Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Viewing 26 posts - 481 through 506 (of 506 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #15260
    Spence
    Participant

    Can a ship with the Parley ability parley out of being damaged by abilities such as Namzu or Neptune’s Trident? What qualifies a ship as being a target of a shoot action?

    #15262
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Can a ship with the Parley ability parley out of being damaged by abilities such as Namzu or Neptune’s Trident? What qualifies a ship as being a target of a shoot action?

    This ship must be targeted directly with a shoot action to use Parley.

    Namazu and the Trident target an area rather than any ship specifically, so Parley won’t work even if it’s the only ship within that target area.

    #15263
    Ochobrazo2298
    Participant

    I know this question has probably already been asked but, Can you put two Tribal Chieftains on the same ship if you have the required cargo and point cost on the ship?

     

    #15265
    Woelf
    Moderator

    I know this question has probably already been asked but, Can you put two Tribal Chieftains on the same ship if you have the required cargo and point cost on the ship?

    The no-stacking rule applies, so while you can put multiples on the same ship, they all have to start the game on different ships to get all of their canoes.

    Once the canoes are all placed, you only need to keep one Chieftain of each nationality “active” in your fleet, so at that point you can double them up or unload the duplicates at home without penalty.

    #15267
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    If a ship wins a boarding party against a ship with Unique Treasure on board, can the winning ship decide to steal a Unique Treasure from the loosing ship? The Code is open-ended in boarding, simply saying “a Treasure”.

    #15269
    Woelf
    Moderator

    If a ship wins a boarding party against a ship with Unique Treasure on board, can the winning ship decide to steal a Unique Treasure from the loosing ship? The Code is open-ended in boarding, simply saying “a Treasure”.

    UTs are included with “treasure” in situations like that, so the player losing the item can certainly hand over a UT instead of a standard treasure (unless something specifically prevents the UT from transferring), but you can’t force a UT to be chosen if the player wants to give you some other treasure instead (unless the UT or some other ability does require/allow it).

    #15270
    Randy
    Moderator

    A situation came up that I was unsure about. I think in the end we played it correctly, but just to reassure myself.

    If a player’s last ship in play is dismasted and has an oarsman that had their ability changed to another crew (OE Davey Jones) via Eye of Insanity, would the end of game trigger since the oarsman’s ability is not currently active? When does Eye of Insanity make the original target crew’s ability active again, and also what is the timing on the game officially ending? Thanks for your patience  🙂

    #15304
    Woelf
    Moderator

    A situation came up that I was unsure about. I think in the end we played it correctly, but just to reassure myself.

    If a player’s last ship in play is dismasted and has an oarsman that had their ability changed to another crew (OE Davey Jones) via Eye of Insanity, would the end of game trigger since the oarsman’s ability is not currently active? When does Eye of Insanity make the original target crew’s ability active again, and also what is the timing on the game officially ending? Thanks for your patience  🙂

    The Eye of Insanity cannot trigger that endgame condition.

    You are required to choose the ability at the beginning of your turn, but actually using it instead of the crew’s original ability is optional (the text says “can”, rather than “must”), so the crew’s original ability is still considered active/available when that endgame condition is checked.

    The Eye’s effect only lasts until the end of the player’s own turn.  It does not carry over to opposing player turns, and then has to be reset at the beginning of the player’s next turn, even if they do choose the same ability again.

     

    Side Note:  The Eye can prevent that endgame trigger as long there’s at least one eligible ability somewhere in play that would allow the ship to still move, repair, or get to a repairable location in some other way.

    #15305
    Randy
    Moderator

    Sweet, Thank you!!!

    #15306
    Ben
    Keymaster

    The Eye’s effect only lasts until the end of the player’s own turn.  It does not carry over to opposing player turns, and then has to be reset at the beginning of the player’s next turn, even if they do choose the same ability again.

    On a related note, for win condition #3 on page 14, can the phrase “a player” mean the opposing player, or does every “his/her/player” reference in that sentence specifically reference the active player’s turn and no opponents?

    I assume there is no way to eliminate the Wolves UT from the same ship that finds it on an island?  I think the free explore would end before you could voluntarily shoot with a musketeer (if you had Captain), and a Marine shot would be a separate action from the explore that reveals the Wolves. (especially for initial discovery of the Wolves)

    #15359
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Holy Water/DJH lists treasure stealers/swappers as direct affects that it protects against. I take it to mean that any other treasures on the same ship would be protected as well, or do the Water/Heart only protect themselves from being swapped or stolen?

     

    #15383
    Woelf
    Moderator

    On a related note, for win condition #3 on page 14, can the phrase “a player” mean the opposing player, or does every “his/her/player” reference in that sentence specifically reference the active player’s turn and no opponents?

    That applies only to the current/active player’s own turn.   If some other player gets wiped out in between, the endgame condition doesn’t trigger until their turn starts.

    I assume there is no way to eliminate the Wolves UT from the same ship that finds it on an island?  I think the free explore would end before you could voluntarily shoot with a musketeer (if you had Captain), and a Marine shot would be a separate action from the explore that reveals the Wolves. (especially for initial discovery of the Wolves)

    Aside from some other UT that can trigger at the same time (Kharmic Idol, Pirata Codex, Jailhouse Dog), there’s no way to eliminate Wolves during the explore action when it’s first found.  You’ll need separate/extra actions to get rid of it first.

    #15384
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Holy Water/DJH lists treasure stealers/swappers as direct affects that it protects against. I take it to mean that any other treasures on the same ship would be protected as well, or do the Water/Heart only protect themselves from being swapped or stolen?

    Treasure stealers and swappers have to target the ship in order to get at any treasure being carried by it, so Holy Water/DJH will block them.

