apply when moving the turtle multiple times in the same turn?  If I move it within 2S of something but then move it back away during my turn, is that illegal?  Basically, does each S movement need to adhere to the 2S limitation, or does it only apply at the end of your turn when you stop moving it?

    The restriction is checked separately for each individual movement.

    ————————————

    If a piece has a +1 boarding bonus along with a +2 that applies under certain circumstances, can you stack the conditional >+2 with a different +1?  For example, Captain Charles Richard from OE: “This ship gets +1 to her boarding rolls. She gets +2 instead if her opponent is a sea monster.”  If you had a different crew that got +1 to boarding rolls on the ship, it wouldn’t stack right?  (same thing applied to a custom ship during the podcast)

    As long as they have different conditions and/or effects, they can be stacked.

    #2171

    Ben
    Keymaster

    @woelf: Thanks!  As of now I don’t think there’s a way to quote someone’s post with a button – it’s something I plan to look into.  I had a preview feature installed but it got messy and glitchy, so I deleted that and added code to enable the current Visual editor, which works decently as a preview since you can see what your post will look like as you’re typing it.

    #2172

    Woelf
    Participant

    (Moved down so it’s attached to the relevant post)

     

    Can Fruit be transferred between ships, or is that still considered “unloading”?

    Fruit cannot be transferred.   “Transfer” is really just a catch-all term that covers unloading and loading as part of a single action.

    The distinction between loading and unloading is made mainly because of the handful of abilities that refer specifically to one or the other.

    —————————————

    When using the Pandora’s Box UT, couldn’t players use that opportunity to place more boxes on the same ship, essentially creating an “infinite loop” of boxes and endless “free” UT’s until a player voluntarily stopped the loop?

    Technically you could add another Box, but the no-stacking rule would prevent any of the duplicates from generating additional treasures.

    #2211

    Ben
    Keymaster

    Can the S-Explorer ability (Once per turn, if this ship is within S of an island, you can mark the island as explored without docking at it. The island becomes unexplored in regards to all other players.) be used by one ship on the same turn that it docks at the island?

    For example, a ship moves to within S of a wild island, marks it explored before finishing the move action (since it doesn’t specify when it has to occur), and then docks with the final segment to look at the gold/etc.

    #2249

    Woelf
    Participant

    As long as the marker is placed before the ship docks, you can use the free explore.

    #2298

    Ben
    Keymaster

    Can Filching Gold or Peter Miles/etc be used after brushing against a canoe without ramming?

    Is it acceptable to remove used or resolved UT’s from the game?  Can you ever retrigger them by stealing to new ship?  Any problem just removing them from play? (ex: Lost, Whirlpool, etc)

    #2411

    Woelf
    Participant

    Canoes are ships, and Peter Miles’s ability only requires the ships to be touching.  Ramming is not needed.

     

    UTs that don’t automatically remove themselves remain in the game and face up, but they won’t re-trigger unless something in their text specifically allows it, or they get turned face down somehow and revealed again.    If the UT’s ability doesn’t prevent it from being unloaded or transferred it can be given away in a boarding or through other things that steal treasures.

    #2444

    Ben
    Keymaster

    Is Runes of Death eliminated immediately after the elimination of the final mast or crew on the ship, or must you wait for the effect to trigger at the beginning of your next turn in order to get rid of it?

    With Message in a Bottle, does the owner of the ship choose where the ship is docked AT the island once your opponent chooses which (tied) island the ship docks at?

    #2471

    Woelf
    Participant

    You should keep posting these at MT until the site actually dies.

    Is Runes of Death eliminated immediately after the elimination of the final mast or crew on the ship, or must you wait for the effect to trigger at the beginning of your next turn in order to get rid of it?

    It’s eliminated immediately if there are no masts AND no crew on the ship.   This can happen when the last is removed, or if it transfers to a ship with none.

    With Message in a Bottle, does the owner of the ship choose where the ship is docked AT the island once your opponent chooses which (tied) island the ship docks at?

    No, the opponent chooses only the island when there’s a tie.  You still have control over where specifically the ship becomes docked at that island.

    • This reply was modified 7 months ago by  Woelf.
    #2812

    Chris
    Participant

    I have a question, Does Ruth Lee reduce reduce the cost of Native Canoes?

    #2814

    Ben
    Keymaster

    I have a question, Does Ruth Lee reduce reduce the cost of Native Canoes?

