Woelf

  • “Infin8Ouroboros said”
    To be clear, a “ghostly” ghost ship only ignores terrain while physically in motion, not during the entire move action(and associated free actions), correct?

     This has generated some rules discussion on Discord, including whether a Ghostly Ship can shoot from within a terrain (such as an iceberg or Fog) while said shi…

    [Read more]

  • Does a Reroll crew work with a crew such as Jean Desailly/George Washington Lebeaux etc.?  I am unsure based on the Pirate code verbiage regarding rerollers.  “You may re-roll crew abilities, provided that the effect of that ability applies to or is used by the ship.”  Since the effect would be moving the enemy ship I am not sure if it counts…

    [Read more]

  • Name: Enhorn
    ID: 080
    Rarity: Rare
    Cost: 8
    Masts: 1
    Cargo: 4
    Movement: L
    Cannons: 4S
    Ability: Yacht. Pirate crew may use their abilities on this ship.
    Flavor Text: The crew of the Enhorn have decided that Swedish coin is more valuable when payed than it is when taken. For now.

    ———–

    New keywords:
    Yacht: If this ship carries no cargo, she…

    [Read more]

  • When Unique Treasures are revealed at a wild island, does the exploring player choose the order in which the UT effects are applied?  (I know I’ve asked this before but I can’t find the answer in the Code or through a forum search here)

    The wording of the specific UT matters, with the effects of some being determined when loaded versus when revea…[Read more]

  • Woelf replied to the topic Event Cards in the forum Pirates CSG 3 months, 4 weeks ago

    I think Divers and Raft seem like the most fair events though they don’t really feel like “events” per se. They feel like they should be something like equipment with a one time effect.

    Both of those would have been great as equipment.   For a point or two more, Divers could even be made reusable.  Raft could be reusable too, assuming you went to…[Read more]

  • From this old FAQ, does this part about Ghost Ships and fog banks still hold true? (for regular fog banks, not those created by smokepot specialists/shot)

    Q: If a ship becomes “ghostly” while in a fog bank and is forced to leave the fog bank, where does she exit?

    A: She can exit at any point along the edge of the fog…

    [Read more]

  • Woelf replied to the topic Event Cards in the forum Pirates CSG 4 months ago

    Events are a neat idea that was very poorly implemented.

    Becalmed and Mermaids were both massively game-breaking against any fleet that wasn’t specifically built to avoid them or at least minimize the effect.   Players started “unofficially” banning them in games almost immediately.

    Favor of the Gods, which wasn’t released until two full sets l…[Read more]

  • This clears things up!  Thanks.  Now to find more exploits…. 😉

    Keep the exploits coming!  (So they can be fixed.)  😀

    Has this already been covered with the orange text?

    They are now, but it wasn’t completely clear before.   Mostly I just wanted to make sure there weren’t any other weird cases out there I was forgetting, in case that revised…[Read more]

  • Is there a ruling that states this is the case? It seems logical that you wouldn’t be able to, but I can’t find anything in the code that specifically states that you can’t.

    Shipwrights only change where you can take a repair action, but they don’t provide any mechanism for actually removing the fire mast first.

    You can use one to repair other…[Read more]

  • Can you use a Shipwright to repair a mast replaced with a fire mast?

    Shipwrights won’t extinguish the flames, so you have to put the fire out some other way before you can repair the mast.

  • On Nemo’s Plans with Runes of Thor:

    Similar applies to these.   You could use it against a ram roll, then a boarding roll, and then a single shoot action roll, but you can’t use it on every single die rolled during a single shoot action.

    The discussion from 2020 gave me the impression that this couldn’t be done.  Is there something I’m missin…

    [Read more]

  • “The Code, Nemo’s Plans”
    If a UT applies to, modifies, or is triggered by a specific action or situation (other than exploring the wild island) it may be used once, each time that action or situation occurs.

    Does this mean that if Cross of Coronado (or a similar treasure) were on the same ship as the Plans, you could use the Cross every time…

    [Read more]

  • Once each time this ship is given an action, you can roll 2d6 any time you would roll a d6. Choose the result you want to use.

     Can this ability be applied to extra action, SAT, or other such die-rolling ability? The Code is not clear.

    That ability applies only to die rolls made as part of an action.

    While those abilities can generate…[Read more]

  • @Xerecs

    I assume that the “cannot load treasure” part of the Sea Creature rules would satisfy the above and thus prevent Intermediaro from giving treasure to a friendly Sea Monster?

    Correct.   Intermediario’s ability doesn’t say anything about overriding cargo restrictions, so that sea creature rule still applies.

    @CrazyIvan

    Is it correct that…

    [Read more]

  • @Ben

    Can a Hoist’s free explore action happen in between its own move segments?  (ex: move S, hoist free explore, move S)

    No.  It’s an independent action that isn’t applied as part of a move action, so you have to complete the entire move action first (or use it before moving).

    If you cancel the Sea Monster keyword, can you still use an L boo…

    [Read more]

  • @Xerecs

    Suppose that Jonah is on the same ship as Papa Doc. Would Jonah’s ability force any possessed crew to take up cargo space, or would the possessed crew not take up cargo space, per the Code entry?

    That line in the PC entry for Papa Doc should be applied as a rule, which means it can be overridden by other abilities, but even if it was p…[Read more]

  • How do cancel abilities work with unrevealed crew? The specific example I’m thinking of involves crew with the Eternal keyword encountering a ship with the “one ship/crew within S can’t use its ability that turn” ability. If the person knows I typically use Eternal, can they just call it out as cancelled on a hunch? Or does it have to be reveale…[Read more]

  • If I have a sacrifice captain and a doctor on the same ship, can I sacrifice another crew, then save him with the doctor (with a net result of no extra action and the sacrificed crew being turned face down)?

     

    No, because the Sacrifice ability only resolved if the crew sacrificed is removed from the game. This is because it is a cost to activate…

    [Read more]

  • @Xerecs

    Suppose you decide to cancel a friendly Submarine to the surface. At the end of your turn what happens to the submarine? Does it return to a submerged status or does it remain on the surface?

    Submerged (also Ghostly) is only toggled at the beginning of your own turn, so if it gets shut off (cancelled) in between, it stays off until you…[Read more]

  • If I choose to use the ability of the English Native canoes (below), would I have to apply it to all of them in the set, or however many I chose, since all of the canoes are technically being given a move action.

    Give this ship a move action but do not move her. Instead, roll a d6. On a result of 5 or 6, you may repair one mast on ships within S…

    [Read more]

  • Load More