Rules for Thought #24 – Boarding Party Results

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Rules for Thought #24 – Boarding Party Results

This topic contains 9 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Ben 4 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #4226

    Ben
    Keymaster

    Now that the Rules survey has some results (37 responses as of this post), I think it would be a good idea to discuss some various options in detail.

    Who should choose what happens after a boarding party?

    Winner always chooses which category of consequence: crew, gold, or a mast. Loser chooses which of these if this is a standard boarding action. Winner chooses if this is an ability-driven boarding action, such as from Le Gaule since it is implied that the crew would be specialized for boarding and would know what to target instead of flailing about in a melee.

    I like these rules.  I generally like having the winner choose for everything except which specific crew gets eliminated.  Adding mast elimination to the boarding options makes boarding more powerful, which is something that numerous players have expressed interest in.  Making things dependent on an ability complicates things a bit, but also makes sense.  There would just have to be clear limits on what would be affected – is +1 to boarding rolls enough to be considered “ability-driven”?

    Feel free to leave your thoughts on this!

    #4245

    Ed
    Participant

    I like the idea that the winner chooses treasure and the loser chooses crew, my variant rule is that if there is no crew and you succeed then you may leave a crew on the losers ship to capture it. Losing masts is to powerful unless its a seamonster or something that can break masts, I may warm up to the idea of setting fire while boarding though(no pun intended) but a simple way of handling all of this would maybe be special crew I.e. a lumberjack lol/torchbearer…

    #4246

    Ben
    Keymaster

    my variant rule is that if there is no crew and you succeed then you may leave a crew on the losers ship to capture it.

    Even if the ship isn’t derelict?  That seems very powerful to me.

    I may warm up to the idea of setting fire while boarding though(no pun intended) but a simple way of handling all of this would maybe be special crew I.e. a lumberjack lol/torchbearer…

    I think a firepot specialist could have that capability with a higher cost.  Though I’d much prefer the “super capture” idea (being able to capture a non-derelict through boarding) to setting an enemy aflame while your crew members are still on the enemy ship. (since I think it happened far more often based on my memories of the books I’ve read)

    #4251

    Ed
    Participant

    Yeah it would definitely be powerful to capture a non-derelic but also realistic also looking back now I think a 1 cost crew could be a sail slasher that may destroy a mast when boarding successfully.

    #4253

    Ben
    Keymaster

    Yeah it would definitely be powerful to capture a non-derelic but also realistic also looking back now I think a 1 cost crew could be a sail slasher that may destroy a mast when boarding successfully.

    Indeed, or perhaps an equipment like “boarding axes” since anyone could do the deed.

    #4261

    Ed
    Participant

    That would be nearly perfect, but equipment are ussualy discarded when used maybe a unique treasure would be good. I would also accept an equipment that isn’t removed when used.

    #4263

    Ben
    Keymaster

    That would be nearly perfect, but equipment are ussualy discarded when used maybe a unique treasure would be good. I would also accept an equipment that isn’t removed when used.

    The LE equipment are eliminated after use, but they’re extremely rare and not as good as the regular versions so I don’t see that being an issue.

    #4264

    Ed
    Participant

    Nice I’ll have to look up some more equipment!

    #4322

    Ed
    Participant

    My group and I were thinking about how its wierd that you may only board by ramming or special ability so after thinking a little bit I figured maybe a ship may make ONE free boarding action at the start of its turn if its in contact with another.(this way if a ship is still jammed against yours you may board it but it also can’t be abused to allow you to board multiple vessels at the start of tour turn)This may need its own thread but it still is related to boarding rules

    #4325

    Ben
    Keymaster

    My group and I were thinking about how its wierd that you may only board by ramming or special ability so after thinking a little bit I figured maybe a ship may make ONE free boarding action at the start of its turn if its in contact with another.(this way if a ship is still jammed against yours you may board it but it also can’t be abused to allow you to board multiple vessels at the start of tour turn)This may need its own thread but it still is related to boarding rules

    That’s actually how I thought boarding worked some time in the past.  It’s rather bizarre that you have to re-ram or re-initiate contact with an enemy ship to board them again.  I think I’ve read about different waves of boarding parties in history between ships that were essentially stuck together, locked in combat.

    Makes a lot of sense, and I’ll consider adding this to my actual Basic Rules I like to use.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.