    No, because the Chieftain assumes the cost of all the native canoes.  The canoes themselves aren’t technically assigned individual point costs.  She would decrease the cost of the chieftain crew only, especially because the chieftain is considered crew while the canoes are considered ships and not crew.

    “-The Tribal Chieftain crew assumes the full point cost of its associated set of native canoes for the purposes of fleet building, placement, point restrictions, and all other abilities or effects that refer to point costs.”

    -From The Pirate Code Page 21.

    Plus the American canoes are already OP enough as it is; making them cheaper would break the game!  🙂

    You should keep posting these at MT until the site actually dies.

    @woelf: The reason I’m posting them here is because I want to preserve as many rules questions as possible.  I don’t want to lose even more stuff in case MT disappears or something.  I just can’t be incentivized to create content I don’t own when I’ve already lost so much.

    #2816

    Chris
    Participant

    Thank you for getting me an answer so quickly!

    #2935

    Ben
    Keymaster

    Is there any way to transfer the Fruit UT from one friendly ship to another?

    Is it legal to explore a flotilla to give it the Maps of Hades UT?  (so the UT can be “hidden” away and basically made irrelevant)

     

    #3059

    Woelf
    Participant

    Is there any way to transfer the Fruit UT from one friendly ship to another?

    Nothing comes to mind. It can be destroyed by effects that target cargo or treasure, and it can be converted into a cannon with Carbon Charlie’s ability, but otherwise you’re mostly stuck with it.

    Is it legal to explore a flotilla to give it the Maps of Hades UT? (so the UT can be “hidden” away and basically made irrelevant)

    Flotillas can be explored by other ships. You’d still have to roll for the Maps’ effect before the Flotilla could take an action, and even though it technically can’t move, the block on giving it other actions would still apply.

    Also, it would be hilarious to see the other ship get repeatedly moved away while trying to dump that UT on the flotilla. 😛

    #3062

    Ben
    Keymaster

    You’d still have to roll for the Maps’ effect before the Flotilla could take an action, and even though it technically can’t move, the block on giving it other actions would still apply.

    Why?  It says “On a result of 5 or 6, the opponent to your right may give this ship a move action. If he or she does, this ship may not be given another action that turn.”  If the opponent cannot even give the flotilla a move action, then the flotilla can be given an action that turn.

    I thought about turning the Fruit into a cannon, but it’s in my Pirate fleet in CG4 so I’d have to get lucky if there’s a custom Pirate crew out there like Carbon Charlie.

    #3115

    Woelf
    Participant

    I suppose it doesn’t have to be mandatory.    The maps being technically optional is what throws it off, because there are very few (if any?) situations where it isn’t beneficial for the opponent to give that move action, just to lock out additional actions.

    This would also apply to derelicts and any other situations where a normal ship couldn’t be given a move action for some reason.

    #3117

    Ben
    Keymaster

    This would also apply to derelicts and any other situations where a normal ship couldn’t be given a move action for some reason.

    I guess I just fundamentally disagree with the ruling.  If a move action cannot be given to the target, then anything that happens as a result of that “move action” cannot occur.  I don’t think it should matter if the opponent wants to give the target a move action – if they can’t, they can’t.  Their will cannot break the rules of the game….

    I understand that move actions can be as small as the player wanted, to a fraction of a millimeter just to say they moved.  But if something CAN’T be given a move action, there is no action to give in the first place and thus no following effects can happen that rely on the move action itself.

    I feel like interpreting the part that says “the opponent to your right may give this ship a move action” meaning that they can give the ship a “move action” regardless of whether or not they should be able to, supersedes whether or not the target can be given a move action.  In this case, like cancelling the Flotilla keyword and pretending that it has moved on its own somehow.

    #3164

    Woelf
    Participant

    I meant that that Maps’ effect doesn’t have to be mandatory. If the ship can’t move for some reason, the rest of the effect is ignored.

    I was commenting more on the fact that it’s an optional effect where there’s no reason to not take the option if you can.

    #3476

    Ben
    Keymaster

    If a crew with Black Mark activated is transferred to a ship of his original nationality, does that ship become Cursed?  If the crew goes to a Cursed ship, can he use his abilities normally?  Can a crew copy Black Mark or does it have no effect since it’s a start of play ability?

    #3528

    Jack
    Participant

    I’m pretty sure Black Mark is only a set up ability.

