Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Viewing 13 posts - 151 through 163 (of 163 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #10888
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    @Woelf & @Ben,

    I was looking at the no-duplicates list and saw that Crimson Angel was missing. Her spelling doesn’t change from CC up to Rise of the Fiends, and she’s got 4 different versions. I assume she would fall into the same name, same person category. Just a heads up.

    #10889
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Question about specialist crew (fire, stink, etc.). When you decide to use one during a shoot action, would they be able to use any cannon bonuses a ship has to offer? For example, a firepot specialist on the same ship as Bruce Grey. Would the specialist be able to use the +1 to cannon rolls that Grey provides to augment their shot?

    I’ve always treated the specialist crew as functioning similar to musketeers, in that you can’t apply cannon bonuses to their shots, or increase their range.

    #10890
    Woelf
    Moderator

    All versions of Crimson Angel would fall under the “Same Name, Same Spelling, Same Person” category. That section of the list is far from complete, but it’s mostly a non-issue because there aren’t any exceptions to that rule, aside from the ones in the lists immediately below.

    If you or someone else wanted to put together the rest of the list using a format similar to the names already listed, I’d be happy to add it to that post in the beginning of this thread.

    Question about specialist crew (fire, stink, etc.). When you decide to use one during a shoot action, would they be able to use any cannon bonuses a ship has to offer? For example, a firepot specialist on the same ship as Bruce Grey. Would the specialist be able to use the +1 to cannon rolls that Grey provides to augment their shot?

    I’ve always treated the specialist crew as functioning similar to musketeers, in that you can’t apply cannon bonuses to their shots, or increase their range.

    Unless there’s something in the wording of the Specialist or the cannon bonus that forbids or prevents the specific combination from working, they can be used together.

    Sometimes the combos don’t work for reasons that are indirect, or more subtle, like if you tried to combine a FPS with the “eliminates two masts with one hit” ability. That combo doesn’t work because the FPS replaces masts instead of eliminating them, so you’d have to choose one ability or the other.

    #10903
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Apologies if I’ve already asked this before.  Embarrassed to admit I’ve never fully understood how it works.

    Sargasso sea timing:

    If the Sargasso Sea’s rating is more than the number of masts or segments, the game piece is tangled in the weeds and might not be able to move.

    If a game piece is tangled, you can use its action for the turn to try to free it. Roll a d6 and add the current number of masts or segments on the tangled game piece to the result. If the result is more than 6, the game piece is untangled. Orient it in any direction, facing away from the Sargasso Sea and touching any edge of the Sargasso Sea. It can be given a move action to move normally next turn.

    Can the “action for the turn” be the same action that the ship used to get tangled in the first place?  For example, can a ship get stuck and then free itself in the same turn?

    #10912
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Apologies if I’ve already asked this before. Embarrassed to admit I’ve never fully understood how it works.

    Sargasso sea timing:

    If the Sargasso Sea’s rating is more than the number of masts or segments, the game piece is tangled in the weeds and might not be able to move.

    If a game piece is tangled, you can use its action for the turn to try to free it. Roll a d6 and add the current number of masts or segments on the tangled game piece to the result. If the result is more than 6, the game piece is untangled. Orient it in any direction, facing away from the Sargasso Sea and touching any edge of the Sargasso Sea. It can be given a move action to move normally next turn.

    Can the “action for the turn” be the same action that the ship used to get tangled in the first place? For example, can a ship get stuck and then free itself in the same turn?

    The attempt requires a full action, similar to the handful of abilities and other effects that use a ship’s “action for the turn”, so you can’t make the attempt at the end of the action that got you stuck.

    If you had an extra/second action available you could use that to attempt to get unstuck on the same turn you were tangled, or you could use your normal first action to make the attempt and then use the extra/second action to do whatever you want with it.

