Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG › Pirates CSG Forums › Pirates CSG › Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code › Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code
Once per turn, this ship can move S after loading cargo. (and other similar abilities)
-The location of the cargo or treasure must be different before and after using this ability. You cannot unload (or load) an item to trigger the bonus and then immediately load (or unload) the same item before moving.
Are those abilities really enough to warrant the Code adding a clause to the ability? (whereas it’s normally just for clarifying) I think that “loophole” might be what’s needed to justify their cost.
If a ship happens to get placed in contact with two pieces of terrain at the same time, I assume the owner of the ship chooses which terrain applies first. What happens if the ship is wrecked on a reef but still overlapping a fog bank? Would the wreck get sucked in and lost forever? If the fog bank is applied first, does that mean the reef roll/rating doesn’t apply? (if it does still apply, it would make it even more likely that it results in a “lost wreck”) Similarly, if a ship is moved laterally to overlap a sargasso sea and fog bank at the same time, can she get “stuck” in the fog bank and need to make sargasso rolls from the fog? (which might depend on which terrain is applied first)
A bit of a niche situation if not using a house rule for terrain to be closer than S, but still certainly possible, especially if L-moving a 10 master or other ship with a long hull.