     

    Kharmic Idol, Pirata Codex, and Jailhouse Dog bypass the protection because they specifically go after Water/Heart itself, without going through the ship or its crew first.  They don’t even care if it’s on a ship at all.

    #15422
    Ben
    Keymaster

    What happens if players cannot agree on the number of terrain pieces used?

    How are mysterious islands handled if some players want to use them and others don’t?

    #15423
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    The Pirate Code, Scorpion keyword, pg 37

    “Defensive pieces such as the panels of a turtle ship or the outrigger of a catamaran are ignored by a blade attack, and remain in place.”

     

    What else does a scorpion blade ignore? The Code only has this one line about the blade attack ignoring defensive abilities. Would the blade eliminate a mast from a ship such as the Constitution(RV) or Algernon; or ships that cannot be hit by L-range cannons or cannot be shot at by ships within S?

    #15424
    Woelf
    Moderator

    What happens if players cannot agree on the number of terrain pieces used?

    How are mysterious islands handled if some players want to use them and others don’t?

    If the players can’t agree on a compromise, let fate decide.  Each player makes their choice, then they all roll dice or something to see who gets it.

    #15425
    Woelf
    Moderator

    The Pirate Code, Scorpion keyword, pg 37

    “Defensive pieces such as the panels of a turtle ship or the outrigger of a catamaran are ignored by a blade attack, and remain in place.”

    ———————-

    What else does a scorpion blade ignore? The Code only has this one line about the blade attack ignoring defensive abilities. Would the blade eliminate a mast from a ship such as the Constitution(RV) or Algernon; or ships that cannot be hit by L-range cannons or cannot be shot at by ships within S?

    The updated text in the Master Keyword List covers that part.   Even though it can be triggered by a shoot action, it’s not actually part of that action, and it’s not treated like a cannon, so essentially it bypasses/ignores ALL defensive abilities that would prevent shots and/or reduce damage.

    Aside from keeping your distance or taking out the scorpion before it can attack, the only ability that will help is a canceler that can disable the keyword before the blade swings.

    #15426
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    The updated text in the Master Keyword List covers that part.   Even though it can be triggered by a shoot action, it’s not actually part of that action, and it’s not treated like a cannon, so essentially it bypasses/ignores ALL defensive abilities that would prevent shots and/or reduce damage.

     

    I need to start reading that more. 😀  Thanks for the clarification, but as a follow-up…..

     

    Aside from keeping your distance or taking out the scorpion before it can attack, the only ability that will help is a canceler that can disable the keyword before the blade swings.

     

    Would Holy Water also prevent the blade from swinging? I’d imagine that the blade would be treated as a direct effect of an enemy ship.

    #15427
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Would Holy Water also prevent the blade from swinging? I’d imagine that the blade would be treated as a direct effect of an enemy ship.

    Yes, definitely, Holy Water will work too.

    That kinda falls under the “canceller” umbrella, even though the way it goes about is completely different.

    #15434
    Ochobrazo2298
    Participant

    Something I thought of while making some custom ship stats was, so if a named crew with the cargo master keyword is linked to a ship, does that mean that the cargo hold of the ship would be expanded by one? the ability text of cargo master states that a crew with this keyword take up no cargo space on the ship it is placed and the linking makes an extra cargo space.

    And also with the treasure ship keyword it makes all crew take up no cargo space, and with Admiral Zheng He and The Headhunter they are linked to their respective Baochuan and Guichuan. That means they gain an extra cargo with the linking and they take up none because of treasure ship.

    Is that right?

    #15440
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Something I thought of while making some custom ship stats was, so if a named crew with the cargo master keyword is linked to a ship, does that mean that the cargo hold of the ship would be expanded by one? the ability text of cargo master states that a crew with this keyword take up no cargo space on the ship it is placed and the linking makes an extra cargo space.

    Yes, the ship would get +2 cargo spaces overall as long as the CM is of the same nationality as the ship, one from the link and one from the ability.

    And also with the treasure ship keyword it makes all crew take up no cargo space, and with Admiral Zheng He and The Headhunter they are linked to their respective Baochuan and Guichuan. That means they gain an extra cargo with the linking and they take up none because of treasure ship.

    Is that right?

    Correct!

    #15462
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Just to clarify, when placing terrain, players can pick from the pool of what has been contributed by all players, correct?  Or do they have to place their own, or randomly as determined by d6 roll or RNG? (Random Number Generator)

    If you use terrain, players should agree on the number of terrain pieces that will be used; we recommend that players place the same number of terrain pieces, in the same order that they placed islands.

    #15464
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Just to clarify, when placing terrain, players can pick from the pool of what has been contributed by all players, correct?  Or do they have to place their own, or randomly as determined by d6 roll or RNG? 

    Everything in the pool is fair game.  Each player can choose what they want to place, and it does not have to be something they contributed themselves.

    #15465
    Ben
    Keymaster

    When is the determination made on whether or not Mysterious Island effects will be used?  Based on the Setup rules it seems it would be decided between placing islands and placing terrain, but before choosing home islands.

    #15467
    Woelf
    Moderator

    When is the determination made on whether or not Mysterious Island effects will be used?  Based on the Setup rules it seems it would be decided between placing islands and placing terrain, but before choosing home islands.

    There’s not really any specific timing on that, but it makes the most sense to decide whether or not to use them before you start.    At the minimum, you should decide before players choose the islands to include in the game, because allowing or disallowing MI effects will definitely influence which specific ones get chosen, regardless of who actually places them or where.

    #15468
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Another clarification: for the multiplayer endgame rules regarding “half or more players” can’t give future move actions, I assume you’d round up in a game with an odd number of players?  (ex: in a 9 player game, 5 would have to be eliminated for it to end because rounding down to 4 from 4.5 would violate the “or more” intention)

Viewing 26 posts - 481 through 506 (of 506 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.