Woelf

  • (Ability text for reference)

    Native Canoe. Give this ship a move action but do not move her. Instead, roll a d6. On a result of 5 or 6, you may repair one mast on ships within S of any native canoes.

    ——–

    I have a couple questions and clarifications regarding the English Native Canoes from RtSS.
    In the old MT thread it was confirmed that they…

    [Read more]

  • “Spanish Native Canoes”
    Native Canoe. Each treasure this ship unloads at your home island is worth +1 gold.

    A couple questions, firstly since the ability refers to “this ship” and not “this canoe” I take it that it could be copied and used by another ship?
    Is the trigger different enough to stack with other gold bonus abilities, specificall…

    [Read more]

  • “The Code, S-Boarding”
    -This ability may be used by or against a ship that is submerged

    This would mostly apply to submarines, but if the S-board ability was on a Sea Monster, either built-in like on Lasses’ Lament or present via a the Chariot, would that Sea Monster be able to board while submerged?

    Yes, it can be used by a submerged Sea M…[Read more]

  • Sorry, busy week and I’d missed this one earlier…

    Just for sake of clarification, I assume both coins have to be completely random for Ship Treasure Trading? (unless a ship only has 1 coin of course)  Or is it still loser chooses?

    Once per turn, if this ship carries treasure and is within S of an enemy ship, you may randomly trade one…

    [Read more]

  • Understood, so the “movement” of hopping (one fog bank to another) is not considered to be during the move action. (but rather before it starts I suppose)  I figured it was, because it says “she may use her move action to move out”.
    In other words, “during a move action” would in this case only apply to move segments, rather than the physical ac…

    [Read more]

  • Can a Fog Hopper that also has the “Ignores Terrain” ability still fog hop as normal?

    If this ship (sea monster) ends her turn in a fog bank, on her next turn she may use her move action to move out of any other fog bank in play.
    This ship ignores terrain when she is given a move action (islands are not terrain).

    Ex: In the Ability Con…

    [Read more]

  • If a submerged submarine is wrecked on a reef, is it explorable by players almost like it’s back on the surface?

    Yes – Wrecks are treated like they sank, so they lose the use of any abilities they may have had, including the ability to submerge (or stay submerged).

  • Quick question. What direction does a squid (sea monster) face when it moves? Tentacles facing forward or behind?
    I assume behind because that’s how squids moving in real life. Plus the white dot to indicate where to start movement is on the base of the squid with the tentacles facing behind.

    For movement purposes, the “front” is considered t…[Read more]

  • I assume you cannot ram from this ability?
    “Once per turn, this ship can move S after loading cargo.”

    Correct.  That bonus movement is not part of a move action, even if the loading is caused by one (via an explorer, boarding, etc.).

    You can still use most “touch” abilities, though.

  • Can a stationary ship that is ghostly be boarded?
    I always assumed no, but this wording from the Code and a rules question at Discord made me pause.

    -The effect of ghostly only applies when the ship is moving. If it stops on terrain, the effects apply normally.

    Is that one “effect” (emphasis on the non-plural form) referring to terrain onl…[Read more]

  • The Pirate Code, Icebergs
    If an iceberg moves and touches any other object, it stops moving immediately. Unless that object was an island, the iceberg may be moved again at a later time per the standard rules

    I take this to mean that an iceberg would stop moving if it came into contact with another piece of terrain, it wouldn’t move over or t…

    [Read more]

  • Mostly just want to know why UPS works when some other things don’t.  It feels like #’s 5 & 10 of the explore action should require a full explore, rather than being available on free explore.

    I don’t remember all of the details of what’s in the UPS fleet, but that setup was basically designed to push every limit and exploit every loophole and…[Read more]

  • Lots of free actions can be triggered from full actions, including multiple free actions resulting from the same initial full action.
    There are several types of free actions that won’t trigger other free actions, but some that do.
    Can we get a full breakdown of the nuances of free actions and triggers?
    Why does UPS work with free explores, but r…

    [Read more]

  • Does Filching Gold only work right when the ships touch? Or can it be used later in the same action that resulted in them touching?

    Ex: If you could use it after someone steals a coin via boarding, to simply take the coin right back.

    It should be used as close to when the contact first occurs as possible, which in a scenario where a ship rammed…[Read more]

  • Stern turn of Schooner/Longship/etc: “When given a move action, this ship can rotate on her stern (the rear of the ship) in any direction as an additional, final movement segment.”
    Because it says “additional”, does that mean a schooner cannot stern turn as its only move segment of a move action?
    I would think they could, but I suppose it’s larg…

    [Read more]

  • Apologies if I’ve asked this before….

    Links
    Multiple different crew may be linked to a single ship at once, but each crew can link with only one other crew or ship at a time unless an ability specifically allows additional links to be created.

    How many cargo spaces would a ship gain if it carried all three Knights of Malta at once? (Don Raf…

    [Read more]

  • For ships that can stern turn, I assume that rotation “sweeps” across the playing surface?  (and the ship needs a clear path, rather than getting picked up and placed, though the Code mentions the latter under Moving)

    The stern turn is written as just a rotation, so you do not get to pick up the ship like with a normal segment.   You aren’t…[Read more]

  • Curious as to your thoughts on these. What about:
    1. Basing the capture on a boarding score differential  (ex: If this ship wins a boarding party by a differential of 8 or more, you capture the other ship but she cannot be given actions this turn.)
    2. Only being able to capture non-derelict ships if they have no crew  (ex: If this ship wins a b…

    [Read more]

  • Suppose a ship finds Buried Treasure (or Plunder), and that treasure is later lost in a boarding party to an enemy ship. Does the loosing a turn aspect of those treasures apply to the ship that took them in the boarding party?
    Ship A finds Buried Treasure(BT) and looses a turn and establishes value. Ship A is later boarded by enemy ship B. Ship B…

    [Read more]

  • So I guess the point of my rambling here is this: What exactly is the authority of the Code? My limited understanding was that it is more or less the rules set down by Wizkid’s rule arbitrator. But if that’s the case, why isn’t this printed on the cards or in the rules pamphlet that comes with the game itself?

    The original purpose of the Pirat…[Read more]

  • Load More