Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

  • This topic has 729 replies, 37 voices, and was last updated 1 week ago by Woelf.
Viewing 30 posts - 601 through 630 (of 730 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #16585
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Just confirming: Titans cannot be S-boarded?

    #16601
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Just confirming: Titans cannot be S-boarded?

    The Titan keyword doesn’t specifically prevent being boarded, so you CAN use that ability against one.

     

    ADDED (from the PC):

    “As part of a move action, this ship may initiate a boarding party against a ship up to S away from her, without having to ram. The boarded ship may not use any boarding bonuses.”

    -This ability may be used to board a sea creature, unless some other ability (such as the sea creature’s keyword) specifically prevents it from being boarded.

    #16602
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Ah interesting, I missed that part from the Code.  A little surprising to me – I saw there was nothing in Titan that prevents it, but the sea creature rules do, so I defaulted to no.  Makes S-Board a weence more appealing.  XD

    #16616
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Ah interesting, I missed that part from the Code.  A little surprising to me – I saw there was nothing in Titan that prevents it, but the sea creature rules do, so I defaulted to no.  Makes S-Board a weence more appealing.  XD

    You can’t do it with a standard ram/boarding because of the sea creature rules, but the S-Board gives you that nice ability vs. rule override, so it still works.

    #16618
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    If a ship existed that tracked its cannons and number of masts separately from one another, would that ship be compatible with the existing rules, or would it be better in a differently structured game?

    #16619
    Woelf
    Moderator

    If a ship existed that tracked its cannons and number of masts separately from one another, would that ship be compatible with the existing rules, or would it be better in a differently structured game?

    It could work, but depending on how the ship model was designed and how the distinction between them was set up, the ability/keyword text explaining it could get pretty complicated.

    Bombardiers, Flotillas, Marines, and the “shoot from eliminated masts” ability already do things that are vaguely similar.

    #16620
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    It could work, but depending on how the ship model was designed and how the distinction between them was set up, the ability/keyword text explaining it could get pretty complicated.

    I was thinking that some masts would have a cannon printed on them, while others did not. For example, a ship that has 3 total masts, but only has cannons assigned to 2 of those 3. I might expand upon this further in Custom Ships.

    #16621
    Woelf
    Moderator

    It could work, but depending on how the ship model was designed and how the distinction between them was set up, the ability/keyword text explaining it could get pretty complicated.

    I was thinking that some masts would have a cannon printed on them, while others did not. For example, a ship that has 3 total masts, but only has cannons assigned to 2 of those 3. I might expand upon this further in Custom Ships.

    Having a mast with no die shown at all is functionally almost the same thing as the handful of BC galleys with 6-rank masts; extra hit points without adding extra firepower (or cost).    I think your idea would work fine, as long as it’s explained somewhere that it’s not an error or misprint.

    If the ship type comes with its own keyword for other purposes, that would be the best place to add a note about the rank-less masts, similar to how Sea Monsters/Dragons/etc. originally had extra text explaining that their segments worked just like masts.

    #16657
    Jeremiah
    Participant

    Hey everyone,

    Do we have copies of the tournament rules and game types Wizkids used to host their tournaments?

    If we wanted to host a pirates csg tournament would we be able to replicate how Wizkida refereed the games?

    #16659
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Hey everyone,

    Do we have copies of the tournament rules and game types Wizkids used to host their tournaments?

    If we wanted to host a pirates csg tournament would we be able to replicate how Wizkida refereed the games?

    I dug up an old copy of the “Comprehensive Tournament Rules” from 2008, but don’t have a good place to post them, so I’ll email a copy to Ben to add to the site here, in case he doesn’t already them somewhere.

    Much of what’s in it had already been incorporated into the Pirate Code, or deals with logistical stuff like table sizes, time limits, and what players are allowed to do between games, but they’re mostly just rough guidelines, and the “Privateer” (person running the event) is given discretion to change pretty much any part of it they want.

