Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Viewing 30 posts - 181 through 210 (of 251 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #11195
    Ben
    Keymaster

    is this crew not op then, cause it f*cks up every over Point builded ships also mixed nation ships?

    It’s overpowered indeed.  Which is part of why I went after him in VASSAL Campaign Game 1.

    #11197
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    It’s overpowered indeed.  Which is part of why I went after him in VASSAL Campaign Game 1.

    Which crew? I didn’t see mention of them in the original post.

    #11198
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Which crew? I didn’t see mention of them in the original post.

    Cursed Captain Jack; I moved the last few posts here because I didn’t want the Introductions thread to further develop into a rules-only discussion.

    #11199
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Oooh. Yeah he’s powerful. I’ve finally gotten my hands on the SR pack from DPotC, so he could show up at some point in the summer game, if the pirates ever feel like he’s necessary.

    #11206
    Lukas
    Participant

    Sadly some Gamepieces are too good or at least can counter some strategies so hard that the fun is gone , cause some games are basiclly over after 2 turns…

    If there is a need for op stuff give it to the weak nations

    or invent a new one 😉 how about the german? xD

     

    #11228
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Regarding the Arcane custom ship from JW Darkhurst’s Seas of Doom set:

    Once per turn, you may give this ship a move action, but do not move her. Instead, roll a d6. On a result of 6, you may place a Unique Treasure on any ship in your fleet.

    Is there any way to get around that once per turn part?  From this post last month it sounds like the Arcane could get an SAT to move twice, but the once per turn part would limit the ability to being used only once per turn, while the second move action could actually be used to move the ship normally.

    Just to make sure, I assume if a ship has multiple Runes of Thor UT’s and Nemo’s Plans, it can only use one per turn due to the No-Stacking rule?

    #11248
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Regarding the Arcane custom ship from JW Darkhurst’s Seas of Doom set:

    Once per turn, you may give this ship a move action, but do not move her. Instead, roll a d6. On a result of 6, you may place a Unique Treasure on any ship in your fleet.

    Is there any way to get around that once per turn part? From this post last month it sounds like the Arcane could get an SAT to move twice, but the once per turn part would limit the ability to being used only once per turn, while the second move action could actually be used to move the ship normally.

    The SAT would double the move action, so you could use this ability with either the first or the second. The “once per turn” would limit the UT gain to just once.

    Sidenote: That ability is ridiculously overpowered even without Runes of Thor or Nemo’s Plans in play. A couple lucky rolls early on, or at any critical moment, could completely break the game with little to no way to prevent it or defend against it.

    Just to make sure, I assume if a ship has multiple Runes of Thor UT’s and Nemo’s Plans, it can only use one per turn due to the No-Stacking rule?

    Correct. The no-stacking rule applies regardless of the ability source. It just generally doesn’t come up (or matter) with UTs.

    #11258
    Mr. Wick
    Participant

    For cannons with a printed rank of 6, such as the Asp (RevUL-141 – “3S-5S-6S”) of the Fire Djinn (BC-007 “2L-4S-5S-6L”), is a 7 or higher need to hit (a number that cannot be rolled on a d6 normally)

    #11260
    Jack
    Participant

    Yeah. Only way to hit is if you have something that boosts cannon rolls so you can roll a 7+

    #11262
    Mr. Wick
    Participant

    How unfortunate, and kind of bothersome. Though I can find only 4 ships (Asp, Fire Djinn, Sultan’s Sword, and Marrkesh) with this limitation, and three of them appear to more focused on boarding Rolls so perhaps it balances out.

    #11273
    Ben
    Keymaster

    @Woelf: I don’t see her listed in the Code, but I assume Jongleur from MI should have Galley as well?

    #11279
    Woelf
    Moderator

    I don’t see her listed in the Code, but I assume Jongleur from MI should have Galley as well?

    All of those LE galleys should probably have the Galley keyword, and all of the LE turtles nearby should probably have Turtle Ship too.

    #11280
    Woelf
    Moderator

    How unfortunate, and kind of bothersome. Though I can find only 4 ships (Asp, Fire Djinn, Sultan’s Sword, and Marrkesh) with this limitation, and three of them appear to more focused on boarding Rolls so perhaps it balances out.

    It doesn’t seem like it at first glance, but rank-6 cannons are actually an advantage.

    They add nothing to the cost of the ship (if at all, it’s 1 point at most), while effectively giving the ship the ability “this ship ignores the first hit if it has all of its masts” (worth 4 points) AND the +1 to boarding ability (worth 2-4 points) for free. You can also use them to fire smokepots without “wasting” a better cannon, because those don’t require rolling.

    I’ve said it before a few times, but I wish Wizkids had made a lot more ships with rank-6 cannons like that.

    #11281
    Ochobrazo2298
    Participant

    So Ghost ships can ram, board, shoot and be shot at?

    #11282
    Jack
    Participant

    “Ghostly” ships can shoot and be shot at, and can not ram or board.

    Side note: I want to test a house rule making Ghostly ships unable to shoot, but being able to be shot at, except that you need to roll a 6 to hit.

    #11283
    Mr. Wick
    Participant

    OH I see what your getting at, a rank 6 is basically a free sac mast if you get hit without losing any useful firepower. That’s actually really clever.

    #11284
    Lukas
    Participant

    When you put an eternal crew on a ship that sinks when the last mast is gone how can u win vs this with shooting ships without canceling? only by gold running i guess?

    #11285
    Ben
    Keymaster

    So Ghost ships can ram, board, shoot and be shot at?

    Did you read the keyword?

    Side note: I want to test a house rule making Ghostly ships unable to shoot, but being able to be shot at, except that you need to roll a 6 to hit.