    #10924
    Ben
    Keymaster

    @Woelf: Glad I’ve been playing it right all this time then! 🙂

    If an Eternal ship’s oarsman is cancelled, I assume you can roll to scuttle the ship that turn? If rolled successfully, would the ship be placed at the HI via Eternal even on the turn after when the oarsman became “active” again?

    I assume Necklace of the Sky is placed face down when unloaded at a wild island? (rather than face up)

    Do you have to unload Knights of Malta Banner when docking at your own home island whether it is worth any gold or not? (I think I already asked this after that epic 4×100 game from 2015, but I forget the answer and MT is gone)

    If you’re exploring an enemy derelict, can you just take crew off the ship and put them on your own?

    I’m thinking about using your Streamlined Hull equipment in CG4, but we have a house rule there that does away with ram damage.  Do you think that upping the cost to 5 would be an acceptable “replacement drawback”? (if that seems too high, it’s partially because I’m trying to account for the sheer spending power that is generally involved in campaign games – even 5 might not be enough in the long run)  Now that I’m seeing it for the first (or second) time, my Copper Sheathing equipment idea is very similar to it.

    (not my picture of course, just used from Riz for reference here)

    Streamlined Hull - equipment by Woelf

    #10971
    Woelf
    Moderator

    If an Eternal ship’s oarsman is cancelled, I assume you can roll to scuttle the ship that turn? If rolled successfully, would the ship be placed at the HI via Eternal even on the turn after when the oarsman became “active” again?

    The Oarsman only needs to be cancelled while you make the attempt, so the ship counts as “derelict”. Once the scuttle has been triggered successfully, the Oarsman’s ability won’t prevent the ship from going down on your next turn.

    I assume Necklace of the Sky is placed face down when unloaded at a wild island? (rather than face up)

    It remains face up when placed on the island, but then flips face down when loaded by an opposing ship.

    Do you have to unload Knights of Malta Banner when docking at your own home island whether it is worth any gold or not? (I think I already asked this after that epic 4×100 game from 2015, but I forget the answer and MT is gone)

    Yes, it must be unloaded whether it produces a value or not. (Don’t dock that ship unless you’re done with the Banner.)

    If you’re exploring an enemy derelict, can you just take crew off the ship and put them on your own?

    You can grab whatever cargo you can carry. (You can also dump unwanted stuff from your own ship onto the derelict, as long as it can be legally unloaded.)

    I’m thinking about using your Streamlined Hull equipment in CG4, but we have a house rule there that does away with ram damage. Do you think that upping the cost to 5 would be an acceptable “replacement drawback”? (if that seems too high, it’s partially because I’m trying to account for the sheer spending power that is generally involved in campaign games – even 5 might not be enough in the long run) Now that I’m seeing it for the first (or second) time, my Copper Sheathing equipment idea is very similar to it.

    It only helps your slowest ships, and they gain slightly less than what a helmsman would provide, so I wouldn’t go higher than 3.

    I think that ramming part was more thematic than a true balancing effect anyway, but without that it still does have the benefit of taking up no space and being stackable with an actual Helmsman, so keeping it at 2 would be a little low.

    #10995
    Ben
    Keymaster

    With Runes of Thor/Loki on a ship with Nemo’s Plans, can those be used on each player’s/faction’s turn, or only once per round?

    #11000
    Woelf
    Moderator

    With Runes of Thor/Loki on a ship with Nemo’s Plans, can those be used on each player’s/faction’s turn, or only once per round?

    Things that aren’t tied to a specific action can be used once during each of your own turns.

    Because Thor/Loki can be used out of turn, that extends to once for each of your own turns, so effectively it’s once per round.

    #11021
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Regarding Ransom; this from the Code:

    -Friendly abilities (cancellers, doctors, etc.) cannot affect a crew with this keyword.

    What part of the original keyword would indicate that?  I realize it’s a big headache if you cancel Ransom after you’ve captured the Ransom crew, but I don’t see how you would know you couldn’t without specifically looking in the Code.

