Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Viewing 30 posts - 451 through 480 (of 510 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #14886
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Can a crew captured via the Possession ability be transferred to a friendly ship of the same nationality and use their abilities on the second ship?  The Code entry for Wraith makes me think not, but nothing in the Possession ability forbids it.

    Transferring the crew is allowed, but all of the extra effects caused by it will cease as soon as the possessed crew is separated from the possession source.    It will revert back to its original nationality, it will take up cargo space again, and its point cost will apply normally.  (ADDED:  It does not return to its original owner.)

    The same happens if the Possession ability is cancelled, except in that case you may end up having to eject some crew.

    #14977
    Peter
    Participant

    “If this ship isn’t assigned a Helmsman crew, roll a d6 after this ship resolves a move action. On a result of 4-6, this ship can move L.”

    According to page 29 of The Pirate Code, this ability happens after a shoot action provided by a captain. How does the timing work with explorers and S-boarding?

    #14982
    Woelf
    Moderator

    “If this ship isn’t assigned a Helmsman crew, roll a d6 after this ship resolves a move action. On a result of 4-6, this ship can move L.”

    According to page 29 of The Pirate Code, this ability happens after a shoot action provided by a captain. How does the timing work with explorers and S-boarding?

    This ability applies after the ship resolves the move action, so you do all of the usual effects that would be attached to a shoot action (captain, explorer, s-board, ram, board, etc.) first, then after all of that is completely finished, only then do you get to roll for the extra L.

     

    You can use it to dock the ship, but because it’s not part of a move action, you can’t use any other move action abilities or effects with it, whether you’d used them with the original move action that triggered it or not.

    #14983
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Transferring the crew is allowed, but all of the extra effects caused by it will cease as soon as the possessed crew is separated from the possession source.    It will revert back to its original nationality, it will take up cargo space again, and its point cost will apply normally.  (ADDED:  It does not return to its original owner.)

    The same happens if the Possession ability is cancelled, except in that case you may end up having to eject some crew.

     

    For clarification, this applies to the ability of Wraith (SS) and Captain Davy Jones as well, and not just to the “possession” ability of Papa Doc?

    For reference:

    PD: If an enemy ship is within S of this ship, you can use this ship’s action for the turn to try to possess a target crew on that ship. Roll a d6; on a result of 6, the target is immediately assigned to this ship. Its nationality changes to match the nationality of this ship.

    Wraith/CDJ: Whenever any crew is eliminated, roll a d6; on a result of 6, assign the crew to this ship. Its nationality changes to match the nationality of this ship and it becomes linked to this crew.

    #14984
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Transferring the crew is allowed, but all of the extra effects caused by it will cease as soon as the possessed crew is separated from the possession source.    It will revert back to its original nationality, it will take up cargo space again, and its point cost will apply normally.  (ADDED:  It does not return to its original owner.)

    The same happens if the Possession ability is cancelled, except in that case you may end up having to eject some crew.

    For clarification, this applies to the ability of Wraith (SS) and Captain Davy Jones as well, and not just to the “possession” ability of Papa Doc?

    Correct.

    Devil’s Maw is one of the only things in the game that will permanently alter a crew, and that’s mostly just because of the way that crew (don’t) interact with forts.

    #15030
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Is the ability of Tobias Huntington the same as the ability of Rollando (and others). I know there is a difference in text but would the two abilities function more or less the same?

    For reference:

    Tobias Huntington: Choose a ship within S of this ship. If there are any unique treasures on that ship, that ship’s controller shows them to you. This ship can load one unique treasure from that ship, if able.

    Rollando: Once per turn if this ship is touching another ship, reveal all face-down treasure aboard the other ship. This ship can take as much unique treasure from the other ship as she can carry, even those that otherwise can’t be removed.

    #15031
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Is the ability of Tobias Huntington the same as the ability of Rollando (and others). I know there is a difference in text but would the two abilities function more or less the same?

    They do both let you steal UTs, but their methods are completely different, so you could put both on the same ship and use both abilities in full.

    Tobias is more convenient to use because you can grab something just by sailing past another ship, even a friendly, but you can only take one at a time, and removal/unloading restrictions still apply.

    Rollando is much more powerful because you can grab as many as you want, even UTs that normally can’t be taken (Nemo’s Plans!), plus you reveal non-uniques.   The downside is that you do have to make contact with the other ship, which takes some careful maneuvering if you don’t want to ram, board, or be pinned.

