Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG › Pirates CSG Forums › Pirates CSG › Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code › Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code
(Contined…)
I thought I was onto a potential auto-win via a smokepot specialist gimmick…
Fog Hopping with a smokepot specialist: When the fog bank is removed at the beginning of your turn, you may choose to roll and place this ship immediately (per normal the rules for smokepots) or you may choose to have it remain “inside” the fog. If it remains in the fog, the ship must exit another fog bank before the end of your turn; if it does not exit, it is removed from the game instead.
Smokepot Specialist entry: When the smoke (fog bank) is to be removed, if there are any ships “lost” inside the player whose turn it is should roll for each of their exit locations, place them accordingly, and then remove the fog bank.
… but it appears impossible. I assume that the second option (to stay inside a fog bank about to be eliminated) for a Fog Hopper is there and not in the Smokepot Specialist entry because if it was in the latter, it would allow for gamey situations where the smokebank controller could choose to let any enemy ships inside be removed from the game?
Ex: Put a smokebank next to an enemy HI on turn 1, then use MI’s or Altar of the Loa/etc to move their entire enemy fleet into the smokebank. At the beginning of your next turn, since you are the current player, choose option 2 that all ships inside stay and therefore get removed. (looks like option 2 is only an option with a Fog Hopper specifically)
Remaining inside the fog/smoke is only an option for Fog-Hoppers specifically, and the owner of the ship gets to decide if it stays or not. Otherwise, all ships automatically get forced out when the smoke is removed.
Regarding sequential bad fire mast rolls, I assume this is the correct ruling because it occurred before this one? (both answers at the bottom of those posts. I didn’t realize until now, searching for an unrelated past question that I had asked it twice)
Newly-added masts do not immediately generate additional rolls. I’ll add that one to my notes to get it clearly stated.
I can’t recall or find what happens when an outside force pushes a ship out of a fog bank. If an L-mover or something like Bad Maps pushes a ship out of a fog bank, do you still roll for exit location?
Nothing happens; those can’t push ships out. A move action is required to exit.
If a piece of terrain is placed underneath a kraken surrounding a ship, do both roll for effect or is it only the kraken since it is (likely) the only one touching the terrain? Would placing a whirlpool under the kraken+surrounded ship via the Lost UT allow both players that control those ships to use the whirlpool immediately? Since the kraken would be touching the whirlpool first, I assume its controlling player would choose whether or not to whirl the kraken first. If they choose to, can they bring the surrounded ship with them since the surrounded ship never touches the whirlpool? If they choose not to bring the surrounded ship and the formerly surrounded ship takes the whirlpool to the same exit location, the kraken player could then immediately surround the ship again (“At any time during your turn if your kraken is within S of an opponent’s ship, it may surround that ship as a free action”). If it was a 10 masted ship, the hull is long enough that the resulting surround could place the kraken in contact with a third whirlpool – within S of the second one. Thus the cycle could potentially renew again! XD
The surrounded ship cannot move, so it can’t use the whirlpool effect if the Kraken/Octo remains there. If the K/O player does move it to another, the surrounded ship remains where it was and is now free to use the whirlpool as well (because the K/O has moved away).
If the ship moves within range of the K/O it can be surrounded again, but the whirlpool effect will not retrigger again even if one or both are still touching the second one.
Going back to March 2023:
The mover ability of Tsuro (and similar) doesn’t work because it can’t push one ship through another, even if there would be enough physical space at the end of the L-distance to place the target ship. The Kraken’s base does count as part of the Kraken even though it mostly only shows water, and any outside force that tried to move the surrounded should would have to move the surrounded ship through that base, so the ship has nowhere to go.
Would an L-mover work if the ship inside the kraken was ghostly?
The effect of ghostly applies any time this ship moves, whether it is due to a move action or any other means.
It seems like that could be used on a ghostly ship to execute a “kraken pass” going from one kraken to another. Or on a non-ghostly ship if both krakens were cancelled.
If a kraken is cancelled while multiple ships are forced to move into it (such as an entire set of native canoes), what happens when the Kraken keyword is reactivated? Are all but one of the ships forced out, or can the kraken player choose to not surround any of the ships? In this instance, does it matter when the Kraken keyword is reactivated? (ex: if it gets reactivated after a friendly CCJ roll fails, vs. if reactivated during an opponent’s turn when an enemy CCJ effect wears off)
A Ghostly ship could be pushed out, but only if it can be moved completely out, because it can’t end the movement overlapping any part of another ship. This also prevents passing the ship directly from one Kraken to another; the first has to move out of the way somehow so the second can use the “surround” ability on the just-released ship.
Cancelling the Kraken ability doesn’t negate the presence of its baseplate. Any ship pushed toward it would stop immediately upon hitting that.
Can a ship that has all L-range cannons use Broadsides Attack successfully to hit an enemy ship that has the defensive “L-immunity” ability? (L-range cannons cannot hit this ship) Relevant Code entries:
-Broadsides Attack ignores all defensive abilities of the target ship, except those that make it an invalid target for a shoot action.
-The ability “L-range cannons cannot hit this ship” does not make a ship an invalid target, even if the attacker has only L-range cannons available. It can prevent a shot from hitting, but does not prevent the shot from being made.
This seems to imply that a Broadsides Attack from L-range cannons could indeed hit an otherwise L-immune ship – since the enemy ship is not an invalid target, BA should ignore all defensive abilities, including the ability to not be hit by L-range cannons (regardless of them being reduced to S range).
It seems like that last sentence of the second entry (can prevent a shot from hitting) is meant as a reminder for when L-range shots are potentially taken against an L-immune ship, not specifically when BA is used against an L-immune ship.
L-immunity is useless against Broadsides Attack, regardless of the cannons on the attacking ship. It prevent hits, not shots, so by the time those cannonballs arrive BA has shut down the immunity.
Should the Letter of Marque UT’s be part of the No-Duplicates Rule? The CC version has an additional ability regarding forts, while the PotC one is clearly set in that “movie universe” which is distinct from the Crimson Coast lore.
The no-duplicates rule does apply to both UT versions of the Letter, and they should be treated as having the same ability (including the part about Forts). The only reason the PotC version doesn’t include the extra text is because WK was pretending that forts didn’t exist when that set was made.
I think the Letter of Marque UT is actually a trojan horse. It says “This ship can dock at an enemy home island and be given repair actions (only) while there.” Technically, that means you cannot be given a move action to move away from the island… meaning the ship is stuck there! O_O XD
Yes, go with the option that breaks the game! 😛
(Really, it’s just meant to say you can’t steal stuff or shoot at other ships while there. Fix your ship and then leave before anyone else returns home.)