Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Viewing 30 posts - 541 through 570 (of 575 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #15827
    Woelf
    Moderator

    If it was allowed for usage in a game, could the Sleigh start the game with Unique Treasure aboard her?

    This ship cannot be shot at, and she cannot sink. She begins the game fully loaded with treasure from her controller’s collection. Her base move becomes 6L when she has no available cargo capacity.

    If you can, could you include Abandoned crew in that mix to give the Sleigh more crew?

    You can load the Sleigh up with anything and everything you’ve got.  If it fits, it sits.

    #15828
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Do you skip an eliminated player’s turn with Altar of the Loa if all they have left in play is a fort?

    No.   That player will count toward the endgame condition because they can’t give move actions, but assuming there are enough other players still going to prevent that, the player with the fort still gets their turn in the normal sequence.   If there’s nothing within range of the fort to attack they won’t have anything to do, but that’s not enough to skip them entirely.

    Can it skip that player if they didn’t have a fort? (absolutely no units in play)

    #15829
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Do you skip an eliminated player’s turn with Altar of the Loa if all they have left in play is a fort?

    No.   That player will count toward the endgame condition because they can’t give move actions, but assuming there are enough other players still going to prevent that, the player with the fort still gets their turn in the normal sequence.   If there’s nothing within range of the fort to attack they won’t have anything to do, but that’s not enough to skip them entirely.

    Can it skip that player if they didn’t have a fort? (absolutely no units in play)

    That’s a discretion call left up to the person running the event and/or the group, that’s best decided beforehand, if possible.

    If the “eliminated” player steps out entirely and forfeits it’s easier to justify skipping them, but if they’re still in contention to win based on previously-collected gold, they’re still part of the game even if they have nothing left to do during their turn.

    #15833
    Ben
    Keymaster

    For Mysterious Island #7, can the new coin be a UT or a 0 coin?

    5-6: After exploring this island, place a treasure coin from your collection with value equal to or less than one you took on the island.

    #15842
    Woelf
    Moderator

    For Mysterious Island #7, can the new coin be a UT or a 0 coin?

    5-6: After exploring this island, place a treasure coin from your collection with value equal to or less than one you took on the island.

    It specifically refers to a coin with a value, so 0-gold coins are allowed.

    Most UTs would not count because they lack any gold value, although one that did have a gold value (determined when found/loaded) would be okay as long as that value was less than whatever other treasure you took to set the max value.

    #15873
    Ben
    Keymaster

    If the flotilla keyword is cancelled, can it still shoot through itself?

    Asking for a friend: do derelicts block lines of fire?

    On dismasted ships with Oarsman: are there undesirable outcomes that are avoided by not letting these ships ram other ships?  This has come up frequently this year, where a player feels they should be able to ram and board with a ship that has an oarsman.

    #15877
    Woelf
    Moderator

    If the flotilla keyword is cancelled, can it still shoot through itself?

    Yes.   The body of a ship (including oars, turtle panels, outriggers, and the little flag at the back) never blocks its own lines of fire.  Only a ship’s masts will block its own shots.

    Asking for a friend: do derelicts block lines of fire?

    Yes.  Ships always block lines of fire for other ships, regardless of their condition, unless something else (ability, etc.) specifically says they don’t.

    On dismasted ships with Oarsman: are there undesirable outcomes that are avoided by not letting these ships ram other ships?  This has come up frequently this year, where a player feels they should be able to ram and board with a ship that has an oarsman.

    That’s one of the concessions to “realism” in the game, because a ship limping along with oars isn’t going to be fast enough or maneuverable enough to catch another ship, much less hit it hard enough to actually ram it.

    I also always got the impression that oarsmen were originally meant only as a method to maybe save a ship that was severely damaged, while the numerous other uses players have come up with for them over the years were unintended and/or unexpected.    Making them also prevent towing was a much later addition/modification of the ability.

    #15878
    Ben
    Keymaster

    If native canoes find the Message in a Bottle UT upon exploring, is only one transferred to the new location?

    #15879
    Woelf
    Moderator

    If native canoes find the Message in a Bottle UT upon exploring, is only one transferred to the new location?

    Correct.  Even though they all have to be given the same action, they’re given those actions individually and independently like any other ships.

