Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG › Pirates CSG Forums › Pirates CSG › Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code › Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code
Pretty sure I’ve asked this but not seeing it via the forum search: If you start your turn on a sargasso sea but you didn’t get stuck last turn, do you have to roll since you’re sailing over it? Or would you only roll if you contact a NEW sargasso sea during that action?
You don’t get stuck (or have to roll) immediately if you start on it, but when you move if any part of the ship is still touching the terrain after any segment, you will have to roll again.
I assume that’s the case for reefs as well? For example, if I start a move action on a reef with S+S speed, and after the first segment the ship is still touching the reef – it has to roll for effect/take damage again, even if it doesn’t end the move action on the reef?
I’m pretty sure you said in the past that when a ship is sunk in a multiplayer game, any treasure aboard that gets removed from the game remains a secret to the other players (unless the player chooses to say/reveal what it is I suppose). Is that also the case when random treasures are eliminated from the game, such as via the Isle of Fire MI’s? For the Isle of Fire MI’s specifically, would the player whose roll eliminates the treasure be able to check what coin it is, or must it remain hidden to all players? (even those whose turn it is)
Does the Explore Action order of operations on page 62 of the Code always take precedence over Unique Treasure ability text?
Ex: I explore an island and find Pirate Globe, Pirata Codex, and Savage Natives. I want to apply them in that order, so all treasure is flipped up and then all UT’s are wiped out, including Savage Natives before the Savage Natives can take effect. However, Savage Natives says “when revealed”, and seems to imply that you cannot load it. All 3 say “when revealed” so I suppose it wouldn’t matter and the explorer would still get to choose the order they’re applied in. I suppose my question is if there are any UT’s in the game that force you to apply their effects before you can do step 7 and load face up UT’s? (maybe Wolves?)
~~~~~
Gold Capture: If this ship wins a boarding party, she may capture the crew with the highest point cost instead of eliminating it. A captured crew becomes cargo worth its point cost in gold when unloaded at your home island.
What happens if a Gold Capture crew steals a Marine, and then that ship gets wrecked on a reef with both crew still aboard? For example, if a player other than the original owner is able to explore the wreck with a ship capable of using the Gold Capture ability (such as loading Bonny Peel onto an opposing Pirate ship), does it matter which order in which they load the crew? Theoretically if they load the Gold Capture crew first and the Marine afterwards, they can unload the Marine at home for a gold payout? Perhaps the order doesn’t matter, unless loading the Marine first causes it to revert to being a full Marine before the Gold Capture ability can be applied.
Can you unload crew captured via Gold Capture at a wild island?
If the original Gold Capture crew (such as Bonny Peel) is eliminated or removed from the game when there are captives still aboard, are those captives automatically unloaded at your home island when docking there, or can you choose to keep them aboard because they’re generic cargo? If you had another Gold Capture crew such as Blackbeard at your home island when docking in this manner, could you load Blackbeard via the free transfer rules and then automatically unload the captives for a payout, or would you have to redock at the HI or explore it in order to unload the captives? (similar to how gold is only automatically unloaded upon docking, not if transferred to a ship already docked at home)
-If a captured crew is taken or stolen by an opponent other than the original owner, or this ability is cancelled, eliminated, turned facedown, or removed from this ship, the previously captured crew remain generic cargo, cannot use any abilities, and will not count against the ship’s point or cargo limits. They will be worth zero gold when unloaded, unless some source of this ability is also present and active (not cancelled) on the ship.