     

    ADDED:  Another subtle difference is that with Tobias, only you get to see which UTs the player has, and only the two of you will know what specifically you took if it was facedown.   With Rollando, everything on the ship gets flipped face up so other players will see it too, and everyone will know what you took.

    #15032
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Can a submarine ram another submarine while both are submerged? I couldn’t find anything conclusive in the Code.

    #15033
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Can a submarine ram another submarine while both are submerged? I couldn’t find anything conclusive in the Code.

    Nope.  It’s in the Submarine keyword: “If submerged, a submarine can only move; it cannot shoot or be shot at, it cannot repair, it cannot dock, and it cannot be rammed.”

    #15038
    Ben
    Keymaster

    I assume you can stack the uncommon versions of equipment like exploding shot with the LE variants because they have slightly different effects/drawbacks? (just confirming since a “trigger” could be different than a drawback)

    #15039
    Woelf
    Moderator

    I assume you can stack the uncommon versions of equipment like exploding shot with the LE variants because they have slightly different effects/drawbacks? (just confirming since a “trigger” could be different than a drawback)

    Yes, that’s correct.    Even though the end effect is similar, the LE versions remove themselves after use, which makes them different enough that you can use them along with the non-LE versions.

    #15071
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Can you reveal a face down UT such as Runes of Odin to play it from your home island after unloading it there, or do face down UT’s have to be on ships in order to be revealed and used?

    In multiplayer games, is gold on sunken ships revealed when it’s removed from the game?  Or do you have to rely on asking the player whose ship sunk what they had on it?  (this could be very important to know if something like Runes of Loki is still in play vs. gone for good)

    #15072
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Can you reveal a face down UT such as Runes of Odin to play it from your home island after unloading it there, or do face down UT’s have to be on ships in order to be revealed and used?

    Unless the UT specifically says it can be used or applies while still on an island (Altar, etc.), or is revealed when unloaded at home, once it’s on your home island you can’t use it any more.

    When you dock at home with a facedown UT that isn’t required to be unloaded as part of its ability, you can choose to keep it on your ship, but must state that it’s a UT.   You don’t have to reveal which one it is specifically, though.

    In multiplayer games, is gold on sunken ships revealed when it’s removed from the game?  Or do you have to rely on asking the player whose ship sunk what they had on it?  (this could be very important to know if something like Runes of Loki is still in play vs. gone for good)

    Unrevealed treasure that’s removed from the game by sinking or any other means remains unrevealed.   The player who lost the ship is free to tell you what was on it, but they’re not required to.

    #15078
    Ben
    Keymaster

    @Woelf: Do you know if there is a reason that Wizkids often used the term “boarding action” instead of “boarding party”?

    Seems to me that using “boarding party” would avoid potential confusion for players thinking that boarding is (maybe only for certain abilities) a full action.

    #15080
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Do you know if there is a reason that Wizkids often used the term “boarding action” instead of “boarding party”?

    Seems to me that using “boarding party” would avoid potential confusion for players thinking that boarding is (maybe only for certain abilities) a full action.

    It’s mostly just written that way as shorthand in the PC, because the rulebook does say “boarding party as a free action”, and abilities like the S-board refer to “boarding party” too.   The +1 abilities just say “boarding rolls”, and don’t refer to a party or action.

    #15081
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    If a ship has Holy Water, and an enemy ship has Voodoo Doll, can the Doll be used against the ship with Holy Water? I’m thinking no, since it would count as a direct effect because it targets a specific crew and turns them face-down and prevents them from using their abilities.

    #15082
    Woelf
    Moderator

    If a ship has Holy Water, and an enemy ship has Voodoo Doll, can the Doll be used against the ship with Holy Water? I’m thinking no, since it would count as a direct effect because it targets a specific crew and turns them face-down and prevents them from using their abilities.

    Correct, Holy Water will protect crew from Voodoo Doll, for exactly the reason you listed.

    #15103
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Can you re-roll the die roll for the Duel event, if the chosen crew are on the same ship as a re-roll?

    #15138
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Can a home island raider dock at an enemy home island if there aren’t any coins there?

    Pretty sure I’ve asked this but not seeing it via the forum search: If you start your turn on a sargasso sea but you didn’t get stuck last turn, do you have to roll since you’re sailing over it?  Or would you only roll if you contact a NEW sargasso sea during that action?

