Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG › Pirates CSG Forums › Pirates CSG › Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code › Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code
I would prefer that the Sniping ability work in a mix and match way – such as the crew putting extra gunpowder in some cannons due to certain targets being farther away, but a regular amount for enemies at closer range. I also want it to be modular per action, so the ship could shoot 2/3 cannons at doubled range for one action, then maybe more or less cannons at doubled range for a potential second action (the ship has good gun crews, and maybe some extra/speedy powder monkeys). Would this change be sufficient to make that work?
You may double the range of any of this ship’s cannons each action, but if you do you must roll a 6 to hit.
Perhaps there is a more optimal/less wordy way to do it (changes italicized). Thanks!
That change should work. I’d adjust the ending phrase to “…if you do, that cannon must roll a 6 to hit.” to remove any doubt.
If an ability says “This ship may never dock at your home island”, I assume it could still start the game docked at your home island? (because it doesn’t include the clause in Mercenary preventing it)
That ship would be technically unplayable because it could not be placed at the start of a game, unless some alternative placement option was provided, similar to Mercenary.
I assume if there is a crew with the Island Treasure Trading ability on a ship, unloading that crew during the explore action where you trade does not nullify the ability because the trade occurs before the unloading? (and also because in some situations, you might be required to unload the crew in order to make the trade, since the ship must load the traded treasure)
As long as the trade is fully resolved before unloading the crew, that’s legal. If the received treasure somehow forces that crew off after the trade is completed (Fruit) it still works, but if the ship is already full before trading, you can’t use the ability because you wouldn’t be able to load the traded treasure (the traded treasure is assumed to be a standard coin, requiring one space, prior to being traded).
Since abilities take precedence over rules, I assume that if a ship with 1 cargo space (occupied by an Island Treasure Trader crew) found the Runes of Wealth UT and traded a different coin for a regular 2 coin, she would have to load the 2 and leave Runes of Wealth on the island? (though it would still be revealed to all players)
If a ship with only 1 cargo space loaded Runes of Wealth, it would force that trader crew to be unloaded, then would trigger its roll and remove itself. You could then re-load that crew, but still couldn’t trade for a new treasure because the ship is already full (similar to above).
If you loaded another treasure instead, Runes of Wealth wouldn’t affect it because the new treasure wasn’t on the ship when the value roll was made.
I originally was using that example with the Fruit UT, but then I remembered the Code entry for it. Should the following entry apply to all of the face up UT’s that take up cargo space? (and must be loaded since they’re face up. I didn’t see the entry for the Runes that take up space)
Yes, similar should be applied to any space-taking UTs if there isn’t enough space for them. It’s generally not going to be an issue for Runes of Wealth because filling the cargo triggers its removal.
In some strange universe, Jikininki (the only non-creature ship with 0 cargo spaces) explores an island, loading both Rotting Hull (-1 cargo spaces) and Fruit (takes up 2 spaces). Do you know if there are any strange interactions or problems that might occur because of that? I assume she could still load an oarsman because it doesn’t take up cargo space, even if the cargo is “negative”? (if it can technically go to -1). Theoretically she could then load other coins that “take up space” and must be loaded, such as Sunken Treasure – maybe even multiple copies via Pandora’s Box(es) until she’s at a bizarre and ridiculous deficit. XD
Rats and Fruit don’t negate each other, and cargo space (like gold value) cannot be negative; it just remains at zero. The ship could still carry a single oarsman, plus any number of other face up UTs that don’t require space.
At a wild island, the coins found are Maps of Alexandria, Savage Natives, Missionary, and a 6. The Maps and Savage Natives both say “when revealed”, implying that their effects occur before loading and applying any other mandatory face up UT’s. In this situation I think you must apply the Savage Natives before the Missionary, which could prevent the loading of Missionary? Savage Natives says “Then this ship can load one more treasure (only).” Since the loser/explorer usually chooses, I chose to load the 6 and not the Missionary as the only other treasure the ship could load. Or was that wrong because normally you must take any face up UT’s, and that rule would override which of the two remaining coins the ship could load? I assume if the final coin was something like Rotting Hull instead of the 6, then the exploring player could choose which to load since they’re dealing with a mandatory face up UT either way? (Missionary vs. Rotting Hull)
The timing really doesn’t matter much with these. Neither the Missionary nor the Savage Natives care if there are actually any crew on your ship when they activate; Missionary still removes itself, and SN still limits how much more you can load.
SN then returns to the island and will trigger again normally the next time a ship explores the island. The only timing distinction that does matter is whether you apply the Maps or SN first, and that will only determine whether SN returns to the island face down and remains face down, or if it returns and then immediately gets flipped face up.
SN’s loading restriction only applies to optional treasures, like standard coins and UTs that would normally load face down. You still have to deal with any and all other UTs normally.