    #16660
    Jeremiah
    Participant

    Fantastic, Thanks Woelf, all of that information is interesting to me! I am curious about how tournaments were managed and hosted to see how wizkids standardized gameplay.

    #16662
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Hey Jeremiah!  Here is what Woelf shared with me.  I’ll add it to some posts/pages of the site when I have more time.

    #16667
    Ben
    Keymaster

    -Can you roll successfully for Born Leader and then give a different ship an action before returning to the ship that got SAT?  By extension, can you just roll for all the SAT/EA/etc abilities in your fleet at the beginning of your turn and then use that knowledge to help plan your fleet and action logistics?
    -If a ship with both Neptune’s Figurehead and Plague is sunk, the order of operations has Plague removed from play before the ship returns to the home island? (just making sure the Plague wouldn’t prevent the Figurehead from working since you can’t dock)
    -The crew that a ship links to is open information, correct? (I assume you can just ask an opponent to see the bottom of a deckplate, rather than it being hidden information like face down crew)
    -Can you choose the order in which ship-specific “before giving this ship an action” effects happen? (ex: Born Leader vs. fire mast rolls)
    -Do you have to roll for effect on new fire masts during the same pre-action time period in which they are gained? (I would assume not until the next pre-action “phase” for the ship, or else… yikes)

    #16672
    Woelf
    Moderator

    -Can you roll successfully for Born Leader and then give a different ship an action before returning to the ship that got SAT?  By extension, can you just roll for all the SAT/EA/etc abilities in your fleet at the beginning of your turn and then use that knowledge to help plan your fleet and action logistics?

    You can roll for them early if you want to, but if the source gets tagged by a canceller or the crew with the ability gets eliminated before using the bonus action they generated, you lose it.

    -If a ship with both Neptune’s Figurehead and Plague is sunk, the order of operations has Plague removed from play before the ship returns to the home island? (just making sure the Plague wouldn’t prevent the Figurehead from working since you can’t dock)

    Both UTs are essentially still getting removed at the same time, so Plague will not prevent the Figurehead from sending your ship home.

    -The crew that a ship links to is open information, correct? (I assume you can just ask an opponent to see the bottom of a deckplate, rather than it being hidden information like face down crew)

    Everything printed on a ship’s deckplate card (both sides) is considered open information.

    If it’s a ship that links to multiple different crew, you do have to indicate if one of those links is being used, but you don’t have to specify which one it is until that crew gets revealed during normal gameplay.

    Once a crewmember’s token has been revealed, information on their card is considered open information too.

    In general, once the name of a ship/crew/etc. on the table is known, it’s assumed that other players would be able to look at a copy in their own collection and/or online to see any and all details of it, but in the interests of saving game time, it’s quicker to just read or show them whatever relevant info they don’t already have memorized.

    -Can you choose the order in which ship-specific “before giving this ship an action” effects happen? (ex: Born Leader vs. fire mast rolls)

    You can roll for Born Leader (or similar) any time prior to giving the action, but that roll isn’t technically part of the action, so that won’t trigger fire mast rolls on its own.

    Fire Masts get rolled “before” only when you actually give an action to the ship.  If you decide not to give the ship any actions, regardless of how many you might have generated for it, you don’t have to roll for fire.

    Timing-wise, you could sneak a BL roll in just between the last fire mast roll and giving the ship the action, but there’s going to be little functional difference between doing it then compared to rolling beforehand.   You’ll have a slightly better idea of how much of your ship will be left, but that won’t influence the actual BL die roll at all, and by that point you’re already locked into performing that first action.

    -Do you have to roll for effect on new fire masts during the same pre-action time period in which they are gained? (I would assume not until the next pre-action “phase” for the ship, or else… yikes)

    Yes, you do have to immediately roll for any new fire masts that get added.   That’s actually a big part of why the die results were changed after a few sets from the original 1-3/6 to the less brutal 1-2/5-6.  Originally, even a single fire mast on a ship was a death sentence unless it was within a move or two of home, or you got incredibly lucky with rolls.