    #15146
    Woelf
    Moderator

    @Xerecs

    Can you re-roll the die roll for the Duel event, if the chosen crew are on the same ship as a re-roll?

    No, for the same reason you can’t reroll a Marine.    The roll is being made for the crew, not the ship they’re on.


    @admin

    Can a home island raider dock at an enemy home island if there aren’t any coins there?

    Yes.  You just won’t get to steal anything.

    Pretty sure I’ve asked this but not seeing it via the forum search: If you start your turn on a sargasso sea but you didn’t get stuck last turn, do you have to roll since you’re sailing over it?  Or would you only roll if you contact a NEW sargasso sea during that action?

    You don’t get stuck (or have to roll) immediately if you start on it, but when you move if any part of the ship is still touching the terrain after any segment, you will have to roll again.

    #15153
    Ben
    Keymaster

    If the island treasure trading ability is used to receive a UT that can’t be loaded, does the UT still apply? (and stay on the island, for example with Altar of the Loa)

    After looking at treasure on a wild island, you may trade any one treasure from that island for a random treasure on any other wild island. This ship must load the traded treasure.

    Do not load this treasure. Instead, place it face up on this island. While docked at this island you may eliminate two crew; if you do, on the next player’s turn you may choose to give actions to his or her ships or choose that he or she gets no actions at all.

    #15157
    Woelf
    Moderator

    If the island treasure trading ability is used to receive a UT that can’t be loaded, does the UT still apply? (and stay on the island, for example with Altar of the Loa)

    The trading ability takes place immediately before revealing UTs, so if you received the Altar or any other UT that can’t be loaded (Wolves, etc.), it applies normally as if it had been on your current island from the start.

    #15158
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Can Duel be used to target an enemy crew on a ship in a fog bank?

    #15159
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Can Duel be used to target an enemy crew on a ship in a fog bank?

    Yes – It has no range or line of sight requirements that being lost in fog would prevent, so it can be used by or against crew on ships lost in fog.

    #15160
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Sorry if some of these are obvious or repeats.

    Does a ship with an Explorer have to look at coins when it docks and explores or can it just mark the island explored?

    Do you have to place a ship at a different whirlpool when the Whirlpool UT is triggered?

    If a ship is only in contact with a ship stealer such as the Harbinger by the jib/foremast which is subsequently removed, is that ship still considered “in contact” with the Harbinger because that was the previous state of touching?  Similarly, does a mast elimination remove the state of being pinned? (ex: a titan takes out a mast from a ship it pinned in place, and that mast was their only point of contact)

    Do sea creature segments block other segments’ lines of fire?  (ex: a titan shooting forward of itself with the outer arms will have a hard time)

    Does derelicting a towing ship break the tow?

    What are your thoughts on a situation where an optionally loaded UT like Homing Beacon is left on a wild island, only one player knows this and wants to call the game because it’s not worth a gold value? (not callable but this is really interesting given HI Raiders/etc.)
    -On that point, does Wine have to be on a home island for the game to end?

    #15171
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Sorry if some of these are obvious or repeats.

    No worries!  I had to really dig to find answers to a few of them…

    Does a ship with an Explorer have to look at coins when it docks and explores or can it just mark the island explored?

    Yes.   The looking is the primary aspect of the explore action, so if you don’t look, you haven’t actually explored, and can’t mark it as explored.

    You’ll need one of the handful of abilities that lets you mark an island without docking to place the marker without looking.

    Do you have to place a ship at a different whirlpool when the Whirlpool UT is triggered?

    Triggering the effect is optional, but if you do trigger it, you must place the ship at a different whirlpool.   You can’t bounce around within a single pool just to ditch cargo.

    If a ship is only in contact with a ship stealer such as the Harbinger by the jib/foremast which is subsequently removed, is that ship still considered “in contact” with the Harbinger because that was the previous state of touching?  Similarly, does a mast elimination remove the state of being pinned? (ex: a titan takes out a mast from a ship it pinned in place, and that mast was their only point of contact)

    That goes back to one of the earliest entries in the PC (under “Pin”).   A ship is still considered to be in contact even if the physical part making the contact is removed.   Likewise, replacing/repairing a previously-lost part cannot cause a pin if it results in contact.     Some sort of movement must occur to break or create contact.

    Do sea creature segments block other segments’ lines of fire?  (ex: a titan shooting forward of itself with the outer arms will have a hard time)

    Their segments do not block their own lines of fire (this is actually the last line in the rulebook under Sea Creatures).

