On a related note, for win condition #3 on page 14, can the phrase “a player” mean the opposing player, or does every “his/her/player” reference in that sentence specifically reference the active player’s turn and no opponents?
That applies only to the current/active player’s own turn. If some other player gets wiped out in between, the endgame condition doesn’t trigger until their turn starts.
Just to make sure I understand: For example, in a 7 player game where 4 players must be “eliminated” to trigger the “half or more” rule. Players 5-7 are already out. Another round starts, and Player 1 eliminates Player 4. Players 2 and 3 then take their full turns, and the game doesn’t end until Player 4’s next “turn” comes around?
Some fort wording minutiae:
“-An island with a fort is still considered a wild island for the purposes of all other abilities and effects.”
“-If treasure remains on wild islands but cannot be loaded by any player due to an ability or some other effect, that gold is no longer considered “available” and will not prevent this end condition.”
My understanding is that fort gold is available gold, but this seems to contradict that because ships cannot dock at or explore islands that have opposing forts on them. Is it just a quirk of how the rules or Code are worded?
I assume you must build sea creatures in a configuration that matches their deckplate cannons? For example, Calim has two 2S segments and three 4S’s. They can physically be placed so that you could have a 2S in slots 1 and 4 or 2 and 5 (looking top down left to right/etc), but is this illegal?