Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

#17870
Ben
Keymaster

Technically it will trigger, but because it’s happening simultaneously with the sinking and neither specifies priority, the current player can choose to roll for the crew ejection before the ship sinks or to just let it sink first (which will prevent the roll).

The current player should be the one shooting, so this is an exception to the loser chooses default rule?  (not sure that it matters who rolls for Jonah’s ability)

-When a crew with this keyword is placed on a ship, that ship immediately gains the Mercenary keyword; if this occurs during setup the ship must immediately be relocated to a position S away from your home island.

If a ship relocated via this method must be on top of a terrain piece due to space constraints*, is there any interaction with the terrain when the ship is given a move action? (especially if it’s a ship that is entirely contained within an iceberg after the iceberg moves farther “underneath” the ship)  Or is it probably ignored entirely under the “make space if necessary” clause similar to other situations where the only space a game piece could occupy would create an illegal situation?

*Ex: A huge build total game where 20+ ships surrounded the home island and all had the Mercenary or Ex-Patriot keyword, so terrain nearby was an obstacle to placing them not in contact with terrain.

Does the L+L range for a swoop attack ignore all other game pieces and islands/terrain that might be in the way for line of fire?

Can a Sea Dragon land on an iceberg?  Getting really intrigued by this section of the Code:

-In certain rare situations it is possible for a ship to occupy the exact same position as an iceberg. When this occurs, the ship loses one mast as normal. If the ship moves first it must move entirely off of the iceberg if possible; if the iceberg moves first, the ship remains in place and does not move with the iceberg. In either case, the ship will not take additional damage from that iceberg until they leave contact completely and then move back into contact.

If you get the Mysterious Island effect “Move an opposing ship using her base move”, can you target an enemy flotilla in order to essentially avoid using the effect?  Or must you choose a ship that can actually move?

What happens if a Sea Dragon is moved via Mysterious Island on top of an enemy fort?  To me, what takes precedence gets pretty crazy.  Since it’s not considered docked as you can’t dock at an island an enemy fort is on, I thought the fort would be able to shoot in on itself to hit the dragon.  However, there’s also all this:

If a sea dragon lands in the center of an island, that island will block line of fire to and from the sea dragon except where parts of it (particularly the wingtips) extend outside of the island.

Lines of fire drawn to and from the fort are not blocked by ships, the island, or any part of the fort itself, but they are blocked by fog banks and icebergs.

-This list applies only when two or more abilities conflict. When an ability and a rule conflict the ability always takes precedence regardless of the terms used, unless specifically stated otherwise.

This is a clarification on the Sea Dragon keyword vs. the fort shooting rules, so the dragon can’t be shot at unless the fort’s cannons can hit any parts of the dragon that might be extending past the edge(s) of the island?  (this might take the cake for the most confusing rules question I’ve thought about in some months)

When using an L-mover, do you have to move the full L, or can you move the ship a partial amount like with a move segment? (“move an enemy ship L in any direction”)

Where in the rules does it say that icebergs block lines of fire? I didn’t see it in the Code, or scanned copies of the FN or OE rules.  (I’m thinking about trying to protect a ship by somehow getting it to overlap an iceberg, then having an ally keep it entirely contained in the ice with “mover” stuff and using Nemo’s Plans with Runes of Thor/Loki to move the iceberg in a specific direction)

If a fog bank placed by a smokepot specialist is the exact same size and shape as an existing piece of terrain already in play and the smokebank is placed in exactly the same spot, when a ship comes into contact with this “layered terrain”, I assume they choose which terrain to apply to the ship? (ability doesn’t forbid placing the smokebank in contact with other terrain. Edit: I now see the Code ruling about not placing it in contact with other game pieces, but game piece could be construed as something playable (point/gold cost) rather than an island/terrain, as I don’t see a formal definition of game piece in the Code)

If a whirlpool is completely surrounded/covered by icebergs, does a ship exiting from that whirlpool have to lose a mast upon exit?  (with no way to place the ship touching the whirlpool while also not touching any of the icebergs)

I know this is silly, but nothing in the whirlpool rules forbids a player from jumping from one whirlpool to another, back and forth as a stall tactic.

When any part of your ship or sea creature touches a whirlpool, you may choose to place it so that it touches any other whirlpool on the play area. If you do, roll a d6 after it is moved. On a result of 4-6, eliminate either one mast or segment, one treasure, or one crew from the game piece.

Using a whirlpool to jump to another whirlpool ends the ship’s entire move action. It cannot shoot (via a Captain), ram, board, or use any other effects that require a move action, until it is given another move action after exiting the second whirlpool.

It may not have been given a move action….

A smokebank is created. Calypso then creates a whirlpool touching the smokebank. A ship is moved into the smokebank. On the beginning of a player’s next turn, the smokebank disappears, forcing the ship out.

-When the smoke (fog bank) is to be removed, if there are any ships “lost” inside the player whose turn it is should roll for each of their exit locations, place them accordingly, and then remove the fog bank.

The ship ends up touching the whirlpool created by Calypso. Which player decides if the ship goes through to a different whirlpool – the player whose turn it is, or the player who controls the ship being placed by the player whose turn it is?