    #11024
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Regarding Ransom; this from the Code:

    -Friendly abilities (cancellers, doctors, etc.) cannot affect a crew with this keyword.

    What part of the original keyword would indicate that?  I realize it’s a big headache if you cancel Ransom after you’ve captured the Ransom crew, but I don’t see how you would know you couldn’t without specifically looking in the Code.

    It never has been specified in the keyword anywhere, because it’s one of the countless rulings made after the fact to handle weird edge cases that the average player will rarely, if ever, encounter.

    If you don’t know about that part of the Code (or intentionally ignore it), it’ll still be playable, but it becomes super easy to break Ransom. You could get the +5 points, then on your very first turn cancel and sac the crew to remove any risk of it falling into enemy hands.

    #11025
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    When a ship explores an island, it leaves behind a marker to show that it is explored. Once explored a ship can dock and then load treasure/cargo as a free action.

    Suppose two friendly ships are docked at the same island. One of them explores it, but does not load any treasure, just leaving an explore marker. Now that the island is explored, the other ship loads the treasure/cargo from the island as a free action, and uses her main action to begin moving back to the home island. Is this correct, or does the second ship also need to explore/ use a general action to load the treasure/cargo?

     

    Also, suppose there are ships docked at their home island. Ship A has a UT that the controller feels would be better off on Ship B. The UT is transferable, and the controller moves it to the desired ship, and also sends a crew from Ship A to Ship C. Can any of these ships involved now be given actions? The code seems to indicate that Ship A at least cannot, since she was given an explore action to move the cargo around.

    “The Code” under Exploring

    Transferring cargo directly between two friendly ships always requires an explore action, unless an ability specifically allows otherwise. Only one of the ships must be given the explore action to allow a two way transfer.

     

    Additionally, how would this:

    “The Code” under Exploring

    If treasure is transferred to a ship that is already docked at its home island, it does not automatically unload.  That ship must move away from the island and re-dock or it must be given an explore action targeting the home island, at which point all treasure worth gold is immediately unloaded.

    Relate to the ability of 058 Captain Jack Sparrow? Would the ship he sends a treasure to be able simply explore the home island to unload the treasure he sent to it?

    #11027
    Woelf
    Moderator

    When a ship explores an island, it leaves behind a marker to show that it is explored. Once explored a ship can dock and then load treasure/cargo as a free action.

    Suppose two friendly ships are docked at the same island. One of them explores it, but does not load any treasure, just leaving an explore marker. Now that the island is explored, the other ship loads the treasure/cargo from the island as a free action, and uses her main action to begin moving back to the home island. Is this correct, or does the second ship also need to explore/ use a general action to load the treasure/cargo?

    The marker only gives you a free explore if it’s already on the island when you dock. If your ship was already there when it got placed, you gain no benefit (unless you leave and come back later).

    Also, suppose there are ships docked at their home island. Ship A has a UT that the controller feels would be better off on Ship B. The UT is transferable, and the controller moves it to the desired ship, and also sends a crew from Ship A to Ship C. Can any of these ships involved now be given actions? The code seems to indicate that Ship A at least cannot, since she was given an explore action to move the cargo around.

    Crew may be transferred freely on or off ships while docked at any island (home or otherwise), but that doesn’t extend to other cargo.

    Transferring a UT or other cargo from one ship to another requires them to be in direct contact with each other, and then one of them has to be given an explore action. (The other can still do some other action, if it hasn’t already.)

    When two ships are docked at a non-home island, to get non-crew cargo from one to the other requires both to use Explore actions. The first unloads it to the island, the second loads it from the island. You can’t pass cargo across the island from one ship to another with a single action.

    … the ability of 058 Captain Jack Sparrow? Would the ship he sends a treasure to be able simply explore the home island to unload the treasure he sent to it?

    The ship that received the treasure would have to be given its own explore action targeting your home island to unload, or it has to undock and then return later to unload automatically.

Viewing 13 posts - 151 through 163 (of 163 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.