Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

#18157
Woelf
Moderator

I discovered something I don’t think I’d ever seen or thought about before in a recent game of Tournament #3. An island can be placed so close to the corner of the map in such a way that a ship can start the game docked there, but with no room to maneuver to leave that little corner it occupies.  Especially with flat earth (hard boundary, not abyss) as the default rule, are there any rules problems with that?

I think the simplest solution is to have a minimum edge distance rule, maybe a single L, just to avoid any weird issues like that.   Granted, I don’t see that ever happening by accident.

I assume this confirms that MI effect rolls are considered to be made for the island rather than the ship?  In which case, the Cursed Zone event would not affect MI rolls.

More specifically, the roll is not being made by (or for) the ship, which is where the reroll ability applies.

What happens to game pieces that involve counting turns? (such as the mermaids event, Sunken Treasure UT, etc.)  Would the “reset period” before rolling for CCJ’s ability on the following turn of a “cancelled turn” cause them to elapse a turn in the count? (I imagine there is a reset since CCJ’s ability has the same “beginning of turn” text as Copier Davy Jones, who has a reset period that can have implications where abilities like a cargo bonus could have wider implications even if the same ability is re-copied)
Not sure if any of those would be affected in different ways – for example, Sunken Treasure says “at the beginning of each of your turns”, while mermaids does not.

It essentially puts counters on pause until they can resume.

Any counters due to change when you would start your turn will still count down normally, but counters that would change during other player turns will not, because they’re temporarily blocked.

If CCJ is eliminated or removed from the game during a “cancelled round” where he rolls a 6, are all abilities except Parley still cancelled until his player’s next turn?

I assume CCJ functions even if the use of his ability being applied would prevent him from functioning? (ex: he gets a 6 while on a sea monster via Chariot of the Gods, cancelling the UT which I believe forces his removal from the game)

Like other persistent/duration effects, if the source (Jack) is eliminated or cancelled somehow, the ability restriction immediately ends.

Shutting down the Chariot will eject anyone riding on it, even Jack.  (Don’t put him there!)

If CCJ is active, does that cause Turtles in the water to be both immobile and immune to elimination?

Correct.   They just sit there doing nothing (and cannot be interacted with) until the effect wears off.

When Turtles dock at a home island, are they replaced by 1 coins or the tokens simply placed on the island?  If they are not converted to 1’s, would CCJ make them worthless?  (it seems so; it would be wild to “cancel” an opponent’s gold advantage at the opportune moment. This could also implicate the PotC Dead Man’s Chest UT and others)

They technically do not get replaced with coins, and are simply worth 1 gold each.   They would have no value while CCJ’s ability is active, but his effect doesn’t continue beyond the end of the game, so they’ll still count toward victory if they’re on a home island.

Are Gold Capture captives already unloaded at a home island worthless while CCJ is active? (Code says “zero gold when unloaded” but nothing about if they’ve already been unloaded)

I need to add a note to the PC stating that once a captive is unloaded for gold, that value cannot be lost (still counts toward victory at the end, similar to Turtles) no matter what happens to the crew that captured them after being unloaded.   Otherwise, having the capture crew be cancelled or eliminated after the fact could create issues.

I assume CCJ prevents abilities that happen in the “future” ahead of his effect, from effects/abilities that occurred before his 6 roll happened?  Ex: Player 1 steals gold with the HI raiding ability. Player 2 gets a 6 with CCJ – does Player 1’s ship have to leave the enemy HI on her turn, or can she now just sit there instead since the ability is cancelled for the whole round?

The ship would still have to leave, because it can’t dock at an opponent’s home island.  Even if it does not (or cannot) physically move, it becomes undocked.

Does Holy Water/Davy Jones’ Heart provide any protection against CCJ?

Yes, Holy Water provides protection…   unless the ship carrying it is on the same side as CCJ.  (HW only protects against enemy abilities.)

I assume that as soon as CCJ goes inactive, any dormant UT effects are applied immediately, before other things such as a kraken surround can occur?

Correct.   Persistent effects resume the instant CCJ’s effect ends.

If CCJ’s ship uses Runes of Thor to get the 6 and also has Nemo’s Plans aboard, does Runes of Thor get eliminated when Nemo’s Plans gets shut down, or is it preserved if Nemo’s Plans can save the Runes before CCJ’s ability takes effect?

^If it’s the latter: Is endgame condition #3 (no future move actions) triggered if a player has CCJ with Nemo’s Plans and Runes of Thor aboard to prevent an enemy player’s last (derelict) ship from ever repairing with the Trees UT? (for example, if they loaded Trees with a derelict ship while CCJ is active, the derelict ship is then forced away from the island, and the theoretical “future repair” of Trees is the player’s only hope of staying in the game)  On one hand, the CCJ player could decide not to use the Runes of Thor and miss a CCJ roll, letting Trees repair the enemy ship and it could get future move actions.  Or they could just flat-out say they would always use CCJ to prevent the use of Trees, in which case they would have complete control over the game if the endgame condition was not considered to be triggered.

