Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Viewing 30 posts - 301 through 330 (of 368 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #13082
    Xuansho
    Participant

    when there is a ransom crew on an enemy derelict you can only transfer it (after an explore action)  on your own ship if it has the same nationality as the crew (since zero point crew can not be assigned to ship with different nationality), did I get it right ?

    #13086
    Woelf
    Moderator

    @Xuansho

    when there is a ransom crew on an enemy derelict you can only transfer it (after an explore action)  on your own ship if it has the same nationality as the crew (since zero point crew can not be assigned to ship with different nationality), did I get it right ?

    The enemy Ransom crew is considered “captured” when you make that transfer, which effectively turns it into generic cargo with no abilities and no point cost, so nationalities and point restrictions don’t apply on the ship that takes it.   Its other abilities shut down too, so if you have something else in your own fleet with Limit it won’t prevent you from capturing that Ransom crew.

    #13090
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    I have a question about a custom UT (not my own)

    This ship cannot be affected by unique treasures unless you permit it. This treasure cannot be unloaded.

    The way that the above is worded, would it be prevent UT’s from affecting the ship ONLY when it explores a wild island, or would it prevent a UT from affecting the ship period?

    For example, if someone tried to use the Explosives UT against a ship that had this UT on it. Would the Explosives work?

    #13092
    Woelf
    Moderator

    I have a question about a custom UT (not my own)

    This ship cannot be affected by unique treasures unless you permit it. This treasure cannot be unloaded.

    The way that the above is worded, would it be prevent UT’s from affecting the ship ONLY when it explores a wild island, or would it prevent a UT from affecting the ship period?

    For example, if someone tried to use the Explosives UT against a ship that had this UT on it. Would the Explosives work?

    The wording is a little too vague, but as written, it would block other UTs during explore actions, AND would prevent other players from using them against your ship.   Explosives wouldn’t be able to activate against your ship at all (and would remain on the opponent’s ship to be used in the future).

    If it’s meant to apply only when exploring, or only when activated by another player, it should specifically say so.

    #13093
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    would prevent other players from using them against your ship.

    Even UT’s that don’t affect the ship directly? Like Altar of the Loa, etc.?

    #13094
    Woelf
    Moderator

    would prevent other players from using them against your ship.

    Even UT’s that don’t affect the ship directly? Like Altar of the Loa, etc.?

    That’s part of the issue with it being too vague, but it would have to follow rules similar to what’s already established for cancelers.  Indirect effects can’t be prevented, like if some other UT gives an opposing ship an action which is then used to attack the “protected” ship.

    Something with a global effect like Altar of the Loa would still work against all other ships in the fleet, but the ship with this particular UT would ignore it, and could be given actions (by its owner) normally.

    #13118
    Xuansho
    Participant

    I have three questions:

    – when you build a fort on a wild island you must have a ships with the same nationality in your fleet ? (It would make sense but I didn’t find it explicitly stated in the game rules nor the Code)

    – For 3-masts or 4-masts schooner what is the firing arc ? I assume it is 180°, on one of either side, for masts which overlap

    – The shoot action mentionned in the Ut neptune’s trident can be a free shoot action given by a captain ?

    #13119
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    #1 Correct, in order to build say, a French Fort, you need to have at least one French ship in your fleet.

    #2 I’m not entirely sure. They changed how 3-mast schooners are configured in later sets so that their masts don’t overlap.

    #3 I think so. I’ve played it that way in the past, but I could be wrong.

    #13120
    jetmoto-1996
    Participant

    I recently added the MI SR’s to my collection…  The ability of Shaihulud & Cadara is only shoot actions according to the Pirate Code, but I dont understand that because isnt a Ram considered an attack?

