Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG › Pirates CSG Forums › Pirates CSG › Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code › Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code
I assume you cannot swap a 0-point crew via the CJS/UPS ability because such a crew (like Robinson) can never be on an island? It says so explicitly for the 0LR +5 crew but not the 0-point reducers (or 0LR Rerollers), so I wanted to make sure. I just can’t find anything that says that they cannot be unloaded to an island.
CJS: When this ship is given an explore action, you can swap a treasure on the wild island a crew on any friendly ship.
Pirate Code: If the treasure cannot be loaded onto the ship or the crew cannot be unloaded due to an ability, effect, or any other reason, the swap cannot be made.
Complete Game Rules: A crew with a point cost of 0 can be assigned only to a ship that shares its nationality.
-This limits what ships the crew can be assigned to, but since I don’t think you ever “assign” crew to an island, it seems as though they could be unloaded.
Pirate Code for Jail!: -If a crew aboard this ship cannot be unloaded because of an ability or because it has a point cost of 0 (zero), it remains aboard this ship; all other crew aboard are placed on your home island.
I understand that the likely intent is that ALL 0-point crew cannot be unloaded/transferred to islands. However, based on not finding it illegal in any existing rules, I can’t fault people for letting the non+5 versions be on islands.
I think this was answered on MT, but can Jailhouse Dog target a Unique Treasure for elimination that is face up on a wild island that would normally be face down? (ex: Maps of Alexandria flips the Natives UT face up, then later in the game the JHD is used to eliminate Natives from the island without a ship exploring to activate the Natives first)
If Natives and Plague (or Missionary) are found on the same island, I assume that the effect of Natives happens even if the exploring player chooses to apply the Plague first? Ex: Plague eliminates all the crew, which would seemingly make the ship immune to Natives in that moment. However, Natives specifically says “number of crew on her when Natives is revealed”, which means that Natives must be applied even after the crew are wiped out? (taking into account the Explore Action order of operations on page 62 of the Code)
After looking at treasure on a wild island, you may trade any one treasure from that island for a random treasure on any other wild island. This ship must load the traded treasure.
In a situation where a ship using the Island Treasure Trading ability explores and has its Explorer eliminated by Plague, must it still load the traded treasure (let’s say it’s a regular 3 coin) or can it not load it because the free explore was interrupted and stopped by the UT ability?
Exploring: -If an explore action is provided by an Explorer crew and that crew is eliminated or removed by a unique treasure you must still resolve the effects of any other remaining UTs before the action ends. An additional explore action will be required to load any other treasure or cargo from the island onto the ship.
I think it would still have to load it, based on this line:
-Ability Conflict Hierarchy: This list applies only when two or more abilities conflict. When an ability and a rule conflict the ability always takes precedence regardless of the terms used, unless specifically stated otherwise.