    @Jack: Be prepared to make the keyword even cheaper then – Wizkids made it too expensive as-is, so your house rule would knock it down to 2 points maximum in my opinion.

    When you put an eternal crew on a ship that sinks when the last mast is gone how can u win vs this with shooting ships without canceling? only by gold running i guess?

    Pretty much I suppose.  Neat idea, I don’t think I’ve thought of that before.  The ability to sink with the last mast eliminated has all sorts of weird benefits it’s arguably not a negative ability.  XD

    #11286
    Lukas
    Participant

    Yeah i think its unstopable ^^

    but still an costly combo…

    btw when i shoot a smoke pot i dont need a real shoot action i can just move and taget the ground (with captain) right?

     

     

    #11288
    Ben
    Keymaster

    btw when i shoot a smoke pot i dont need a real shoot action i can just move and taget the ground (with captain) right?

    Correct, “you do not need to target a ship”.  Though you don’t need a captain if you’re just “shooting” without moving.


    @Woelf
    : Lukas gives me an idea for one of the most weird and obscure combos ever.  Per the Code for the Fog Hopper ability, bottom of Page 28.  Would this be a legal way of removing an enemy fog hopper from play?
    1. Create a fog bank with a smokepot specialist.
    2. Use an L-mover to force an enemy fog hopper into the fog bank.
    3. Completely surround the fog bank with ships to the point where all the exit locations are blocked and there is absolutely no space to put the fog hopper outside.
    4. If no other fog banks in play, the ship is forcibly removed from the game.

    (I realize this is insanely unlikely)

    #11289
    Lukas
    Participant

    crazy stuff…

    normally i try to fog + reverse captain and drive into the fog and stay there

    and i but it on an ship where i can steal gold on an enemy home island

    so i hopp in fog stay there and steal some gold xD

    #11294
    Jack
    Participant

    @Jack: Be prepared to make the keyword even cheaper then – Wizkids made it too expensive as-is, so your house rule would knock it down to 2 points maximum in my opinion.</p>

    This was actually my attempt at justifying ghost ship’s cost haha. I figure ghost ship’s main weakness is ghostly ships can still be shot at normally.

     

    • This reply was modified 1 month ago by Jack.
    #11297
    Lukas
    Participant

    If you have 2 captains on a ship

    only one will work (i know)

    but if 1 captain gets canceled does the other one work?

    or is the total keyword canceled? It s read just ONE crew or ship ability…

    #11298
    Ben
    Keymaster

    This was actually my attempt at justifying ghost ship’s cost haha. I figure ghost ship’s main weakness is ghostly ships can still be shot at normally.

    My bad – I reversed the effect or something.  That would make it more expensive.

    but if 1 captain gets canceled does the other one work?

    No – this in the Pirate Code, page 20.

    #11302
    Woelf
    Moderator

    When you put an eternal crew on a ship that sinks when the last mast is gone how can u win vs this with shooting ships without canceling? only by gold running i guess?

    The best strategy is to ignore it entirely while it’s back at home making repairs, and spend the time grabbing more gold. It’s generally not an issue in standard games unless they run really long.

    In a Deathmatch game, Eternal breaks things unless you modify it somehow. Aside from disallowing it entirely, the easiest solution is to allow it to work only the first time the ship sinks.

    #11303
    Woelf
    Moderator

    @Woelf: Lukas gives me an idea for one of the most weird and obscure combos ever. Per the Code for the Fog Hopper ability, bottom of Page 28. Would this be a legal way of removing an enemy fog hopper from play?
    1. Create a fog bank with a smokepot specialist.
    2. Use an L-mover to force an enemy fog hopper into the fog bank.
    3. Completely surround the fog bank with ships to the point where all the exit locations are blocked and there is absolutely no space to put the fog hopper outside.
    4. If no other fog banks in play, the ship is forcibly removed from the game.

    (I realize this is insanely unlikely)

    Ignoring the fact that you probably wouldn’t/shouldn’t be using fog hoppers without also making sure there were a few permanent fog banks in play (and/or you had a way to generate your own)… 😉

    When the hopper exits, you place it as close to the rolled number as possible. If every possible location around the perimeter of the bank is physically blocked by another ship, the “closest” point would then shift to somewhere just outside that ring of other ships, near the rolled number.

    #11313
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Let’s say that a ship has an Ex-Patriot crew on her, giving her the Mercenary keyword and all that implies. This same ship also has Eternal, as an ability provided by the ship, not coming from a crew. The ship is sunk. If I have Raft, can I flip it and throw the crew onto the nearby island, thus eliminating the Mercenary keyword from the ship and allowing Eternal to function?

    #11318
    Jack
    Participant

    Since Ex-Patriots that are face down make their ship lose the mercenary keyword I think that would work

    #11331
    Jack
    Participant

    Does a firepot count as a “hit?” I know that it counts as a mast replacement not an elimination, so it bypasses effects like Acorazado’s, but what about effects like La Belle Etoile, which eliminate cargo when they “hit” a ship, and ships that ignore the first hit each turn?

     

    #11334
    Brian
    Participant

    I have a question on how Flotillas work. I get mostly how they work, but there are some parts where I’m not sure.

    Since the Flotilla’s flag takes 2 hits from the same shoot action to destroy, what happens if an iceberg drifts into it? Nothing? Does the iceberg just stop?

    My next question is can Flotillas shoot while being towed?

    Finally, how does a flotilla repair? The keyword states that flotillas may only be given a shoot action and a repair action. So, does that mean that the flotilla needs some creative crew stacking to get a shipwright on board even though flotillas have 0 crew slots? Or does the flotilla need to be towed back to the home island?

    Thanks! These are random items that show up during a game that I don’t have answers.

Viewing 30 posts - 181 through 210 (of 251 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.