    #3554

    Mechavelli
    Participant

    Aw man, the SAC/Devil’s Maw combo isn’t legal anymore? What a shame, that was a really awesome technique I was planning on using. Same with sac’ing Ransom crew, I guess I’ll either not use them or figure out how to make them more useful.

     

    I do have a question about cost reducers like Zuan. If he reduces crew cost, why can’t he reduce build total cost as well? I don’t understand his appeal otherwise- the amount of times a crew selection would go over a ship’s cost shouldn’t be happening that often and even then he’s not guaranteed to do much, so why does he even exist?

    #3561

    Ben
    Keymaster

    Aw man, the SAC/Devil’s Maw combo isn’t legal anymore? What a shame, that was a really awesome technique I was planning on using. Same with sac’ing Ransom crew, I guess I’ll either not use them or figure out how to make them more useful.

    Both of those techniques SHOULD be illegal.  You won’t be a fan of it the one time you don’t use it but your opponent beats you with it.  Ransom crew are extremely valuable by generally having great additional abilities. (+5, “free” reroll, etc)

    I do have a question about cost reducers like Zuan. If he reduces crew cost, why can’t he reduce build total cost as well? I don’t understand his appeal otherwise- the amount of times a crew selection would go over a ship’s cost shouldn’t be happening that often and even then he’s not guaranteed to do much, so why does he even exist?

    Because that would allow for overpowered builds, especially on large ships where you could save a lot of points.  It would also be extremely confusing if the reducers let you mess with the build total but crew like Jonah did not – and they’re confusing enough as it is.  That said, the 2 point reducers should have costed 1 point to make them more viable.  They are only useful in extremely specific situations. (such as the Divine Dragon with OE Davy Jones, captain, helmsman, and Sir Edmund, which is my favorite and by far the most-used combo with a 2 point reducer)

    #3671

    Woelf
    Participant

    If a crew with Black Mark activated is transferred to a ship of his original nationality, does that ship become Cursed?  If the crew goes to a Cursed ship, can he use his abilities normally?  Can a crew copy Black Mark or does it have no effect since it’s a start of play ability?

    The crew remains Cursed (+1 cost) and would need to be transferred to a Cursed ship to keep using its abilities (it doesn’t convert the new ship). The ship they started on would revert back to normal when the crew left.

    Copying BM won’t do anything because the effect is determined at setup.

    #3672

    Woelf
    Participant

    Aw man, the SAC/Devil’s Maw combo isn’t legal anymore? What a shame, that was a really awesome technique I was planning on using. Same with sac’ing Ransom crew, I guess I’ll either not use them or figure out how to make them more useful.

    Both of those techniques SHOULD be illegal. You won’t be a fan of it the one time you don’t use it but your opponent beats you with it. Ransom crew are extremely valuable by generally having great additional abilities. (+5, “free” reroll, etc)

    I do have a question about cost reducers like Zuan. If he reduces crew cost, why can’t he reduce build total cost as well? I don’t understand his appeal otherwise- the amount of times a crew selection would go over a ship’s cost shouldn’t be happening that often and even then he’s not guaranteed to do much, so why does he even exist?

    Because that would allow for overpowered builds, especially on large ships where you could save a lot of points. It would also be extremely confusing if the reducers let you mess with the build total but crew like Jonah did not – and they’re confusing enough as it is. That said, the 2 point reducers should have costed 1 point to make them more viable. They are only useful in extremely specific situations. (such as the Divine Dragon with OE Davy Jones, captain, helmsman, and Sir Edmund, which is my favorite and by far the most-used combo with a 2 point reducer)

    All of those were made illegal shortly after they first appeared (the rulings are by no means recent). They all created situations that were extremely easy to abuse or flat-out broke the game.

    #3673

    Jack
    Participant

    I found out that Gaspar Zuan was illegal when I tried to make a Captain Jack Sparrow fleet with Zuan and infinite Oarsmen aboard a boat. (Also illegal because Oarsmen don’t stack, but I found that out only later lol.)

    Woelf, let’s say I load Ghostly Encounter on a ship with one crew, and I roll for its effect then. Can I transfer Encounter to a ship with a whole lot of crew and use that ship to dump Encounter on the HI without risking any crew?

    #3928

    Brettb45
    Participant

    <div id=”content_68307″>Can a Scorpion ship use its blade immediately after going through a whirlpool, without an extra action?</div>
     

Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 78 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.