Woelf

  • https://piratescsg.fandom.com/wiki/Keywords
    you don’t run this one?

    Yikes.  That whole page is just a disaster, and based on edit history, it’s been abandoned for almost a decade.   Delete your bookmark to that site and never look back.

     

    Stick with the official and/or verified information Ben has available here.   The “Information and Stats<…[Read more]

  • At this point I don’t know if I’ve even had to deal with the rules for [sand bars] yet since in my games ships just sail around them. 

    You can say much the same for terrain in general, or at least Reefs and Sargasso Seas.   It’s been a long time since I actually sat down to play against anyone, but I can’t even remember the last time anyone sailed…[Read more]

  • Woelf replied to the topic The Random Topic Thread in the forum Pirates CSG 1 week, 2 days ago

    D’oh!  Yep, they were flipped.   Fixed now, thanks!

  • Alternatively, if I had Conseil link to all mercenary ships instead of taking up cargo space, would that work? 🤔 Probably not.
    The intent behind me putting dories on it besides just simply making him have the Bianco’s Hauler’s ability was to reward people for making “lore correct” combinations, and provide more incentive for players to make use…

    [Read more]

  • Woelf replied to the topic The Random Topic Thread in the forum Pirates CSG 1 week, 3 days ago

    Maybe the sandbar terrain idea was going to be a thing  😉

    I’m assuming someone has already come up with possible ideas for sandbars in the past, but here’s a quick take…

    SandbarAt the start of the game, roll a d6:  on a 1-3, place all Sandbar terrain with their “Low Tide” side up; on a 4-6, “High Tide” side up.      At the beginning of each…[Read more]

  • Woelf replied to the topic Photopea in the forum Pirates CSG 1 week, 5 days ago

    According to Riz’s BGG profile*, he hasn’t logged in since February of 2016, so don’t hold your breath waiting for a response that way.  With his website down and MT long gone, unless someone has another contact email for him, he could be tough to reach…   🙁

     

    *If you click to view a profile page and scroll all the way down to the “User De…[Read more]

  • Would the ability of The Kraken and Kray-Kin be considered a direct ability affect or an indirect ability affect, when in the same game as Holy Water/ Davy Jones Heart?
    In other words, would the heart/water protect the ship it is on from their abilities? I’m led to believe that it can, but would like some clarification.

    Those do affect crew d…[Read more]

  • Could a Ghost Ship tow a Flotilla?

    Yes, but it would have to leave “Ghostly” turned off while doing it.

    And would Poseidon’s Breath blow off one of a turtle ship’s shell panels instead of it’s mast?

    No, PB removes the mast directly.   It doesn’t cause a “hit”, so it ignores the panels.

    Also if there is a captain of say the USS Stephen…

    [Read more]

  • Conseil

    Type: Crew

    Nation: Mercenaries

    Cost: 4

    Ability: Ex-Patriot. Dories. This crew takes up no cargo space.

    The way WK defined the Dories keyword restricts where and how it can be used, so it should only be put on a ship that has at least one crew linked to it.

    If this was intended to be a Mercenary version of Bianco’s Haulers, which the…[Read more]

  • Woelf replied to the topic The Random Topic Thread in the forum Pirates CSG 2 weeks, 6 days ago

    I have a hunch that “eliminate a cargo” abilities usually meant just treasure, not treasure or crew. Every crew killer ability I can think of is only once per turn, so if cargo killer abilities were always meant to affect crew as well as treasure, I would assume they also would have gotten a OPT, no? Similar to what you said about Hidden Cove ini…

    [Read more]

  • Does “on the turn this ship is pinned, eliminate one crew and one mast from the enemy ship” ability (El Villalobos, Beast’s Belly) stack with my Spanish Main ability to eliminate just a crew on the turn my ship is pinned?
    Also, does this apply only on the initial turn, or is it that if the rammed ship does not leave and I’m pinned still next tu…

    [Read more]

  • Can you play events against ships that are lost inside of a fog bank?

    That depends on the Event.

    If it targets the ship or its crew directly, it’ll work.  Mermaids or Duel, for example.

    If it targets an area or something within a range of the Event token, it will not.  Becalmed, Cursed Zone, and Foul Winds, for example.

    Rolling Fog affects t…[Read more]

  • Sorry if this one has been answered to death, but I didn’t see any references to this specifically. It has been discussed that Wizkids’ handling of Sea Creature and Monster rules are slightly vague. We have also determined that Sea Monsters/Titans are granted the ability to ram and board by their keyword which overrides the Sea Creature rules. The…

    [Read more]

  • A sneaky/fun use for a recruiter is to bring in a Shipwright that matches the nation of a ship you just captured, so you can start using it right away instead of dragging it all the way back home.

     

    Lian & Park aren’t going to be at the top of any list of things to get rid of, but they definitely deserve a place on that list for being broken on…[Read more]

  •  Is the Amity from CC supposed to be a common?  She is on the cards but the spreadsheet(s) list her as uncommon, which is normal for her ship type.

    The data and ship type both point to it being uncommon, so you can assume that’s what it was supposed to be.    I don’t have the physical cards handy to check, but if that has a red corner, it was pro…[Read more]

  • Hidden Cove: How was this ever seen as anything but absurdly broken?

    During playtesting it sent you to the nearest island you’d previously explored instead of the nearest unexplored island.   That made far more sense thematically, and more importantly didn’t break anything…  but somehow it got changed before going into production.

  • Woelf replied to the topic Game Ideas in the forum Pirates CSG 1 month ago

    Is there a rule set for solo gameplay? I am lucky, and have a crew for game  nights but would like to get this on my table more.
    My apologies if the rule set is posted already; I may be looking in the wrong places.
    A few people over the years may have come up with versions of their own, but there’s never been a good solo variant that has caught…[Read more]

  • Cog: Once per turn, one friendly ship within S of this ship may explore this ship. (This occurs on the cogs turn)

    Is this meant to include “as a free action” in the text?    As written it costs a normal, full action, so it’s barely doing anything at all.

  • @Ben

    If I have an ability that moves an enemy ship (like an L-mover on a 5-6), how does the timing of d6 rolls work with sargasso seas when forcing a ship onto one of them?  Do I roll for the ship and that rating stays for my opponent’s next turn?  Or do (only) they roll once it comes back around to them?  If the latter, it must be assumed that…

    [Read more]

  • @xerecs

    How does Homemade Flag interact with ships that have Extended Range? The code ruling is unclear to me.

    The range reduction is applied after everything else that modifies range, so Extended Range won’t let you bypass it.

    I like how it works thematically.  The fake flag works just well enough that enemy ships need to get in close to make…[Read more]

  • Load More