    #13122
    Woelf
    Moderator

    @Xuansho

    I have three questions:

    – when you build a fort on a wild island you must have a ships with the same nationality in your fleet ? (It would make sense but I didn’t find it explicitly stated in the game rules nor the Code)

    You must have at least one ship of the matching nationality in your fleet when you build it.   The ship that actually builds it does not need to match.   (The full rules are on Page 58 of the PC)

    – For 3-masts or 4-masts schooner what is the firing arc ? I assume it is 180°, on one of either side, for masts which overlap

    Schooner arcs are weird, and there are significant limits to where they can fire to the sides.  You have go by the physical constraints of the ship, and treat them as if they exist only as 2D images viewed from directly overhead, so any gaps above or below parts of the masts are ignored.   That essentially means you can only fire about half of the cannons directly to either side, but you can still fire most, if not all, at a target directly in front of or behind the ship by simply aiming each cannon just slightly to one side or the other.

    As Xeres mentioned, the physical designs were changed in later sets, so those schooners will have different firing arcs from the originals, and function much closer to standard ships.

    – The shoot action mentionned in the Ut neptune’s trident can be a free shoot action given by a captain ?

    The shoot action provided by a captain counts as a full shoot action for the vast majority of abilities, including Neptune’s Trident.

    (The “reverse captain” ability is one of few exceptions that cannot be applied to a captain’s shoot, and vice-versa.)

    #13123
    Woelf
    Moderator

    @jetmoto-1996

    I recently added the MI SR’s to my collection…  The ability of Shaihulud & Cadara is only shoot actions according to the Pirate Code, but I dont understand that because isnt a Ram considered an attack?

    I don’t recall the exact details of what prompted it (likely something came up that broke the game), but it was clarified/ruled sometime after the set came out that the Shaihulud/Cadara ability only applies to shoot actions, and does not allow ramming.

     

    Many, many of the entries in the Pirate Code are there to address things that would otherwise break parts of the game.

    #13128
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Where in the Code is the home island raiding ability covered?

    “This ship may dock at an enemy home island and load one treasure. If able, she must leave on your next turn.”

    I’ve looked in the code and can’t find a specific entry for this ability or the few variants of it. Am I just not seeing it?

    #13159
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Where in the Code is the home island raiding ability covered?

    “This ship may dock at an enemy home island and load one treasure. If able, she must leave on your next turn.”

    I’ve looked in the code and can’t find a specific entry for this ability or the few variants of it. Am I just not seeing it?

    I can’t find it either.  I thought something had been in there, and it might have fallen out somewhere in a previous edit, but it’s not showing up in any of the last several versions.   I’ll flag it for a potential (but unlikely) future update.

    What specific questions did you have about it?

    #13160
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    There was some discussion about it on the Discord server. Does the treasure have to be random? How is it handled in a multi-player game? Do the Who Picks rules apply to the ability? As in, does the person being raided choose which treasure the raider takes?

    #13161
    Woelf
    Moderator

    I don’t think any version of the ability specifically lets you look through and choose what to take, so the “Who Picks?” rule applies and the person being raided gets to decide what you take.

    To get the good stuff you’ll need to use it multiple times, and/or catch the opponent early enough that they’ve only brought back high value treasures and haven’t started collecting the scraps yet.

    #13176
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Silly question, but a Sea Monster that has cargo space can have treasure transferred to it, correct?

    #13178
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Silly question, but a Sea Monster that has cargo space can have treasure transferred to it, correct?

    Kinda.  The sea creature rules forbid loading treasure, which blocks transfers from other ships (even when the other ship is doing the “exploring”).   The Sea Monster keyword doesn’t override that, but does allow the SM to take non-unique treasures after boarding, if it has cargo space.

    In a quirk of the wordings (or more of an oversight), there are no such restrictions on Equipment, so go nuts!

     

    #13180
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Interesting, would creating a house-rule that allowed for Sea Monsters (or creatures for that matter) to have treasure transferred to them be game-breaking or inherently unfair in any way that you can imagine?

     

    #13201
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Interesting, would creating a house-rule that allowed for Sea Monsters (or creatures for that matter) to have treasure transferred to them be game-breaking or inherently unfair in any way that you can imagine?

    Try it, to see how it works!   I think the biggest issue is the fact that once treasure gets put on a sea creature/monster it’s nearly impossible for other players to get it back, because they can’t be boarded or made derelict.   The only reliable options are to use specific treasure-stealing abilities, or to apply the (bad) general rule for sunken ships where treasure gets split between the attacker and the defender.

