Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code

Pirates with Ben – About Pirates CSG Pirates CSG Forums Pirates CSG Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code Reply To: Questions About Game Rules & The Pirate Code


Suppose that Jonah is on the same ship as Papa Doc. Would Jonah’s ability force any possessed crew to take up cargo space, or would the possessed crew not take up cargo space, per the Code entry?

For reference,

Ability of Jonah:
“Always place this crew face up; it cannot be eliminated unless its ship sinks. Crew placed on this ship cost no points, but they always each take up one cargo space. When this ship is hit, roll a d6. On a result of 5 or 6, move the crew on this ship with the highest point cost to a wild island chosen by the player to your left.”


Papa Doc (possession):
“If an enemy ship is within S of this ship, you can use this ship’s action for the turn to try to possess a target crew on that ship. Roll a d6; on a result of 6, the target is immediately assigned to this ship. Its nationality changes to match the nationality of this ship.”


“The Pirate Code, Possession ability, pg 36”
Crew “possessed” by this ability do not take up cargo space and do not count against the ship’s point limit.