    #16007
    Ben
    Keymaster

    Sleigh/Whitebeard questions: Can the “Ho Ho Ho” ability be used on every player’s turn? (or just Santa’s turn; I realize it is probably every player’s turn due to your answer on the spying abilities from October, but it just felt too ridiculous to play it that way with this one)
    Is the Sleigh’s ability to not be shot at and cannot sink one ability since it’s one sentence? (or separate for copying/cancelling purposes)

    Can an L mover move a ship out of a fog bank?

    Can Runes of Odin be revealed on any player’s turn? (or just the owner’s turn)

    Are flotillas automatically “docked” at an island when the towing ship docks? (thinking no because flotillas don’t have bows)

    Do you get 1 gold from Ransom if you eliminate your own crew after it was captured by an opponent?

    Am I correct in saying that neither of these situations trigger a player to be eliminated for the “half or more” multiplayer endgame rule: derelict with Eternal (can be scuttled), and a ship with Oarsman that is pinned in place by a sea monster.

    I may have been moving sea monsters wrong for years.  Must you always move them so the white dot is the forwardmost point?  I have usually played that they face “forward” with the tentacles of a squid outstretched which helps them be able to pin opponents more quickly.  Is this wrong?  I’ve noticed that by reversing direction on the dot and turning 180 degrees, it can produce quite a large “flip” as the tentacles reverse direction and cause a big movement jump from one extreme end to the opposite direction.

    squid

    #16008
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Sleigh/Whitebeard questions: Can the “Ho Ho Ho” ability be used on every player’s turn? (or just Santa’s turn; I realize it is probably every player’s turn due to your answer on the spying abilities from October, but it just felt too ridiculous to play it that way with this one)

    It doesn’t specify Santa’s turn, so you can use it every turn.

    Is the Sleigh’s ability to not be shot at and cannot sink one ability since it’s one sentence? (or separate for copying/cancelling purposes)

    It’s a single sentence, so yes, treat it as one single ability for copy/cancel purposes.

    Can an L mover move a ship out of a fog bank?

    No, a move action is required.

    Can Runes of Odin be revealed on any player’s turn? (or just the owner’s turn)

    It’s not triggered by some outside action (like Loki/Thor, for example), so you can only activate it during your own turn.

    Are flotillas automatically “docked” at an island when the towing ship docks? (thinking no because flotillas don’t have bows)

    Yes.  Because they don’t have bows, any part can touch the island to dock.

    Do you get 1 gold from Ransom if you eliminate your own crew after it was captured by an opponent?

    No, only players opposing to the original owner can gain gold from Ransom, regardless of what happens to the crew.

    Am I correct in saying that neither of these situations trigger a player to be eliminated for the “half or more” multiplayer endgame rule: derelict with Eternal (can be scuttled), and a ship with Oarsman that is pinned in place by a sea monster.

    Correct.   The Eternal ship can be scuttled and repaired, and pinning will never trigger the endgame.

    I may have been moving sea monsters wrong for years.  Must you always move them so the white dot is the forwardmost point?  I have usually played that they face “forward” with the tentacles of a squid outstretched which helps them be able to pin opponents more quickly.  Is this wrong?  I’ve noticed that by reversing direction on the dot and turning 180 degrees, it can produce quite a large “flip” as the tentacles reverse direction and cause a big movement jump from one extreme end to the opposite direction.

    Treat the front point (dot) similar to the bow of a standard ship for movement purposes.  It does create a big swing with the tentacles sticking so far past that point, but functionally it’s really not that different from a ship with a long front sail that reaches past its own bow.

    #16009
    CrazyIvan
    Participant

    If you hit a ship with a Switchblade, but then move away so that you are no longer touching the hit ship can boarding still occur or does the blade have to remain in contact?

    #16011
    Woelf
    Moderator

    If you hit a ship with a Switchblade, but then move away so that you are no longer touching the hit ship can boarding still occur or does the blade have to remain in contact?

    You can apply the effect against every ship that the blades touch at any point during the entire length of the  move action.  You don’t need to remain in contact with any of them.

    #16012
    CrazyIvan
    Participant

    Does your opponent still get to choose if they want to board if you choose not to?

    #16013
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Does your opponent still get to choose if they want to board if you choose not to?

    Yes.    Blade hits count as ramming, so standard boarding rules apply to each.

    The player with the Switchblade can decide the order those rams occur, but once a ramming is resolved, they can’t can’t prevent a boarding if the opponent wants to do it.