    Does derelicting a towing ship break the tow?

    Yes, unless the ship still has some ability to be given move actions without masts remaining (Galley, Oarsman, etc.).

    If the ship is derelict and can’t move on its own, it can’t start or continue towing.

    What are your thoughts on a situation where an optionally loaded UT like Homing Beacon is left on a wild island, only one player knows this and wants to call the game because it’s not worth a gold value? (not callable but this is really interesting given HI Raiders/etc.)

    Facedown UTs are treated as standard treasure for the endgame condition, even if some/all players know what it is.   Until someone picks it up and uses/reveals it to show it has no gold value, someone unloads it facedown at home, or some other endgame condition is reached, the game continues.

    -On that point, does Wine have to be on a home island for the game to end?

    No, it loads faceup and has no inherent gold value of its own, so it’s treated just like any other face up non-gold UT (Plague, Fruit, etc.) and will not prevent the endgame trigger.   Whatever potential value it might have from making a swap is wasted if you don’t use it in time.

    #15172
    Ben
    Keymaster

    After exploring this island, place a treasure coin from your collection with value equal to or less than one you took on the island.

    The way it’s written, Mysterious Island #7 would allow you to replace a coin with a UT (likely worth 0 gold).  I’d imagine that’s not the intent, but the 0’s from the last sets would provide a good counterpoint to that.

    Can great turtles be moved 5S in a turn by a single set of native canoes?

    #15173
    Woelf
    Moderator

    After exploring this island, place a treasure coin from your collection with value equal to or less than one you took on the island.

    The way it’s written, Mysterious Island #7 would allow you to replace a coin with a UT (likely worth 0 gold).  I’d imagine that’s not the intent, but the 0’s from the last sets would provide a good counterpoint to that.

    I think the intention is non-UTs only, but the wording is ambiguous.     As written you could technically choose a UT, but your options are going to be pretty limited because it has to have some sort of gold value, and has to be less than something (also with a value) that you took from the island.   A 0-Gold coin will always be an option because that does have a printed value.

    Can great turtles be moved 5S in a turn by a single set of native canoes?

    Yes.  Each canoe is given its own move action, so you can apply some or all of them to the turtle.

    #15258
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    Suppose you have the Savage Shores version of Wraith in your fleet, and a source of the SAC ability. If I SAC a crew can I choose not to roll for Wraith or is the roll mandatory? PC entry seems to indicate that the roll is optional.

    “Pirate Code, Wraith, pg23”

    If a ship (or crew) has the ability to eliminate a crew to gain an extra action, this ability may be applied. If the roll is successful, the crew is placed on this ship normally and the ship does not gain the extra action because the crew did not remain eliminated

    -Emphasis added-

    Ability of Wraith: Whenever any crew is eliminated, roll a d6; on a result of 6, assign the crew to this ship. Its nationality changes to match the nationality of this ship and it becomes linked to this crew.

     

     

    Would the Mines unique treasure be considered a direct ability affect if it was used against a ship with Holy Water/Davy Jones Heart?

    Mines: Load this treasure face down. Reveal it when target enemy ship moves within S of this ship. Choose and eliminate one mast from the target at the end of her move. Remove Mines from the game.

     

    #15259
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Suppose you have the Savage Shores version of Wraith in your fleet, and a source of the SAC ability. If I SAC a crew can I choose not to roll for Wraith or is the roll mandatory? PC entry seems to indicate that the roll is optional.

    The wording of Wraith does imply that it’s mandatory, but I don’t think it’s ever been treated that way in the PC.    There are a few others in the game with similar wording that are considered optional too.   I’ll think about it, but for now play as noted in the PC, with the roll being optional.

    Would the Mines unique treasure be considered a direct ability affect if it was used against a ship with Holy Water/Davy Jones Heart?

    Mines: Load this treasure face down. Reveal it when target enemy ship moves within S of this ship. Choose and eliminate one mast from the target at the end of her move. Remove Mines from the game.

    Yes, Holy Water/DJH will protect a ship from Mines.

    Thematically, the use of mines seems like a gray area, but the way the actual ability is worded makes it a direct effect.  The exact same wording could have just as easily been a cannon or some other weapon that produced the same end result.   If you placed the token in the water and left it there until someone else got too close, it might be a different story…

Viewing 30 posts - 451 through 480 (of 510 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.