Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG › Pirates CSG Forums › Pirates CSG › Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code › Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code
The “double range, roll 6” ability is an all-or-nothing effect, so you can’t pick and choose specific cannons. You either use it with all of them, or none of them.
You may double the range of this ship’s cannons each turn, but you must roll a 6 to hit.
I would prefer that the Sniping ability work in a mix and match way – such as the crew putting extra gunpowder in some cannons due to certain targets being farther away, but a regular amount for enemies at closer range. I also want it to be modular per action, so the ship could shoot 2/3 cannons at doubled range for one action, then maybe more or less cannons at doubled range for a potential second action (the ship has good gun crews, and maybe some extra/speedy powder monkeys). Would this change be sufficient to make that work?
You may double the range of any of this ship’s cannons each action, but if you do you must roll a 6 to hit.
Perhaps there is a more optimal/less wordy way to do it (changes italicized). Thanks!
If an ability says “This ship may never dock at your home island”, I assume it could still start the game docked at your home island? (because it doesn’t include the clause in Mercenary preventing it)
After looking at treasure on a wild island, you may trade any one treasure from that island for a random treasure on any other wild island. This ship must load the traded treasure.
I assume if there is a crew with the Island Treasure Trading ability on a ship, unloading that crew during the explore action where you trade does not nullify the ability because the trade occurs before the unloading? (and also because in some situations, you might be required to unload the crew in order to make the trade, since the ship must load the traded treasure)
Since abilities take precedence over rules, I assume that if a ship with 1 cargo space (occupied by an Island Treasure Trader crew) found the Runes of Wealth UT and traded a different coin for a regular 2 coin, she would have to load the 2 and leave Runes of Wealth on the island? (though it would still be revealed to all players)
-Unique treasure is always picked up when found, unless an ability specifically allows otherwise.
When an ability and a rule conflict the ability always takes precedence regardless of the terms used, unless specifically stated otherwise.
Runes of Wealth:
This treasure takes up one cargo space. When this ship has reached her cargo capacity, roll a d6. Replace the value of each non-unique treasure on this ship with the result. Then remove Runes of Wealth from the game.
I originally was using that example with the Fruit UT, but then I remembered the Code entry for it. Should the following entry apply to all of the face up UT’s that take up cargo space? (and must be loaded since they’re face up. I didn’t see the entry for the Runes that take up space)
-If other cargo can be unloaded to make room for Fruit, it must be unloaded. If the ship has fewer than two cargo spaces and/or sufficient cargo cannot be unloaded, Fruit is still loaded and will take up the additional space as it becomes available.
In some strange universe, Jikininki (the only non-creature ship with 0 cargo spaces) explores an island, loading both Rotting Hull (-1 cargo spaces) and Fruit (takes up 2 spaces). Do you know if there are any strange interactions or problems that might occur because of that? I assume she could still load an oarsman because it doesn’t take up cargo space, even if the cargo is “negative”? (if it can technically go to -1). Theoretically she could then load other coins that “take up space” and must be loaded, such as Sunken Treasure – maybe even multiple copies via Pandora’s Box(es) until she’s at a bizarre and ridiculous deficit. XD
The interactions between them mostly depend on the exact wording used for their abilities, but if there’s nothing obvious indicating that a certain one goes before another, the player exploring can choose the order they apply.
At a wild island, the coins found are Maps of Alexandria, Savage Natives, Missionary, and a 6. The Maps and Savage Natives both say “when revealed”, implying that their effects occur before loading and applying any other mandatory face up UT’s. In this situation I think you must apply the Savage Natives before the Missionary, which could prevent the loading of Missionary? Savage Natives says “Then this ship can load one more treasure (only).” Since the loser/explorer usually chooses, I chose to load the 6 and not the Missionary as the only other treasure the ship could load. Or was that wrong because normally you must take any face up UT’s, and that rule would override which of the two remaining coins the ship could load? I assume if the final coin was something like Rotting Hull instead of the 6, then the exploring player could choose which to load since they’re dealing with a mandatory face up UT either way? (Missionary vs. Rotting Hull)