    #16733
    Ben
    Keymaster

    I know this has come up before but can’t find anything on it in the Code or forum search.

    Can Born Leader/SAT be used to double up on the L-mover ability and use it twice in the same turn by the same ship? “Give this ship a move action but do not move her. Instead, roll a d6. On a result of 5 or 6, move an enemy ship L in any direction.”

    Thanks!

    #16734
    Woelf
    Moderator

    I know this has come up before but can’t find anything on it in the Code or forum search.

    Can Born Leader/SAT be used to double up on the L-mover ability and use it twice in the same turn by the same ship? “Give this ship a move action but do not move her. Instead, roll a d6. On a result of 5 or 6, move an enemy ship L in any direction.”

    The mover ability only requires a move action and isn’t limited to once per turn, so with good rolls you could double it up.

    #16737
    Ben
    Keymaster

    I understand that Jailhouse Dog can only be used once per round of player turns when the same ship also has Nemo’s Plans aboard.  How does the timing of trying to reuse it work in a multiplayer game?  For example, let’s say it’s a 4 player game and the JD controller is player 2. If they use it on player 3’s turn to essentially “cancel” a UT, can they use it on their next player 2 turn during the next round, or must they wait until at least the next player 3 turn?

    #16738
    Woelf
    Moderator

    I understand that Jailhouse Dog can only be used once per round of player turns when the same ship also has Nemo’s Plans aboard.  How does the timing of trying to reuse it work in a multiplayer game?  For example, let’s say it’s a 4 player game and the JD controller is player 2. If they use it on player 3’s turn to essentially “cancel” a UT, can they use it on their next player 2 turn during the next round, or must they wait until at least the next player 3 turn?

    Hmm…      I can’t recall ever actually addressing this situation directly before, which is honestly surprising.

    Based on wordings and to avoid turning it into a selective Kharmic Idol, the “once during each of your own turns” restriction has to apply.

    However, since Jailhouse Dog is one of the few things in the game allowed to be used out-of-turn without being directly prompted by something else, you can expand that to “once per round”, so you can use it (once) during anyone’s turn, instead of only during your own specifically.

    ——————————

    ADDED:

    The revised (but unreleased) wording for the PC entry on Nemo’s Plans that I already had written down in my notes actually covers it pretty well, without referring to Jailhouse Dog specifically:

    Nemo’s Plans

    -If a UT applies to, modifies, or is triggered by some other specific action it may be used once, each time that action occurs.

    -If a UT applies immediately upon being found and/or provides an action directly to a ship, it may be used once during each of your own turns.

    -If a UT is loaded facedown and can be revealed voluntarily later, including as a response to an opponent’s actions or effects (such as a die roll), it may be used once per round.

    #16750
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Is the Doctor ability always mandatory to use?  I know it doesn’t work with Sac but curious if it’s ever optional (mostly thinking about whirlpools where you’d actually prefer to lose an oarsman rather than a mast).

    “When another face-up crew on this ship is would be eliminated turn it face down instead.”

    #16752
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Is the Doctor ability always mandatory to use?  I know it doesn’t work with Sac but curious if it’s ever optional (mostly thinking about whirlpools where you’d actually prefer to lose an oarsman rather than a mast).

    “When another face-up crew on this ship is would be eliminated turn it face down instead.”

    The doctor ability is always optional to use.

    Saving another crew from a whirlpool is a good use for it; the elimination effect applies after moving, so bringing the crew back immediately after it’s supposed to be eliminated won’t prevent you from using the whirlpool.

    (If you had one or more crew that “cannot be eliminated”, they wouldn’t be eligible for the whirlpool so you’d have to choose something else.)

    #16772
    Ben
    Keymaster

    How does the timing of the automatic scuttle via fire masts work? “When a ship has only fire masts, she must be scuttled on her next turn.”