     

    For timing purposes, it goes Ram/Board 1, Ram/Board 2, Ram/Board 3, etc. (NOT Ram 1, Ram 2, Ram 3, Board 1, Board 2, Board 3…)

     

    #16054
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    If I could have some clarity on transferring cargo. Suppose two friendly ships are docked at the same friendly fort. Can the two ships transfer cargo (treasure, crew, etc) between them? Either by placing it on/in the fort and then onto the other ship or could the cargo simply be moved from A to B without needing to go to the island in between?

    Also, where is the “Transfer Rule” covered? Is it in the Code and I’ve just been missing it?

    #16111
    Ben
    Keymaster

    With the Born Leader keyword, are you supposed to take an action before rolling for the ability to get SAT?  This line from the Code seems to imply that: “-The die roll for this ability is made immediately before giving the action you wish to repeat.”  However, the ability text indicates otherwise.

    When an American native canoe is exploring, can you use the ability of another canoe within S to take a treasure from the first canoe (while it’s still exploring), thus allowing the first canoe to load additional treasure(s)?  (“Once per turn as a free action, you can transfer one treasure from a friendly ship within S of this ship to this ship.”)

    #16128
    Woelf
    Moderator

    If I could have some clarity on transferring cargo. Suppose two friendly ships are docked at the same friendly fort. Can the two ships transfer cargo (treasure, crew, etc) between them? Either by placing it on/in the fort and then onto the other ship or could the cargo simply be moved from A to B without needing to go to the island in between?

    Also, where is the “Transfer Rule” covered? Is it in the Code and I’ve just been missing it?

    Crew can be freely transferred while docked at the island, but other forms of cargo require explore actions, regardless of the type of island or what else is there.   Ship A would have to explore to unload/load, then Ship B would need a separate explore to load/unload.   Ship A would then have to explore again if B unloaded something that was wanted.

    To freely transfer cargo between the ships with just a single action they have to be touching each other directly, and one has to explore the other; you can’t go through an island or anything else in between.

     

    There’s a Transfer, Load, and Unload section on page 5 of the PC, but that doesn’t really address this situation.

    The part about crew (crew specifically, not “cargo”) is in the Docking section of the rulebook, and the transfer between ships (no mention of islands) is at the very end of the Exploring section.   The Fort rules don’t add anything that overrides or changes either of those.

    The restrictions are as much by exclusion as being specifically spelled out, because of the specific wording used (similar to how sea creatures can “only” take specific actions, which restricts others).

    #16129
    Woelf
    Moderator

    With the Born Leader keyword, are you supposed to take an action before rolling for the ability to get SAT?  This line from the Code seems to imply that: “-The die roll for this ability is made immediately before giving the action you wish to repeat.”  However, the ability text indicates otherwise.

    In normal usage the timing won’t matter that much, just as long as the roll happens before doing the action you want to repeat.

    That line in the PC about doing it immediately before the action is mostly for bookkeeping/clarity purposes so there’s no confusion about what the roll is being used for, but it also prevents (or at least reduces) any attempts to fudge the rules by generating the action but then removing the crew from the ship before actually taking it.  I can’t recall specifics, but I think at one point someone found a weird loophole that line closed.

    When an American native canoe is exploring, can you use the ability of another canoe within S to take a treasure from the first canoe (while it’s still exploring), thus allowing the first canoe to load additional treasure(s)?  (“Once per turn as a free action, you can transfer one treasure from a friendly ship within S of this ship to this ship.”)

    That treasure-grabbing ability isn’t triggered as part of the explore action, so you have to complete the entire action before you can use it.

    What you could do is have a non-canoe ship explore to load up with treasure, then have the canoes nearby grab one each from there and move away with their own actions.

    #16138
    Ochobrazo2298
    Participant

    I’ve got a question.

    If the Nautilus is decked out with the mercenary keyword in all of her glory, gets sunk while she was carrying the Neptune’s Figurehead UT, does she get placed at her home island fully repaired like the UT States, or would she not because of the mercenary keyword.

     

    #16142
    Woelf
    Moderator

    If the Nautilus is decked out with the mercenary keyword in all of her glory, gets sunk while she was carrying the Neptune’s Figurehead UT, does she get placed at her home island fully repaired like the UT States, or would she not because of the mercenary keyword.

    Mercenary’s docking restriction prevents Neptune’s Figurehead from working, so the ship just sinks and doesn’t come back.

     

    The only way to potentially save it would be to cancel the Mercenary keyword during the same turn, before it sinks.  In that case it would return home like a normal ship, but then would immediately undock at the end of the turn when the cancellation wore off.

