Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

#17883
Woelf
Moderator

The current player should be the one shooting, so this is an exception to the loser chooses default rule?  (not sure that it matters who rolls for Jonah’s ability)

Timing issues defer to the current player, so that person gets to pick if the roll is made or not.   If the roll is made, a crew has to be ejected, and there’s a choice between equal-priced highest crew, the owner still gets to choose which specific one goes to an island and which other(s) go down with the ship.

If a ship relocated via this method must be on top of a terrain piece due to space constraints*, is there any interaction with the terrain when the ship is given a move action? (especially if it’s a ship that is entirely contained within an iceberg after the iceberg moves farther “underneath” the ship)  Or is it probably ignored entirely under the “make space if necessary” clause similar to other situations where the only space a game piece could occupy would create an illegal situation?

*Ex: A huge build total game where 20+ ships surrounded the home island and all had the Mercenary or Ex-Patriot keyword, so terrain nearby was an obstacle to placing them not in contact with terrain.

If your build total is so high that physical space becomes an issue during setup, it will mostly come down to using your best discretion.

In general, though, if there’s no possible place to put a ship without overlapping terrain, you can place it there and simply ignore the effects of that terrain until the ship leaves it completely and then returns.

Does the L+L range for a swoop attack ignore all other game pieces and islands/terrain that might be in the way for line of fire?

Yes.  Swoop attacks don’t require line-of-sight, only the range matters.

Can a Sea Dragon land on an iceberg?  Getting really intrigued by this section of the Code:

-In certain rare situations it is possible for a ship to occupy the exact same position as an iceberg. When this occurs, the ship loses one mast as normal. If the ship moves first it must move entirely off of the iceberg if possible; if the iceberg moves first, the ship remains in place and does not move with the iceberg. In either case, the ship will not take additional damage from that iceberg until they leave contact completely and then move back into contact.

It could land so that it was touching one (which would trigger the normal iceberg effect), but can’t land so that it’s partly or entirely on top of the iceberg.

That entry in the PC is mainly referring to the use of the Lost UT where terrain can be placed under ships, but is kept slightly less specific so it also covers any other potential situations that could cause the same thing to happen.

If you get the Mysterious Island effect “Move an opposing ship using her base move”, can you target an enemy flotilla in order to essentially avoid using the effect?  Or must you choose a ship that can actually move?

You must choose a ship that can move.   You can’t choose an oar-less derelict, for the same reason.

What happens if a Sea Dragon is moved via Mysterious Island on top of an enemy fort?  To me, what takes precedence gets pretty crazy.  Since it’s not considered docked as you can’t dock at an island an enemy fort is on, I thought the fort would be able to shoot in on itself to hit the dragon. 

Landing on or touching an island counts as docked, but because it can’t dock at an enemy fort, that means it can’t be moved so that it touches that island in any way.   The same applies to Titans.

This is a clarification on the Sea Dragon keyword vs. the fort shooting rules, so the dragon can’t be shot at unless the fort’s cannons can hit any parts of the dragon that might be extending past the edge(s) of the island?  (this might take the cake for the most confusing rules question I’ve thought about in some months)

It’s a non-issue because the Sea Dragon can’t land or be placed on an island if there’s a hostile fort there, but even if it could, forts ignore islands when shooting so the dragon wouldn’t be protected at all.

When using an L-mover, do you have to move the full L, or can you move the ship a partial amount like with a move segment? (“move an enemy ship L in any direction”)

Move the full distance if possible, unless something else gets in the way that stops it.   You can choose to move it toward something even if there is completely clear space in another direction.

Where in the rules does it say that icebergs block lines of fire? I didn’t see it in the Code, or scanned copies of the FN or OE rules.  (I’m thinking about trying to protect a ship by somehow getting it to overlap an iceberg, then having an ally keep it entirely contained in the ice with “mover” stuff and using Nemo’s Plans with Runes of Thor/Loki to move the iceberg in a specific direction)

I don’t remember where exactly it was mentioned, but I do know that rule/ruling was in place back before I took over as the RA.    It might have been added via the older (pre-PC) version of the FAQ?

If a fog bank placed by a smokepot specialist is the exact same size and shape as an existing piece of terrain already in play and the smokebank is placed in exactly the same spot, when a ship comes into contact with this “layered terrain”, I assume they choose which terrain to apply to the ship? (ability doesn’t forbid placing the smokebank in contact with other terrain. Edit: I now see the Code ruling about not placing it in contact with other game pieces, but game piece could be construed as something playable (point/gold cost) rather than an island/terrain, as I don’t see a formal definition of game piece in the Code)

Islands and terrain count as game pieces, so layered placement isn’t legal unless an ability (like the UT Lost) specifically allows it.

If a whirlpool is completely surrounded/covered by icebergs, does a ship exiting from that whirlpool have to lose a mast upon exit?  (with no way to place the ship touching the whirlpool while also not touching any of the icebergs)

Apply both the “place as close as possible” and the “touch one thing at a time” rules for that situation, which in this case could mean keeping it on top of the whirlpool.   However, that would also mean it would have to completely clear the whirlpool before  it could go back in to exit somewhere else, which may be a problem if none of the icebergs move away.

I know this is silly, but nothing in the whirlpool rules forbids a player from jumping from one whirlpool to another, back and forth as a stall tactic.

When any part of your ship or sea creature touches a whirlpool, you may choose to place it so that it touches any other whirlpool on the play area. If you do, roll a d6 after it is moved. On a result of 4-6, eliminate either one mast or segment, one treasure, or one crew from the game piece.

Using a whirlpool to jump to another whirlpool ends the ship’s entire move action. It cannot shoot (via a Captain), ram, board, or use any other effects that require a move action, until it is given another move action after exiting the second whirlpool.

It may not have been given a move action….

You  could stall a little bit by using separate move actions to keep jumping between whirlpools, but the action ends as soon as you exit the first, so you can’t keep teleporting around indefinitely within a single action.

A smokebank is created. Calypso then creates a whirlpool touching the smokebank. A ship is moved into the smokebank. On the beginning of a player’s next turn, the smokebank disappears, forcing the ship out.

Similar to the iceberg situation above, the ship would get placed as close as possible.   Being placed by one terrain cannot put a ship into contact with another.  Some other sort of movement must occur in between.

The ship ends up touching the whirlpool created by Calypso. Which player decides if the ship goes through to a different whirlpool – the player whose turn it is, or the player who controls the ship being placed by the player whose turn it is?

The owner of a ship decides if the ship jumps to another whirlpool