Runes of Thor removes itself as soon as it converts the result to a 6.  Because that also triggers Jack’s ability, Nemo’s Plans cannot save it.

Jack can prevent a derelict from repairing with Trees, but won’t prevent that endgame trigger if Trees are facedown on the island, even if all players know it’s there, because the game counts it as a generic facedown coin if it’s not face up.

While CCJ is active, are players allowed to unload UT’s that can normally be unloaded for gold? (if so, they would just be worthless and I believe stay that way)  Ex: Barbary Banner/etc become “generic” UT’s? “UTs that produce a gold value must be unloaded when a ship docks at its home island. No other face-up UT can be unloaded to any island unless an ability specifically allows otherwise.”  Would CCJ’s ability take precedence over that rule, allowing a face-up UT like Fruit to be unloaded to a home island?

If a ship explores an island and finds a unique treasure, it is loaded and revealed per the standard rules but remains dormant until the effect of this ability ends. If the UT would normally be loaded facedown it remains face up.

Since they are loaded face up, does that mean it automatically turns Abandoned Crew into crew (not treasure) as soon as they are loaded?  Or do they “remain dormant” and in some kind of purgatory state in between crew and treasure?

While CCJ is active, if a ship loads a bunch of UT’s that are normally loaded face down, what happens when they go active?  If they suddenly have to take up one cargo space each (due to their abilities functioning normally), can a player activate them before resolving an illegal cargo situation, or are they forced out of the game before any effects can be applied?

Lots of strange implications with CCJ! Would be fun to intentionally give an opponent a UT like Fruit that normally can’t be unloaded, upon losing a boarding party. Also, since you can use Parley while it’s active, I think you could give an opponent a negative UT that normally can’t be unloaded.

The generic UT rules apply to all while CCJ is active, so they must be revealed when found during an explore action, they take up no space, and cannot be unloaded, even if they could/would do something else under normal circumstance.

Abandoned Crew would have to be revealed immediately per UT rules, but from that point on are treated as standard crew (CCJ will block the use of their abilities.)

Persistent UT effects will resume normally as soon as CCJ’s ability wears off.   UTs that are normally revealed and take effect when first found on an island will apply their effects immediately at that time, if possible.    UTs that can normally be loaded facedown to be used later remain face up, and can be used when the player carrying them chooses to use them.

Runes of the Serpent: This treasure takes up one cargo space. This ship can dock at any iceberg. On her next turn, you may place her docked at any other iceberg; she can still be given a move action that turn. Then remove Runes of the Serpent from the game.

After the ship docks at the first iceberg, does it being eliminated via Runes of Destruction prevent the ship from docking at a different iceberg on her next turn?

It’s similar to using Fog-Hoppers and smoke, so as long as there’s at least one iceberg still in play on the following turn, the ship can dock there via Serpent.    (A key difference from smoke hopping is that the ship remains in play where it was when the initial iceberg is removed; it doesn’t disappear along with it.)    You must do the docking before doing anything else with the ship; you can’t give it actions and then jump away to some other iceberg.

If after docking at the second iceberg and Runes of Magic is played, does the ship lose a mast to the iceberg if the iceberg is moved L in such a way that it maintains contact with the bow of the ship? (such as the port bow area to the starboard bow area on a wide junk ship)  Or would that be considered a terrain-based redocking?  (I assume if the iceberg is moved into contact with any other part of the ship, she definitely takes damage)

If an iceberg moves while the ship is docked, it’s treated like Bad Maps – the ship moves with it.

 Runes of Wealth: This treasure takes up one cargo space. When this ship has reached her cargo capacity, roll a d6. Replace the value of each non-unique treasure on this ship with the result. Then remove Runes of Wealth from the game.

If Runes of Wealth is rolled for in a Cursed Zone and the player gets a 1, are the coins replaced with 0’s or 1’s? (theoretically they should be -1’s, but I would guess 1’s since d6 rolls below 1 are not accounted for in the game, to my knowledge)

If Runes of Wealth and Nemo’s Plans are on the same ship, what happens when the cargo capacity is reached? I assume the player could just continually roll a d6 over and over until they got the result they wanted?  Or would they have to re-reach the ship’s cargo capacity each time they wanted to roll? (such as unloading a crew and loading it back again via the free transfer rule)

Gold value cannot be reduced below zero, but can be reduced to zero.

Nemo’s Plans won’t continuously re-trigger the effect while the  ship is full, but if it goes below full capacity and fills back up again, it can trigger again.