Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG › Pirates CSG Forums › Pirates CSG › Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code › Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code
I understand the first answer below makes the second situation nearly impossible, but it could still happen via an MI that allows for a coin to be replaced with a UT, providing the possibility of additional Runes of Thor for CCJ every turn. (hence my follow up question)
If CCJ’s ship uses Runes of Thor to get the 6 and also has Nemo’s Plans aboard, does Runes of Thor get eliminated when Nemo’s Plans gets shut down, or is it preserved if Nemo’s Plans can save the Runes before CCJ’s ability takes effect?
^If it’s the latter: Is endgame condition #3 (no future move actions) triggered if a player has CCJ with Nemo’s Plans and Runes of Thor aboard to prevent an enemy player’s last (derelict) ship from ever repairing with the Trees UT? (for example, if they loaded Trees with a derelict ship while CCJ is active, the derelict ship is then forced away from the island, and the theoretical “future repair” of Trees is the player’s only hope of staying in the game) On one hand, the CCJ player could decide not to use the Runes of Thor and miss a CCJ roll, letting Trees repair the enemy ship and it could get future move actions. Or they could just flat-out say they would always use CCJ to prevent the use of Trees, in which case they would have complete control over the game if the endgame condition was not considered to be triggered.
Runes of Thor removes itself as soon as it converts the result to a 6. Because that also triggers Jack’s ability, Nemo’s Plans cannot save it.
Jack can prevent a derelict from repairing with Trees, but won’t prevent that endgame trigger if Trees are facedown on the island, even if all players know it’s there, because the game counts it as a generic facedown coin if it’s not face up.
In the example I was thinking about, it seems Trees would be face up on the enemy derelict if it was loaded when CCJ was active. However, perhaps it would trigger as “revealed” as soon as CCJ’s effect wears off, repairing the derelict on an enemy turn and preventing CCJ from cancelling it continuously?
If the ship moves within range of the K/O it can be surrounded again, but the whirlpool effect will not retrigger again even if one or both are still touching the second one.
Makes sense for the second whirlpool; I was thinking of a strange niche situation where there are 2 pairs of whirlpools each within “surround distance” so the kraken+ship combo could keep bouncing between them.
Can a kraken that has no segments (still in play via Eternal) move away from the home island with no segments and surround an enemy ship?
What happens if an Eternal sea creature with no segments is moved away from the home island (perhaps by an L-mover) before it can repair? Does it just “sink” again?
This is just me being stubborn on the “can’t ignore iceberg terrain” weirdness, but I couldn’t help but notice: HMS Hermes is the one ship in Ocean’s Edge with the ability of “This ship ignores terrain when she is given a move action (islands are not terrain).” (just confirmed on the card as well, not just the Master Spreadsheet) Icebergs were present in OE, which came out after FN. However, the ability text changed back to not excluding icebergs from the “ignore” criteria. This also appears to be the case on other post-FN ships, such as Argo, USS Mercury, and Honu Iki. I think I’m just turning into more of a “rules/abilities as written” type of player over time.
Thanks for the answers! I think that was probably my longest-ever Rules question post O_O