    Ex: Player 1 makes a Player 2 ship have only fire masts on Player 1’s turn.  For that ship, is “her next turn” the next Player 2 turn (the same round she was set alight), or the Player 2 turn after that one?  It seems that it would depend on when “has only fire masts” is applied – on the controlling player’s turn or the overall player turn when the condition occurred that she only has fire masts left.

    #16778
    Woelf
    Moderator

    How does the timing of the automatic scuttle via fire masts work? “When a ship has only fire masts, she must be scuttled on her next turn.”

    Ex: Player 1 makes a Player 2 ship have only fire masts on Player 1’s turn.  For that ship, is “her next turn” the next Player 2 turn (the same round she was set alight), or the Player 2 turn after that one?  It seems that it would depend on when “has only fire masts” is applied – on the controlling player’s turn or the overall player turn when the condition occurred that she only has fire masts left.

    It’s determined by the ship’s current controller, so you make the check when that player starts their turn, regardless of when the ship was actually lit on or fire or when it lost its last non-fire mast.

    Keep in mind that the scuttle doesn’t have to happen at the start of that turn, just sometime during the turn.  You can still save the ship if you put the fires out and/or repair at least one standard mast during that turn.

    #16782
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Do you know if there are any free actions that can be used/taken during an opponent’s turn?

    I assume not based on this line from the Code (which is mostly for full actions), but just wanted to make sure.

    You can give actions only during your own turn and only to members of your own fleet, unless an ability specifically allows otherwise.

    #16784
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Do you know if there are any free actions that can be used/taken during an opponent’s turn?

    I assume not based on this line from the Code (which is mostly for full actions), but just wanted to make sure.

    You can give actions only during your own turn and only to members of your own fleet, unless an ability specifically allows otherwise.

    I can’t think of any free actions that can be given off-turn, but that line would cover things if it ever came up in a custom ability.   That entry is mainly there to cover team games where there would be friendly ships you don’t control, and the handful of specific abilities that do allow you to give actions to ships that aren’t yours, like Altar of the Loa.

    #16806
    Josh
    Participant

    Regarding the “crew of any nationality may use their abilities on this ship” ability, does that apply across each PCSG faction or just the nation factions. Considering when some of the pieces with this ability were made I’d figure it’d apply to everything, even though factions like the Cursed aren’t technically a “nation” like say Spain or France (though they do function like a nation).

    #16811
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Regarding the “crew of any nationality may use their abilities on this ship” ability, does that apply across each PCSG faction or just the nation factions. Considering when some of the pieces with this ability were made I’d figure it’d apply to everything, even though factions like the Cursed aren’t technically a “nation” like say Spain or France (though they do function like a nation).

    It applies to all the factions.  All the factions in this game are nationalities for the purposes of the rules.

    #16873
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Question about the Celestine and Trade Currents. The Code states that Trade Currents

    …..has no placement restrictions aside from those imposed by the ability used for placement.

    The only “restriction” I see in abilities that place them are in the Navigator crew.

    ….On a result of 3-6, place a trade current within S of any friendly ship.

    Since the Celestine’s ability doesn’t specify where a Trade Current can be placed, can the Celestine place them anywhere, aside from in contact with another ship, island or terrain?

    #16874
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Since the Celestine’s ability doesn’t specify where a Trade Current can be placed, can the Celestine place them anywhere, aside from in contact with another ship, island or terrain?

    That is correct.   None of the spacing rules for other terrain apply, so as long as it’s not touching something else, you can put that Trade Current anywhere you want on the entire table.

    #16890
    Josh
    Participant

    This may be a dumb question but stacked oarsman start to occupy cargo spaces after the first oarsman even if their designation is “this crew takes up no cargo space” right?

    #16891
    Ben
    Keymaster

    This may be a dumb question but stacked oarsman start to occupy cargo spaces after the first oarsman even if their designation is “this crew takes up no cargo space” right?

    Correct, due to the No-Stacking rule.

Viewing 30 posts - 601 through 630 (of 730 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.