    #16144
    Ochobrazo2298
    Participant

    Thank you! Much appreciated.

     

     

    #16147
    Ben
    Keymaster

    This ship sinks when her last mast is eliminated.

    If that ability is cancelled, does the ship sink when the cancelling “resets”, or does it stay afloat as a derelict because at that point, the last mast has already been eliminated (and having it not be cancelled is not triggering the final mast to be eliminated again).

    #16150
    Woelf
    Moderator

    This ship sinks when her last mast is eliminated.

    If that ability is cancelled, does the ship sink when the cancelling “resets”, or does it stay afloat as a derelict because at that point, the last mast has already been eliminated (and having it not be cancelled is not triggering the final mast to be eliminated again).

    That ability applies only at the moment of mast elimination, so if that’s cancelled the ship remains in play (derelict) and will not sink when the cancellation wears off.

    (It would be different if the wording was something like, “this ship sinks if it has no masts”.)

    #16152
    CrazyIvan
    Participant

    If a ship with the “Two hits from the same shoot action are required to eliminate one of this ship’s masts.” ability is hit by something with “Once per turn when this ship hits an enemy ship, also eliminate one crew from that ship.” does it still eliminate a crew if it only scores one successful hit, so not causing a mast to be lost?

    Likewise, would something like La Belle Etoile still cause a ship with “Two hits from the same shoot action are required to eliminate one of this ship’s masts.” to still lose something on every successful hit regardless of how many masts are actually eliminated?

    #16153
    Xerecs
    Moderator

    If a ship with the “Two hits from the same shoot action are required to eliminate one of this ship’s masts.” ability is hit by something with “Once per turn when this ship hits an enemy ship, also eliminate one crew from that ship.” does it still eliminate a crew if it only scores one successful hit, so not causing a mast to be lost?

    Likewise, would something like La Belle Etoile still cause a ship with “Two hits from the same shoot action are required to eliminate one of this ship’s masts.” to still lose something on every successful hit regardless of how many masts are actually eliminated?

    Yes to both of these. Those abilities are triggered by hitting a ship, not eliminating a mast.

    #16170
    Woelf
    Moderator

    If a ship with the “Two hits from the same shoot action are required to eliminate one of this ship’s masts.” ability is hit by something with “Once per turn when this ship hits an enemy ship, also eliminate one crew from that ship.” does it still eliminate a crew if it only scores one successful hit, so not causing a mast to be lost?

    Likewise, would something like La Belle Etoile still cause a ship with “Two hits from the same shoot action are required to eliminate one of this ship’s masts.” to still lose something on every successful hit regardless of how many masts are actually eliminated?

    Yes to both of these. Those abilities are triggered by hitting a ship, not eliminating a mast.

    Exactly – Both of those abilities work in full, because hits and mast eliminations are separate things that may or may not trigger other effects depending on their specific wording.

     

    If you also throw in the ability that eliminates two masts with a single hit, you end up with a sequence something like this:

    First Hit – Eliminates a crew, but no mast damage.

    Second Hit – Eliminates two masts.

    Third Hit – No damage.

    Fourth Hit – Eliminates two masts.

    Fifth Hit – Etc. (alternating)

    —————

    A ship like Asesino de la Nave (or La Belle Etoile) will still destroy cargo with every single hit, even if only every second hit eliminates a mast on the target.

    #16171
    CrazyIvan
    Participant

    Thanks for the clarification.

    #16173
    CrazyIvan
    Participant

    For Unique Treasures does the No Duplicates rule apply per player or for the treasure pool for the particular game? I.e. can you have multiple copies of a UT in the same game if different players bring them?

    #16174
    Woelf
    Moderator

    Thanks for the clarification.

    You’re welcome!

    For Unique Treasures does the No Duplicates rule apply per player or for the treasure pool for the particular game? I.e. can you have multiple copies of a UT in the same game if different players bring them?

    In general, the No-Duplicates rule is only applied on a per-player basis, so two different players could add the same UTs or use the same ships/crew/etc..

    Normally you’d have no idea going into a game what the other players will be using in their fleets or what they’ll contribute to the treasure pool, so there’s no good or fair way to enforce that rule globally if two or more players wanted to use identical things, without switching to a full drafting format (or similar).

    There are a few edge cases and nuances to the rule, but they’re relatively minor and mostly obvious (page 7 of the PC and the second post back on the very first page of this thread go into more detail).

Viewing 30 posts - 541 through 570 (of 575 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.