Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

#20500
Woelf
Moderator

(Ability text for reference)

Native Canoe. Give this ship a move action but do not move her. Instead, roll a d6. On a result of 5 or 6, you may repair one mast on ships within S of any native canoes.

——–

I have a couple questions and clarifications regarding the English Native Canoes from RtSS.

In the old MT thread it was confirmed that they can be used to “repair” Sea Monsters. Would their ability allow for non-Sea Monster creatures to be “repaired” as well; such as Sea Dragons, Titans and Krakens/Octopus? Specifically for a Kraken, could the ability target both the Kraken and any ship that Kraken may have surrounded?

The sea creature rules are what prevents them from being given repair actions.  The canoe ability works on them because it’s making the repair without giving the action to the creature.

If I have a damaged ship near an opposing damaged ship and a friendly non-English Native Canoe is within S of both, and an English canoe succeeds at their roll, would both ships within S of the non-English canoe be able to repair a mast? Or am I able to choose to not have the enemy ship repair?

The player using the canoe’s ability gets to choose which specific ships out of all that are eligible actually get repaired.   You’re not forced to repair opposing ships and generally wouldn’t, but there might be the rare situation where it’s  somehow to your benefit.

In the same situation as above, but this time 3 English canoes have succeeded on their roll. Can all of the rolls be applied through the non English canoe that is within S of my damaged ship and the opposing ship? Or would each successful English canoe roll require a different canoe to go through?

Each successful roll triggers the effect, so three successful rolls means up to three repairs per ship in range of any canoe.   Only the English ones can attempt the roll, but ANY canoe in play, even opposing ones, can be used to determine what gets repaired.

You should resolve each roll and repair separately – don’t roll for multiple canoes at once.