Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG › Pirates CSG Forums › Pirates CSG › Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code › Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

“The Code, Broadsides Attack, pg 19”
The ability “L-range cannons cannot hit this ship” does not make a ship an invalid target, even if the attacker has
only L-range cannons available. It can prevent a shot from hitting, but does not prevent the shot from being made.
Would I be correct in interpreting this to mean that if a ship has only L range cannons and tries to Broadside Attack a ship that cannot be hit by L-range cannons, that the target ship can be shot at, but not hit, even if the roll for Broadsides Attack is successful?
For example, Commander Temple is on HMS Gallows and targets targets the Sea Fox with a Broadsides Attack. The Broadsides roll is successful, but Sea Fox ignores the hits due to her ability.
Is that right, or would the Broadsides Attack hit the Sea Fox?