    #13220
    Derrick Derksen
    Participant

    This may be the wrong place to ask, but is there a thread for custom game rules?

    #13224
    Woelf
    Moderator

    @captainvalen

    This may be the wrong place to ask, but is there a thread for custom game rules?

    The Custom Ships thread is probably the best place for custom rules, unless you have a whole bunch of custom rules in a set, then there’s no major harm in creating a new thread just for those.

    #13229
    Ben
    Keymaster

    This may be the wrong place to ask, but is there a thread for custom game rules?

    Game Ideas is the place!

    #13257
    Derrick Derksen
    Participant

    If you have an explorer and a captain on a ship, you get both abilities during the move correct?  You also order the resolution of those abilities?

    #13258
    Woelf
    Moderator

    If you have an explorer and a captain on a ship, you get both abilities during the move correct?  You also order the resolution of those abilities?

    You can apply those two abilities in any order, but whichever you use first must be fully resolved before starting the other.

    (It’s generally better to do the Captain first, just in case the Explorer finds a negative UT that kills off crew or harms your ship in some other way.)

    #13259
    Derrick Derksen
    Participant

    Awesome, thanks.

    #13307
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Can Windcatcher be copied to a 10 master to allow it the 180 rotation?

    The Code says: “-If part of a keyword refers to a specific ship type, such as catamaran or submarine, that part can be used only by ships of that ship type. Copying a keyword does not change a ship’s type.”  Windcatcher starts with “when a ship with this keyword”….

    #13308
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Can Windcatcher be copied to a 10 master to allow it the 180 rotation?

    The Code says: “-If part of a keyword refers to a specific ship type, such as catamaran or submarine, that part can be used only by ships of that ship type. Copying a keyword does not change a ship’s type.”  Windcatcher starts with “when a ship with this keyword”….

    Yes, you can copy (and use) the Windcatcher keyword with any ship.  Copying the keyword gives your ship the keyword, which is all that this particular ability needs to work.  The actual ship type doesn’t matter because it doesn’t refer specifically to a “windcatcher” in any way.

    #13345
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    I think this has been asked/discussed before but…..

    What happens when you put the Power Cannons UT on a ship like El Neptuno? The code seemed to indicate that the Neptuno could shoot at targets 4L away, since the cannons would have a range of L+L that was then doubled to 4L.

    An additional layer, what happens when you get Extended Range on that same ship? If for example you managed to get Davy Jones onto El Neptuno along with the Power Cannons, and Jones copied Extended Range from somewhere else. Would the feasible max range be 8L?

    #13353
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    The Rats UT says it cannot be unloaded from a ship. Does this mean that it cannot be transferred to another ship?

    #13354
    Woelf
    Moderator

    I think this has been asked/discussed before but…..

    What happens when you put the Power Cannons UT on a ship like El Neptuno? The code seemed to indicate that the Neptuno could shoot at targets 4L away, since the cannons would have a range of L+L that was then doubled to 4L.

    An additional layer, what happens when you get Extended Range on that same ship? If for example you managed to get Davy Jones onto El Neptuno along with the Power Cannons, and Jones copied Extended Range from somewhere else. Would the feasible max range be 8L?

    Just for reference:

    El Neptuno: You may double the range of this ship’s cannons each turn, but you must roll a 6 to hit.

    Power Cannons: The range of each of this ship’s cannons becomes 2 L. Remove Power Cannons from the game when this ship succeeds at a shoot action.

    Extended Range: This ship’s printed cannon ranges are doubled.

    Power Cannons changes the ship’s printed cannons to 2L.

    Extended Range doubles the printed ranges, which applied with Power Cannons will make the ranges 4L.

    El Neptuno’s own ability will double things again (but you have to roll sixes).   Combined with just PC or ER, that’s 4L.   With all three together, you get 8L.

    It’s probably not even remotely worth the effort/cost required to do it, but it is possible.

Viewing 30 posts - 301 through 330 (of 368 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.