Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Viewing 11 posts - 871 through 881 (of 881 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #20429
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Just for sake of clarification, I assume both coins have to be completely random for Ship Treasure Trading? (unless a ship only has 1 coin of course)  Or is it still loser chooses?

    Once per turn, if this ship carries treasure and is within S of an enemy ship, you may randomly trade one treasure with that ship.

    #20456
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Fog Bank:

    When any part of a ship or sea creature touches a fog bank, the entire game piece must be placed within the fog bank as a free action; the game piece’s turn ends, even if it could move farther that turn.

    I assume they meant “the game piece’s ACTION” ends?  Or are fog banks supposed to prevent a ship with an extra action from moving out of the fog bank on the same turn it moved into one?

    #20457
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Sorry, busy week and I’d missed this one earlier…

    Just for sake of clarification, I assume both coins have to be completely random for Ship Treasure Trading? (unless a ship only has 1 coin of course)  Or is it still loser chooses?

    Once per turn, if this ship carries treasure and is within S of an enemy ship, you may randomly trade one treasure with that ship.

    Yes, both should be randomized if possible.

     

    Fog Bank:

    When any part of a ship or sea creature touches a fog bank, the entire game piece must be placed within the fog bank as a free action; the game piece’s turn ends, even if it could move farther that turn.

    I assume they meant “the game piece’s ACTION” ends?  Or are fog banks supposed to prevent a ship with an extra action from moving out of the fog bank on the same turn it moved into one?

    Yes, it should be Action.     That goes back to the long-running problem with the rules being written as if extra action abilities didn’t exist.

    #20480
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    “The Code, S-Boarding”

    -This ability may be used by or against a ship that is submerged

    This would mostly apply to submarines, but if the S-board ability was on a Sea Monster, either built-in like on Lasses’ Lament or present via a the Chariot, would that Sea Monster be able to board while submerged?

    #20484
    Woelf
    Moderator

    “The Code, S-Boarding”

    -This ability may be used by or against a ship that is submerged

    This would mostly apply to submarines, but if the S-board ability was on a Sea Monster, either built-in like on Lasses’ Lament or present via a the Chariot, would that Sea Monster be able to board while submerged?

    Yes, it can be used by a submerged Sea Monster.   All of the restrictions described in the keyword “After winning a boarding action…” still apply normally.

    #20485
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    “Spanish Native Canoes”

    Native Canoe. Each treasure this ship unloads at your home island is worth +1 gold.

    A couple questions, firstly since the ability refers to “this ship” and not “this canoe” I take it that it could be copied and used by another ship?

    Is the trigger different enough to stack with other gold bonus abilities, specifically the other +1 bonuses? Or should this be considered the same as the other +1 bonuses?

    #20488
    Woelf
    Moderator

    “Spanish Native Canoes”

    Native Canoe. Each treasure this ship unloads at your home island is worth +1 gold.

    A couple questions, firstly since the ability refers to “this ship” and not “this canoe” I take it that it could be copied and used by another ship?

    Is the trigger different enough to stack with other gold bonus abilities, specifically the other +1 bonuses? Or should this be considered the same as the other +1 bonuses?

    It’s not tied specifically to the ship type or the keyword, so it can be copied.

    Each+1 is slightly different from One+1, One+2, and Silver+1, so you could theoretically combine all four.

    #20496
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Hmmm. That gives me ideas. Thanks Woelf!

    —————

    I have a couple questions and clarifications regarding the English Native Canoes from RtSS.

    In the old MT thread it was confirmed that they can be used to “repair” Sea Monsters. Would their ability allow for non-Sea Monster creatures to be “repaired” as well; such as Sea Dragons, Titans and Krakens/Octopus? Specifically for a Kraken, could the ability target both the Kraken and any ship that Kraken may have surrounded?

    If I have a damaged ship near an opposing damaged ship and a friendly non-English Native Canoe is within S of both, and an English canoe succeeds at their roll, would both ships within S of the non-English canoe be able to repair a mast? Or am I able to choose to not have the enemy ship repair?

    In the same situation as above, but this time 3 English canoes have succeeded on their roll. Can all of the rolls be applied through the non English canoe that is within S of my damaged ship and the opposing ship? Or would each successful English canoe roll require a different canoe to go through?

    #20500
    Woelf
    Moderator

    (Ability text for reference)

    Native Canoe. Give this ship a move action but do not move her. Instead, roll a d6. On a result of 5 or 6, you may repair one mast on ships within S of any native canoes.

    ——–

    I have a couple questions and clarifications regarding the English Native Canoes from RtSS.

    In the old MT thread it was confirmed that they can be used to “repair” Sea Monsters. Would their ability allow for non-Sea Monster creatures to be “repaired” as well; such as Sea Dragons, Titans and Krakens/Octopus? Specifically for a Kraken, could the ability target both the Kraken and any ship that Kraken may have surrounded?

    The sea creature rules are what prevents them from being given repair actions.  The canoe ability works on them because it’s making the repair without giving the action to the creature.

    If I have a damaged ship near an opposing damaged ship and a friendly non-English Native Canoe is within S of both, and an English canoe succeeds at their roll, would both ships within S of the non-English canoe be able to repair a mast? Or am I able to choose to not have the enemy ship repair?

    The player using the canoe’s ability gets to choose which specific ships out of all that are eligible actually get repaired.   You’re not forced to repair opposing ships and generally wouldn’t, but there might be the rare situation where it’s  somehow to your benefit.

    In the same situation as above, but this time 3 English canoes have succeeded on their roll. Can all of the rolls be applied through the non English canoe that is within S of my damaged ship and the opposing ship? Or would each successful English canoe roll require a different canoe to go through?

    Each successful roll triggers the effect, so three successful rolls means up to three repairs per ship in range of any canoe.   Only the English ones can attempt the roll, but ANY canoe in play, even opposing ones, can be used to determine what gets repaired.

    You should resolve each roll and repair separately – don’t roll for multiple canoes at once.

    #20625
    Jared Nicholes
    Participant

    I have a quick question about game rules. It’s actually a very unusual situation.

    I think I have a misprinted card/ship. The card is 022 from oceans edge, the Deliverance. According to the card, there are two 3S cannons and three 3L cannons. However, when I look at the masts on the ship itself, I’m seeing four 3L cannons and one 3S cannon. I verified that all the masts are for the Deliverance, I compared the numbers on them to the number on the ship. They are the same.

    Should I follow the cannons on the card, or the cannons on the masts? I can’t figure it out.

    I am stumped.

    #20627
    Woelf
    Moderator

    I think I have a misprinted card/ship. The card is 022 from oceans edge, the Deliverance. According to the card, there are two 3S cannons and three 3L cannons. However, when I look at the masts on the ship itself, I’m seeing four 3L cannons and one 3S cannon. I verified that all the masts are for the Deliverance, I compared the numbers on them to the number on the ship. They are the same.

    Should I follow the cannons on the card, or the cannons on the masts? I can’t figure it out.

    I am stumped.

     

    The Pirate Code has you covered:

    -Mismatched Cannons: The cannons shown on a deckplate card typically correspond to the cannons shown on the masts of a ship in a left-to-right, front-to-back arrangement. However, if all cannons shown on the deckplate match the cannons on the masts but their order is different, the masts take priority (example: 3S-3S-3L vs. 3S-3L-3S). If one or more cannons cannot be matched in any order, the deckplate takes priority (example: 2S-3S-4S vs. 3S-4L-4S)

Viewing 11 posts - 871 through 881 (of 881 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.